Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel
3.5/5 - 45 reviews
5 star
15 reviews
4 star
10 reviews
3 star
9 reviews
2 star
5 reviews
1 star
6 reviews

Brand: Dermalogica

Write Your Review

Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel

Ingredients


Water (Aqua), Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Hexylene Glycol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract (Lavender), Melissa Officinalis (Lemon Balm) Leaf, Quilaja Saponaria Bark, Essential Oil of Lavendula Angustifolia (Lavender), PPG 5 Ceteth 20, Citric Acid, Sodium Chloride, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.

Items marked with orange can be irritating and over-drying, especially to acne-prone skin.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel

Where to buy

dermalogica special cleansing gel, 16.9 fl oz
updated: 09/30/2016 23:43 UTC
-
dermalogica special cleansing gel, 8.4 fl oz
updated: 09/30/2016 23:43 UTC
-
Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel, 16.9-Fluid Ounce
updated: 09/30/2016 23:43 UTC
-

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Dermalogica Special Cleansing Gel

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

acne is gone but not because of this stuff
Reviewed on August 4, 2017

I was hoping this would be the product that finally really cleared my skin. I wouldn’t say that I had bad acne per se before I started using it but I had uneven skin tone, lots of blackheads on my nose and just kind of bumpy skin. It never felt beautiful.

I bought the whole set when my cousin recommended it to me. So I am not really sure which of the products made my skin wig out. I got this stuff, the clearing lotion, the moisturizer and the mask. Anyway, I never felt a positive difference in my skin. My face never felt clean when I used it and about 3-4 weeks of use, my skin went nuts. Instead of the bad skin I thought was bad all my life, I suddenly had cysts, the “volcanos” I call them but they never burst, just painful and so so ugly. At first I thought it was hormonal and because it was my time of the month but things just got worse after another 2 weeks. I literally didn’t want to go out of the house. I was so embarrassed. I ended up giving my stuff to my cousin because it seems to work for her but I didn’t want to touch it.

The second I stopped using it, my skin got less inflamed but somehow it just triggered this cystic acne I had never had before. So those kept popping up and I was getting desperate. I went to the dermatologist and was expecting them to tell me to get on meds but she surprised me and asked me if I knew of a brand called Ninja that a lot of her clients had been telling her about. Of course she offered to write me a prescription but I wanted to avoid that if possible. I called Ninja right away and actually spoke to a real person!! Had about an hour phone call with them. I really couldn’t believe how long they were willing to talk about my skin with me. They gave me a list of products they would suggest for me, I bought them right away. And now, 5 months later, I finally feel beautiful. My skin isn’t bumpy any more, I don’t have blackheads and thank GOD my cysts are completely gone. Oh and did I mention I am now 3 months pregnant?! I fully expected to have a monster breakout but it never came and now people are telling me I am “glowing” which is wonderful to hear with my bad skin past. It’s like a miracle really.

So back to Dermalogica - try it at your own risk. I am sure it is ok for some people but it did absolutely nothing for me but bad things.


Holy grail cleanser
Reviewed on June 22, 2015

My fave cleanser ever. Before this, I was over washing my face because my face never felt clean and that was making my acne worse. Been using this solid for 2 and a bit years, occasionally in conjunction with the dermal clay cleanser also from Dermalogica. Amazing stuff, is so gentle but really does clean your face and helps calm everything down. Holy grail product.


Life Changer
Reviewed on January 28, 2015

I've had mild to horrible acne that worsens hormonally each monthly my whole life, and this face wash changed my life. My face is so oily in some spots and dry in others, and this product completely cleans my face but leaves enough moisture so that my face doesn't over-actively produce excess sebum. My husband is so happy because I no longer go to bed with sulphur treatment dots all over my face... because it's completely clear! I really can't believe it. Everyone is different, but from a person who uses expensive make up, and has tried everything from Proavtiv to Differin gel, this stuff is a miracle for me.


Special Cleansing Gel may not be suitable for acneic skin types.
Reviewed on June 10, 2013

Many of my clients love special cleansing gel. I prefer the clearing skin wash for hormonal acne. I have had great results with the clearing skin wash. I switched to the special cleansing gel to see how my skin would react. I started it around my menstrual cycle and used it for 2 weeks after. I noticed that I had a continuous pustular break out on my chin and lower cheeks. I discontinued the special cleansing gel because it seemed to not work for me. It's so hard to recommend products to people because everyones skin reacts so differently even though people have similar skin types. I've had people tell me that they break out from Active Moist. It's an oil free moisturizer. It's frustrating. I say "just stick with whatever works for your skin"! I hope this helps.


member avatar
Pablo, UK
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on January 1, 2013

Nice cleanser that leave skin fresh and never really dry. If left on the skin for too long can become drying over time. No scent is nice, and the gel doesnt feel greasy


member avatar
Chelsea, Australia
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on April 29, 2012

I used this product along with the moisturiser and oil control lotion - Within three weeks of use I broke out and it just kept escalating from there. The combination of using all three caused my light/moderate acne (as in, a few pimples every few weeks) to ruptured into painful pustules and huge, painful cysts all around my chin, mouth and cheeks. I'm talking cysts the size of 20 cent coins... they took MONTHS to go away. I had always been acne prone, and this was when I was 16 so I'm sure hormones also contributed to it - clean and clear made me break out some years before. But it was NOTHING like this. I didn't want to leave the house, look anybody in the eye, it was horrid.

I'm sure this product will work for some people, but I will never touch this stuff again.


member avatar
Cormac, Ireland
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on November 27, 2011

I got though one bottle of this stuff and I was amazed by how good it was. So obviously I bought another bottle - which disappointed me. The second bottle of the very same product didn't work very well.


Reviewed on August 18, 2011

Very gentle and has a mild smell, which is good for sensitive skin. It's a bit pricey but lasts for ages. Helped to clear some of my acne after a few weeks. Unfortunately it doesn't cleanse well enough to remove make up.


Reviewed on July 18, 2011

I never suffered from any breakouts and I only purchased this product to combat my oily skin. Within the three-week time frame that I used this product, my face broke out in very large, painful pimples that at first were isolated on my forehead, moved down to my nose, then around my chin. After I stopped using this product I had to aggressively treat my skin with BP for over four weeks to finally get my skin back to something that resembled 'normal'.


member avatar
Elle, Virginia
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 6, 2011

I love this cleanser. You pay a lot up front but you only need a little to last for months. I had moderate acne but now I would say it is very light at most with occasional breakouts. It doesn't over dry skin but keeps oil managed.