Page 2 of Baking Soda reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Baking Soda
4.2/5 - 972 reviews
5 star
526 reviews
4 star
267 reviews
3 star
71 reviews
2 star
55 reviews
1 star
53 reviews

Write Your Review

Baking Soda

Ingredients




The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Baking Soda

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Baking Soda

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

great
Reviewed on January 31, 2017

don't use it solely, mix it with something like your cleansing gel. Don't use it on your active acne because it will peel off the skin above the acne and make it spread. I use this on my nose to clear up blackheads and pores. I got 0 blackheads and pores right now it is just miracle.


Title :)
Reviewed on January 1, 2017

I had acne in my teens which cleared up with birth control. But now that in in my 20's and I aknowledge hormonal BC doesn't work for my body in other ways and therefore quit, I developed adult acne on my cheeks, jawline, chest and back. But I'm so stoked. This past month and a half I've been using a pasty solution of baking soda and fractionated coconut oil. My goodness its made all the difference. My skin in less irritated and red, (probably because I no longer use harsh over the counter cleansers and spot treatments,) less clogged with sebum, and noticably smoother in appearance. Baking soda has cleansed while the coconut oil has moisturized. And I have incredibly oily skin! I've noticed that while using "dermatologist tested/recommended" products my skin over produced oil and therefore my pores became uncomfortably clogged and acne ridden. Thnks, corporate, capitalistic America. But with a home-mixed concoction of coconut oil and baking soda used as both a scrub every night and mask every so often, my skin has been restored to equilibrium. It's happy. Also, staying hydrated makes a difference. Please, I implore you, give this ago for at least a month. Be sure to mix in A LOT of baking soda for it's a very fine textured exfoliant. You need a lot relative to the amount of fractionated coconut oil you need to produce a balanced solution. I wish you good luck and happy skin :)


by Machi8165 on 03/06/2017 23:27
I'm starting to have the same issue that you were in and I live in a hot humid climate down south and I was wondering how much of the ingredients should be mixed together
Amazing Results
Reviewed on December 15, 2016

I've had severe back acne for many many months. It made me unconfident and feeling worthless. I couldn't wear tank tops and bikinis. I tried many different solutions and after countless hours of research I started using a bicarbonate and water solution. I would put it all over my back and leave it will I slept. When Ai went to school and was wearing a top with a covered back I would put it on and leave it on all school day until I had to come home where I would wipe it off. Through determination and countless hours my back acne is almost gone.


Benefits of Baking Soda for Face
Reviewed on November 19, 2016

Benefits of Baking Soda for Face:

Did you know that one of the most common kitchen cupboard ingredients, i.e. baking soda has a multitude of benefits which can work wonders for your beauty regimen?

Yes! The same baking soda that you might be using in your everyday bakes can double up as a very effective health aid which is extremely useful in sorting out skin issues.

This is because Baking Soda (chemical name – sodium bicarbonate), usually available as a very fine powder is alkaline in nature and has marvelous antifungal, antibacterial, anti-inflammatory as well as antiseptic properties.

Here are some of the uses and baking soda face benefits:

Sodium bicarbonate eye wash

Baking Soda Acne Treatment

Baking Soda Face Mask

Homemade Face Mask

Baking Soda and Lemon for Face

Source: [link edited out]

There are also Benefits of Aloe Vera for Face and Benefits of Olive Oil for Face...

Just take a look at our website: [link edited out]


Time to heal.
Reviewed on November 19, 2016

Cystic acne nonstop since i was 15. Face scarred badly, but cysts and zits stopped with diet and NO MORE CLEANSERS. Caveman is the way to go. Sometimes even washing with water will upset my skin, so I just dont wash it at all anymore. Like other say, you do build up excess skin, so a wet soft washcloth will do fine. I don't moisturize or apply anything to my face or body at all. I also only wash my body and hair with water, soap and shampoo twice a week. You won't smell if you're eating healthy. I feel that high cardio workouts also work to exfoliate my skin. When I feel too dirty, I run up a hot shower and let my pores open up with all the steam ( I do not let the water touch my face, as it is so sensitive, even the chlorine upsets it)

I do stress that your DIET will determine your success. I have always had overeating problems as well, so when i indulge, I break out, still at 26. FOODS TO AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE ------------- SUGAR -------------- keep in mind that simple carbs ( white bread rice pasta cereal etc) turn into sugar in the body, so you must cut those out too. Complex carbs ( beans, brown rice, pasta, bread is not great, but not as bad as the white stuff) just make sure it says WHOLE wheat. I've had the best skin of my life eating WHOLE food without red meat. Chicken and fish, whole veggies and ABSOLUTELY NO SUGAR and MINIMAL SODIUM intake (sodium increases redness and inflammation in the body... especially your face).

Side note... chemical manufacturers are not looking out for you... Living in capitalist America should be your first clue... These people just want your money and will exploit your biggest insecurities. They want you to slap harmful chemicals on your face, clog your pores with makeup, eat yourself into a blimp, because they know the body will expunge it all through your sweat and zits, then you'll go running to them because they offer "cures". ?Me and many more fell for their tricks and paid dearly for the lack of knowledge, with scars. Do yourself a favor and feed your body well, treat it well, encourage it, work it out, and love it. Change your habits and drop negative people around you so you can begin to HEAL.

