Sundown Naturals Evening Primrose Oil reviews

Sundown Naturals Evening Primrose Oil
4/5 - 38 reviews
5 star
17 reviews
4 star
12 reviews
3 star
4 reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
2 reviews

Brand: Sundown Naturals

Write Your Review

Sundown Naturals Evening Primrose Oil

Ingredients


Evening Primrose (Oenothera Biennis) Oil seed, Cis-Linoleic Acid LA, Gamma Linoleic Acid.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Sundown Naturals Evening Primrose Oil

Where to buy

Sundown Naturals Evening Primrose Oil 1000mg, Softgels, 50 ea
updated: 07/04/2015 18:55 UTC
$6.99
Sundown Naturals Evening Primrose Oil, 500mg, Softgels, 100 ea
updated: 07/04/2015 18:55 UTC
$5.99

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Sundown Naturals Evening Primrose Oil

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Amazing!!!
Reviewed on May 4, 2015

Hi there! I starting using evening primrose oil to treat my acne around two months ago. I read lots of reviews online and all in all they were very positive.

So briefly my skin history- I am 26 years old, female. I started to get spots in my teens, around 14 years old. My skin was inflamed with cystic acne. I was recommended topical treatments from the doctor. These worked for a short time but my skin got used to the ingredients. I was put on the contraceptive pill- dianette. I had appointments with a dermatologist who recommend roaccacitine. After reading the side effects I decided not to take this medicine. I struggled by over the next few years just taking dianette- probably for much longer than is recommended.

Over the years my skin has improved but it's never as clear as I would like. I have some scaring and always around 4/5 spots. I am currently on a regular contraceptive pill as I couldn't continue taking dianette anymore due to the associated health risks.

I started working for one of the Estée launder companies two years ago. Finally- I thought! I'll be able to buy all the skin care I need at a discount. There are some great products out there. To list a few-

Clinique anti blemish range.

Aveda outer peace foaming wash and blemish pads.

Estée Lauder enlighten serum.

However I always knew my blemishes were due to internal hormone imbalance- not a poor skin care routine. So I did some research online to discover EPO. I brought some capsuals containing EPO and vitamin E. These are the boots (UK) own brand. I orally take two 500mg capsuals a day in the morning. Then at night after cleansing my skin I apply the oil from one 500mg capsule to my skin ( I just cut the capsual open so the oil stays fresh). I apply a moisturiser on top ( anti ageing one from Clinique). I sleep with this on and wash my face again in the morning. Do not wear the oil during the day as your make up will slide off! Skin application is only suitable for night time...

The results- Amazing!!!!!

By applying EPO to my skin-

A more even in tone with zero redness. My pores feel tighter.

Radiance.

I have had barely any spots (if I have then they have been tiny and come right to the surface. A quick squeeze and they gone the next day.)

Feels soft and hydrated.

I have received comments from people saying I have good skin!! This is a comment I never thought I would hear :D

Oral consumption-

Less to no spots before and during my period.

Less spots around my jawline and chin.

I would highly recommend this cheep and effective treatment!!!


by pookiedookie5 on 05/06/2015 15:21
I also have had very similar problems with my skin, from the age of 13, I am now 35, so you can imagine i have tried everything going including like your self dinette. I have been using high strength evening primrose tablets and cutting them and using the oil directly to my skin at night for a week now, and WOW! Is all i can say, I only wish I had before and after pictures, my skin looks amazing, I had three huge and sore spots on my chin for over 4 weeks, and now they are completely gone, even old scars have seemed to diminish, I also had big pores on my nose for what seems like forever, gone also. My make up is now looking flawless. Absolutely amazing, I am so happy.
Definitely is starting to work!
Reviewed on January 17, 2015

So I heard about EPO online after realizing that the spots that I was getting (mainly on my chin) were due to a hormonal imbalance. I was on the Pill for three years (came off a few days ago!) and took it non-stop for three months at a time! I usually took it at the same time everyday but started taking it at different times -- hence, my hormones are all to whack and my usually spot-free face is the spottiest it's ever been! I decided to come off the pill & detox my body of all toxins/GM foods and BPA plastic products. I bought EPO from Holland & Barrett and another multi-formula for hair, skin & nails, as well as a Grapefruit neutrogena spot/blackhead wash I use twice a day. It has been 5 days and already my skin is clearer, spots are beginning to fade and I'm getting no new ones on my chin. The parts that don't have spots are toned and glowing. I'm so happy with the results after merely 5 days and I will 100% be continuing its use even after my spots have gone.

