Page 4 of Purpose Gentle Cleansing Bar reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Purpose Gentle Cleansing Bar
4.4/5 - 85 reviews
5 star
58 reviews
4 star
14 reviews
3 star
6 reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
4 reviews

Brand: Purpose

Write Your Review

Purpose Gentle Cleansing Bar

Ingredients


Sodium Tallowate, Sodium Cocoate, Water, Glycerin, Fragrance, Sodium Chloride, BHT, Trisodium HEDTA, D&C Yellow 10 (CI 74005), D&C Orange 4.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Purpose Gentle Cleansing Bar

Where to buy

Purpose Gentle Cleansing Bar, 6-Ounce Bars (Pack of 6)
updated: 06/07/2017 08:52 UTC
-
Purpose Gentle Cleansing Bar 6 oz (170 g)
updated: 06/07/2017 08:52 UTC
-

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Purpose Gentle Cleansing Bar

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Reviewed on August 5, 2010

This is the only cleanser I use now. Except for eye makeup remover (I use mineral makeup and it's super easy for this cleanser to get makeup off), this is my go to cleanser.

I've gone through the mill in terms of trying products. You know the feeling, when you go through the aisles at your local pharmacy and you're like 'tried that, tried that, tried that...' Now, I'm like 'found it!'

I started to use this cleanser when my skin was at its all time worse, in my early 20s. A lot of products people were recommending (expensive and not) just didn't make my skin FEEL good. After I started using Purpose, I went from my entire face feeling inflamed, to just my cheeks, to spots on my cheeks. And also, I switched off of the benzoyl peroxide thing I was using to salicylic acid (Murad, if anyone wants to know). Granted I still had zits, but my face wasn't on fire any more.

This doesn't get rid of acne. What Purpose does do, is to clean and not irritate my skin (thus preventing acne via product irritation).


member avatar
Tonia, Missouri
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on July 3, 2010

This is no doubt a miracle soap! I'm 42 and have battled acne forever. I have been a Clinique girl for probably 15 years, so everything I use on my face has always come from Clinique. A year ago I started going to a dematologist and he recommended Purpose Soap. I wasn't about to leave my Clinique Acne Solutions soap so I ignored him. But several months ago I decided I'd just try the Purpose Soap and, because I don't like bar soaps, I got the Purpose liquid soap. I hated it. I think it broke my face out even more. So, that was that. Then a month ago for some reason I decided to give the Purpose bar soap a try. I am so sorry I didn't start using it when Dr. Gardner told me to! It's incredible and I won't be using any other kind of cleanser on my face again. (Sorry Clinique!) I have extremely oily skin so the "drying effect" people keep talking about is perfect for me. My face isn't anywhere near as oily as it was. Also, it literally gives you a "squeaky clean" feeling. I actually look forward to washing my face twice a day. My face looks so pretty now and my acne is so much better. Because I have such oily skin, the trick I learned is when I do have a break out spot, I wash that area several times and then the last time I leave the soap on for a few minutes and no lie, the blemish is all but gone. It's really unbelievable! Now, if you have dry skin, I probably wouldn't use this soap though, just because of the drying effect. But if you don't have dry skin, you'll never want to use another kind of soap as long as you live. It's awesome!


member avatar
melodi, FL
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on March 22, 2010

have been using for years love this soap its not like im putting alot of chemicals on my face with other acne products.

this does it for me nd its so simple to use i use a lil soft loofah for face


member avatar
Stephanie, Southern MD
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on January 13, 2010

I started using this after I had an allergic reaction to something. It's dried out my skin and I'm breaking out more than ever. And I'm stuck using it till I can find an acne system ugh!!


Reviewed on January 1, 2010

It's a pretty good product. I use it with St. Ives 3 times a week. It sometimes flakes my skin. Overall a good product though...


member avatar
FOREVER21, LA. baton rouge
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on August 22, 2009

Fantastic! I just swipe my makeup off with a makeup wipe. And then remove any leftover with this cleanser. It is drying only if you use it for more than 10 seconds or less. Basically just use dan's cleansing method in his video. It is so super cheap and super long lasting compared to cetaphil. Cetaphil feels like your putting watered down lotion on your face. It also lathers super well!

JUST REMEMBER DON"T LEAVE IT ON THE SKIN TOO LONG!

btw it's a really good cleanser but a cleanser alone won't clear you acne. I used to have moderate acne but now i'm clear from 2.5% dan's bp. I don't use it twice a day but once a day and i use 1 pump. Dan's products are amazing but i really love this purpose cleanser.


member avatar
John, California
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on August 2, 2009

Might work for you might not everyone skin is different but from a personal standpoint it made my skin feel very dry and not so healthy


member avatar
Anonymous
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on July 20, 2009

Give it a try. The Bar may work for you. At the very least it will remove excessive oil without the harsh chemical of acids and peroxide. I've been using it for about a month. I'll post another review after the bar is gone. Maybe things will have cleared up completely by then!


member avatar
Jerome, Chicago
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on June 30, 2009

Buy it.. it replaced BP for me unless my breakouts were serious


member avatar
Anonymous
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on June 12, 2009

Been using for 4-5 years. Started for facial acne but now use as a total body bar of soap. Like the fresh smell and clean feel.