I am still battling food cravings, still giving in, still breaking out occasionally, but it feels amazing to know that I can be free of this curse. Hope you try this, and spread it to everyone in need. Good luck.


by lesleyrodgers on 01/11/2017 12:00
is dairy okay to eat?? i know most people say to stay away from it but what do you think?
by bottlebomb on 04/06/2017 16:25
Hello, you could try adding a water filter to either all the water in your house or to just your shower unit.
Adult acne cleared up!
Reviewed on November 11, 2016

I've always had acne, started before puberty and at the age of 27 I broke out into a nasty pizza face that left me with a couple dozen infections at a time. I'm also a picker (serious psychological issue that I'm overcoming and my face was one of the largest targets). My acne itched, produced discharge, stung, was sometimes cystic but mostly a combination of every blemish type. As I became older, it even spread to my neck and jawline.

Dermatologist couldn't help.

I started using Epsom Salt and steam to cure my infections. That had the greatest initial impact. Once my infection were gone, I was still left with clogged pores, pock scars, and dark marks. Plus, tiny infections still would spring up that I had to soak, even if they didn't last long.

Behold baking soda! I clean my house with it, and as an experiment mixed it with a tad of Cetaphil cleanser one day. (I now just use water + baking soda paste) and it had an immediate impact. Skin looks fuller, as if that exfoliation had stimulated collagen, and my blackheads were diminished. After having done this three times in one week, my scars were lighter and I had zero new infections.

I've been tracking my face with photos daily for a month. I use baking soda three times per week, epsom salt twice per week or when I see any hint of new infection or clog. I use lemon juice twice per week to lighten scars.

My bathroom counter is full of products that my dermatologist recommended. Time to clean house.


There's been nothing like it for me
Reviewed on November 6, 2016

So I have oily skin and a bad habit of touching my face. I'm 17 and I've had acne for years now. I remember using baking soda at 14 I wanna say, off and on. Ive tried a bunch of different skin cleansers, washes, whatever you want to call them. Gentle, foaming, exfoliating. But these past few months I've been using it a lot more. I decided this past month and a half to really give it a shot. Since baking soda is abrasive and impossible to use on its on, i mixed it with a gentle face cleaner that only really got to the surface. The cleanser I chose still got kind of foamy and had a whipped consistency. I rinse my face off in the morning, then when I get home from school, I use it. I use it once again before bed, especially if I went out again. I don't get big pimples anymore, if i do they're tiny and pretty flat. They only show up where I touch my face. I also use Clindamycin Phosphate, a topical solution that my doctor prescribed to me. I've been using that for about two weeks. It's an anti-bacterial that has also helped a lot. Before that I used an astringent with 2% salicylic acid in it. I wouldn't recommend that because it was too harsh, I feel. Some tips id recommend is using warm water when washing your face and to not touch your face. I wouldn't recommend baking soda if you have dry or combination skin. Maybe in certain areas or once a week to every few days. Any scaring I had is fading away and my skin looks crazy glowy. It's clear and you can't even notice acne unless you look for it. Baking soda is incredible and Ive never had anything that's taken care of my acne better.


!CAUTION!
Reviewed on September 2, 2016

Baking soda is sooo bad for your skin. It contains harsh chemicals and it leaves your skin red and wounded.


by JerryShaker on 10/03/2016 03:18
I don't know what you have been using on your face. But, baking soda should only contain one thing, and that is itself, Sodium bicarbonate. Please do some research before spouting nonsense on a blog which can drastically affect someone's face.
love love love
Reviewed on August 22, 2016

I'm 16 years old. Last year, I had completely clear and beautiful skin but like every teenager I started to develop pimples and acne about 9-10 months ago, which has really dimmed my self confidence and increased my anxiety. So like everyone else with an acne problem, I google home remedies ALL THE TIME. Every time I did I always came across the baking soda one but I was always afraid to use it because of its acidity. But when desperate times call for desperate measures, I gave it a try. That night, I made a baking soda and lemon juice/water paste, applied it to the affected areas, let it dry for about 20 minutes and rinsed it off. Obviously I didn't see results straight away but I could tell what it had done. So I slept on it, woke up, AND I WAS SO PLEASED WITH RESULTS. All my bumps and pimple were gone and redness had disappeared, and this was just my first time using it! I will post up my result in a week. Can't wait to use it again. I would definitely recommend it.

Thanks,

Someone with mild acne


by rlybadacne on 08/23/2016 17:44
srsly, do a before and after pic
by JerryShaker on 10/03/2016 03:20
Baking soda aka sodium bicarbonate, is alkali. I don't know what you have been using on your face, but please do some research and don't spout nonsense on a website that can drastically affect someone's face.
by AthenaM on 03/07/2017 02:49
How is your face doing today ? Are you still using the same baking soda, lemon and water ? I am in the same boat as you and I want to look great without all the makeup on for my 17th birthday.
Hate & Love Relationship
Reviewed on August 3, 2016

I've been using Baking soda for about a year now to help lighten my hyperpigmentation and acne scars.

For me, baking soda is my best friend and my worst enemy. Heres why:

Yes, baking soda works to help lighten your acne scars and fade away that pesky hyper pigmentation, but does not perform any miracles. Like I said, 1 year has gone by and I expected way more results, instead ive only witnessed a somewhat lighter shade to my hyper pigmentation.

What it has handed over to me though, without wasting any time I might add, is:

Dry, flaky skin

Whiteheads and more pimples

& itchy, sensitive skin.

I have to be honest, I don't recommend this product for those focusing ONLY to get rid of pimples, swelling, whiteheads, etc. Manily because it can make your acne worse. But for those looking for a reprive or permanent fix to their scars and hyperpigmentation, this is your answer!! Just be aware of the negatives that also comes with using this.

But hey, everyone skin is different, and I may just have been using it the wrong way. If you truly belive this is right for you, give it a try and it might just work.