Well worth a try!


by sarahg4 on 03/04/2015 12:02
there is no such thing as detoxing unless you're a heroin addict. look it up. so tired of everyone spreading this fake internet medicine myth.
My prayers have been answered! Evening Primrose Oil!
Reviewed on October 21, 2014

I am not one to right reviews on any products but I could not hold back on my experience with EPO! Let me start off by saying this is the 2nd week of taking 1300mg of EPO twice a day with combining fish oil 500mg twice a day!

I am 24 years old and have been suffering with acne since I was 9... I do truly believe a lot of my acne was due to puberty and not washing my face correctly. As I got older my face did not get better - it got worse, a lot worse. After multiple trips to the dermatologist, topical creams, antibiotics, laser treatments, proactiv, murad, skin ID, Acne.org, ect nothing worked! I can honestly say the only time my face was completely clear was when I was 16 and got on birth control for the first time - my skin immediately cleared up and I was amazed! Little did I know that clear skin was going to be short lived. I continued on birth control and began to have some internal side effects. Went to the gyno and long story short I had to make a decision - stay on birth control and risk not being able to have children OR get completely off of them and welcome acne back into my life and be able to have children! Well it didn’t take me long to make that choice - I wanted babies and if that meant suffering with acne forever so be it! There are others out there that have a lot of other worse things that cannot be cured so I stopped complaining and just said deal with it!

Since I was 9 my acne had just effected my face. About 6 months ago I started having cystic acne all over my jaw line and neck to the point I was embarrassed to even go in front of my husband without makeup. And let me tell you that my husband has known me since I was 12 and my face had never been so bad that I didn’t want him to see me until this…not a good feeling! I finally just began to give up and started realizing that this horrible skin disease was something I was going to have to live with for the rest of my life. But it started to become clear to me, what was I missing? What am I doing wrong? I have tried everything under the moon topically and no improvements, this has to be something internally wrong that is effecting why my skin is so bad. So thinking back to when I was on birth control and my face cleared up so well it hit me! It’s got to me a hormonal imbalance in my body that is out of control, because when I was on birth control my acne was almost gone because the birth control regulated my hormone levels. I needed something other than birth control that could/would do the same. So I researched everywhere I could and stumbled across EPO and it has been a god sent product! My cystic acne on my neck and jawline is almost completely gone just small little pimples that are healing, my face has not had a bad pimple in over two weeks! This has been the first product in almost 5 years that has worked! I am so happy that I finally found something that is natural and safe for my body and is clearing up my skin through the inside out!

I apologize for such a long review but I know that there are many other woman out there just like me that want to find a cure and something to aid with their hormonal acne. You are not alone and I understand your frustration and insecurity when it comes to our facial appearance. No one wants to have to cover up with makeup all the time – and if you were like me it still didn’t cover the huge cystic bumps all over my neck.

If you are having some of the same issues I did give this a shot and be patient. It takes time for our bodies to get back into line but once they do it will be worth it!!

Thank you Evening primrose oil!!!

Stormy Smith


Evening Primrose Oil saved my skin!
Reviewed on August 20, 2014

I never write reviews but I honestly have to share my experience with others suffering with adult hormonal acne. My family doctor who I have a lot of trust in sent me for full blood works and ultra scans to eliminate the possibility of cystic ovaries. When the results came back clear he simply said to consider going on the contraceptive pill for a few months to see if that could assist with balancing my hormones. Although being in a long-term relationship, I didn't want to take the contraceptive pill purely on the basis of it potentially clearing my hormonal acne. I knew it was hormonal related as the acne was all over my cheeks and chin, classic symptoms. I did hours of research trying to find a solution other than taking the contraceptive pill or other poisonous medication to help clear it. Then I came across articles around evening primrose oil (EPO) and based my research around this. Knowing how cheap I could purchase EPO and knowing this was a completely natural solution to regulating hormones (primarily used for menopause) I thought why not! 3 for 2 in Boots on the way to work and although it suggests taking 1 x 1000mg a day, I found others were taking up to 3000/4000mg a day for acne related cases. I was taking 4000mg a day, 2 in the morning and 2 at night. I would say within a few weeks, maximum 4 weeks, I could feel the acne drying up and bumps under the skin clearing. After a couple of months, active acne CLEARED!!! Unbelievable. All my friends, colleagues and family members saw my suffering and are now absolutely thrilled with the outcome I've had. I would strongly recommend EPO for hormonal related acne. I still take them everyday although only 2000mg in the morning just to maintain (it has many other benefits as well). I still get the odd pimple during ovulation/period but nothing compared to what I had previously. I always had clear skin until this episode and so glad I found something that worked, naturally! One happy 27 year old!!!


