Benzac AC Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Benzac AC Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel
4.1/5 - 62 reviews
5 star
20 reviews
4 star
30 reviews
3 star
9 reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
2 reviews

Brand: Benzac AC

Write Your Review

Benzac AC Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel

Ingredients


Active Ingredient: Benzoyl peroxide (2.5%). Inactive Ingredients: Docusate sodium, disodium edetate, poloxamer 182, carbomer 940, propylene glycol, acrylates copolymer, glycerol, silicon dioxide and purified water, citric acid and/or sodium hydroxide to adjust pH.



The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Benzac AC Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Benzac AC Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Good for sensitive skin
Reviewed on May 22, 2017

If you are new to benzoyl peroxide or have sensitive skin then this is probably the best choice when it comes to benzoyl peroxide. Some people's skin can't handle it at all but if your skin can take it then it works wonders and gets you clear quick. You can find it on ebay.


Patience is key
Reviewed on May 15, 2017

Been using it for 2 weeks. I have whitehead sort of acne on my forehead. In the first week my skin was irritated, red, flaky and horrible. In the second week it improved though. When I used it with tea tree face wash it made it more irritated. I washed my face USING nivea moisturiser, or any moisturiser, and it made it not flaky. The doctor said results would come in 4 to 8 weeks so patience is key. It got rid of my whiteheads but i have acne scars. I have had this forehead acne for 4 years and it was my first time going to the doctors about it. Also it doesn't cause wrinkles it just makes lines that you already have more visible. After you stop using it your skin will go back to normal. Hope this helped. x PS use suncream when using this product.


Would not recomend
Reviewed on November 19, 2016

Benzoyl peroxide is the devil. It is quite potent as an antibacterial which is why it may clear up acne for some individuals (and granted it doesn't lead to antibiotic resistance). However, the way it works is damaging to the skin- it produces free radicals which will kill bacteria but will also damage your own skin cells! This will lead to inflammation, irritating your skin and preventing it from functioning smoothly, and build up of dead materials inside your skin which contribute further to comedogenic acne and breakouts. Free radical damage can also contribute to premature aging and promotes acne scarring- nobody wants that.

I used benzac for a couple of months and while it did sort of help my superficial breakouts (whiteheads etc) it didn't do anything for deeper cysts. My skin was constantly dry and peeling, and my complexion was very dull and discoloured. I was also left with scarring and pigmentation from even the smallest blemishes, which didn't happen previously. So even when I didn't have any breakouts I wasn't comfortable without makeup due to pigmentation, scarring and a strange, dull, brownish complexion. In addition to this I developed forehead lines real quick- I'm only 19! I started using retin-a and when I used benzac with this it was extremely painful and my face basically peeled away (tretinoin cream is fabulous stuff without using benzac with it!!) I'm studying medicine and the fact that derms recommend this product makes me angry- it's really not healthy for your face in the short or long term.

Switch to another antibacterial agent such as azelaic acid (brand is az-clear or finacea)!! Azelaic acid is anti-inflammatory and antioxidant and is equal to benzoyl peroxide in its antibacterial effect. Due to reducing inflammation it will prevent scarring and post-inflammatory hyper pigmentation. It also reduces pigmentation and sun damage. Until I used this I didn't believe that it was possible to make up-and-coming breakouts disappear overnight- but this stuff literally does. You can use it in a smaller amount all over your face (I do this ever morning) or just smear a thicker layer over a spot and pain will disappear and it shrinks down real quick!! It also works well with retin-a/stieva- reduced my peeling. Just don't put them on at the same time as they do not work in a synergistic manner- use one in the morning and one at night.

For reference: Schulte BC, Wu W, Rosen T. Azelaic acid: evidence-based update on mechanism of action and clinical application. J Drugs Dermatology. 2015;14(9):694-698. (find on pubmed)

In saying all this, acne is usually a result of internal imbalances and will never be 100% cured by topical treatments- check your diet for foods that may be promoting internal inflammation and overgrowth of unwanted bacteria and parasites or creating pH imbalances. Eat your 2 & 5 and do some research. I haven't had a breakout in months (as long as I stick to a plant based diet high in healthy fats and veggies) and my face legit glows.


by 243992_1443947403 on 03/01/2017 07:06
What percentage of azelaic acid would be equivalent to BP 2.5%? Is it ok to use with Clyndamicin gel 1%?
Just alright
Reviewed on September 10, 2016

Works great for whiteheads, not for under the skin pimples


Yes or No?
Reviewed on September 10, 2016

I've been using this for 16 days and my cysts are still there 😭 Should I stop or should I keep using it?


by The unconfident on 09/29/2016 22:47
Use it for 4 weeks then see if works
"best sunblock"
Reviewed on August 24, 2016

What sunblock is best for oily,sensitive and acne prone?


Yes and no
Reviewed on January 28, 2016

i have moderate acne after been using this 2 weeks it works!! it clears all my acne i usually apply it 10mins before shower and use clinda-M after shower and only sunblock lotion in morning.. but this only helped for 2 months or so then my cysts came back on my neck


by JenkinRock on 05/18/2016 19:28
Which lotion you used..?
by lhub on 08/24/2016 13:10
I think you used the wrong lotion
Cleared my acne
Reviewed on July 3, 2016

I had raised skin colored bumps on my forehead which created a very uneven skin texture. whenever I stood under a light the bumps on my forehead would become really obvious especially since I have oily skin. I used benzac ac every night and at first the bumps turned red and became pimples which I assumed was the skin purging so I continued with it. my skin did start to dry out after a while so sometimes I would apply cetaphil moisturizer instead of benzac at night. by week 3 there was a noticeable difference as my skin slowly started to smoothen out. after a month all the bumps are now gone and my forehead looks a lot better. definitely worked for me so do try it out to see if it works for u!!


Apply Benzac AC + Cetaphil moisturizer
Reviewed on August 6, 2015

Hello! I'm new to the Regimen and have just begun using benzoyl peroxide this week. After washing my face at night, i allow my skin to dry, then apply benzoyl peroxide. After about 15 min, I use Cetaphil moisturizing cream. I expect my dry skin to feel relieved from the cream, but gradually the burning and itching sensation increases. It is really difficult not to rub or scratch my skin when this happens.

Is this normal or is there something wrong with the cetaphil cream? I was wondering if maybe it reacted with the BP


by Zangelie on 08/13/2016 14:31
Yes it's itchy AF for the first 2 weeks or so but then you'll get use to it. Please try you hardest not to touch your face. The itchiness will eventually go away. The results are worth it. You'll have clear skin and benzac also lightens old dark pimple/acne scars
bye bye pimples.... :D
Reviewed on July 27, 2015

Hi frnds... I ve been suffering with this acne for almost 6 to 7 yrs. Yes ! I ve tried being natural and chemical.... To be honest I wasted my money... The result was I kindled those sleeping volcanoes... It was during my engagement tat all broke out... Obviously pics we're ugly... Later I was prescribed to use benzac ac 2.5% in the morn and evening ... Clindac a gel during the night... After a week... To b honest I hated to even peep into the mirror cuz my skin was so dry... But I continued cuz my pimples were vanishing... Again I tel u... Pimples will vanish with those but scars should be treated separately... Cuz u cannot expect a coffee directly from a cow... Ingredients come from different resources in order to have an awesome coffee.... Coffee = skin... Tc frnds...