It really works!
Reviewed on July 14, 2014

I started using EPO about a week ago. I didn't expect to see results for at least a couple weeks to a month, but within a few days I could see a dramatic difference in my existing cystic hormonal acne. My skin looked and felt less bumpy along my jaw and chin line and overall I had a beautiful smooth glow. It's been great so far. I'm taking 3000 mg per day (1 cap 3x a day) and will continue. I've been on accutane, solodyn, and spiro in the past and aside from the spiro, this has been the best solution with the least side effects!


Side effects that aren't mentioned
Reviewed on September 2, 2013

I took 1000mg of EPO for around three weeks. It wasn't this brand though. At first I noticed the hormonal acne on my chin and jawline clear up. But its effect kind of fluctuated and I was about 80% clear. BUT on the third week, I began to experience a serious side effect that I was unaware of. I began to cry a lot for no apparent reason and ended up in a deep depression with suicidal thoughts. This lasted for days before I realised that EPO was the problem. Things had gotten so bad that I was considering checking myself into a mental hospital!!! Upon further research online I realised that others have also had the same experience. I'm not saying that everyone will become depressed if they take EPO because everyone will react differently. I have had a mild depression in the past and I also suffer from OCD but I haven't had a terrible depression like this one in over a year since I've been controlling it. I am not currently on anti-depressants either. Maybe my past history made me more susceptible to this side effect. I am no scientist but it seems that EPO could possibly lower serotonin levels, interact with serotonin or block its effects (or another "happy" hormone). I stress that this may not be the case for everybody. Upon stopping EPO, I've noticed that my depression isn't as bad, the crying has stopped and I am recovering. I am very angry that there were no warning as to this side effect and I would hope that you consider this possibility before taking EPO. It seems that the side effects of EPO are similar to the side effects of Accutane. Please be careful when considering any kind of supplement. They are chemicals too, you know.


by sam78 on 05/08/2014 15:40
I also experienced moderate depression while I was taking EPO. It took me only nine days to start feeling the side effect. It cleared my skin up a bit but so does cod liver oil and without giving me any negative side effects.
by ccskin on 05/07/2015 04:49
Since WebMD days to avoid EPO if you have history of seizures or schizophrenia. I would avoid EPO if you any psychological issues.
The great benefits of evening primrose oil
Reviewed on June 22, 2013

Evening primrose oil (EPO for short) does not get the attention it rightfully deserves. Many women have heard of or used evening primrose oil, as it is anecdotally famous for alleviating PMS and menopause symptoms, though most clinical trials have shown no scientific evidence of this. It has been said to also be an effective treatment for psoriasis, eczema, and arthritis, among other things. Early Native Americans recognized and utilized the healing properties of the plant for many ailments.

Nowadays people like to focus on the importance of the almighty omega-3 fatty acids, but oft-forgotten are omega-6 fatty acids, which are what evening primrose oil provides as a natural highly concentrated source of GLA (gamma-linolenic acid). These essential fatty acids are required, but are not produced by the human body. Moreover, evening primrose oil is anti-inflammatory in nature. This makes EPO a great acne treatment. Evening primrose oil can be taken orally in gel capsule form (like these here) or applied topically as a moisturizing oil, and there are no known adverse side effects.

I also use EPO topically as a moisturizer. As weird as it may sound if you are not familiar with the idea, using oil as a moisturizer works very well for dry, oily, acne-prone skin, or any type of skin for that matter. I like to use 2 drops of evening primrose oil combined with 2 drops of almond oil topically as a morning moisturizer. Both of these have anti-inflammatory properties and are quickly and easily absorbed into the skin, so your face does not feel or look oily or shiny. At night before bed, I do the same thing combined with an additional 2 drops of tea tree oil and 2 drops of sea buckthorn oil. If you already use a "regular" facial moisturizer, you can easily just add a couple drops of evening primrose oil and mix it in your palm.


member avatar
Reviewed on January 9, 2013

I've gone from having 1-3 new cysts every week, all of which lasted at least a week each (sometimes up to a month), to having only one a month, and it disappears in under 3 days. This has been a miracle for me, works just as good as Spiro did, but without the hardcore side effects. You must take with EFA's. I take fish oil, which was hard for me initially, because I've been vegetarian nearly all my life. Flax oil doesn't convert to DHA. I take 3000 mg hexane free cold pressed+1,100 mg fish


by laurahope0 on 05/24/2014 18:51
Can you update us on this? Are you still taking EPO and fish oil - with a comparable effect to that of Spiro? I just increased my spiro dosage because I am fed up with my level of acne again, but wondering if EPO might be another answer for me. Thanks!
Reviewed on October 18, 2012

Evening Primrose Oil vitamins have made my skin softer and vibrant. However, it has not done much for my existing acne or preventing acne. I might possibly be allergic to one of the ingredient in it because i am developing a small rash on my hands. I will discontinue use if rash does not go away.