Page 2 of Proactiv Solution Acne Treatment System reviews

2.6/5 - 4428 reviews
5 star
375 reviews
4 star
843 reviews
3 star
1005 reviews
2 star
983 reviews
1 star
1222 reviews

Brand: Proactiv Solution

Ingredients


RENEWING CLEANSER
Active Ingredient:
Benzoyl Peroxide, 2.5%

Inactive Ingredients:
Water (aqua), magnesium aluminum silicate, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, sorbitol, dimethyl isosorbide, disodium PEG-12 dimethicone sulfosuccinate, tridecyl stearate, neopentyl glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, polyethylene, cetyl esters, anthemis nobilis flower extract, sodium hyaluronate, sodium PCA, xanthan gum, tridecyl trimellitate, propylene glycol, Imidazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum).

REVITALIZING TONER
Ingredients:
Water (aqua), glycolic acid, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, anthemis nobilis flower extract, rosa canina fruit extract, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, sodium PCA, panthenol, glycerin, propylene glycol, allantoin, polysorbate 20, hydroxyethylcellulose, sodium hydroxide, benzophenone-4, tetrasodium EDTA, imidazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum), blue 1 (CI 42090), yellow 5 (CI 19140).

REPAIRING TREATMENT
Active Ingredients:
Benzoyl Peroxide, 2.5%.

Inactive Ingredients:
Water (aqua), ethoxydiglycol, cyclotetrasiloxane, cyclopentasiloxane, cetearyl alcohol, propylene glycol, dimethicone, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, panthenol, allantoin, xanthan gum, ceteareth-20, carbomer, triethanolamine, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum).

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Where to buy

Proactiv Solution 4-pc. Acne Treatment System
updated: 10/25/2014 01:01 UTC
$44.00

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go toward Acne.org maintenance.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Works but with hassle
Reviewed on September 23, 2014

Proactiv actually does work for me unlike anyone else I've ever spoke to about it. But the "people" that work for Proactiv are money hungry robots. I've been a customer for 12 years & their website has been down for about a year now. The site says to call them to manage your account which is a huge pain for me. I would get over it if the people on the other end of the phone would listen to me. I ask them to change my shipping date a month later because I had plenty of it stocked up & didn't have the funds to pay for it right now when I didn't need it. They simply ignore that request each time I ask but of course approve the request of adding another product to my package. I called them over a month before my shipment was to come, this wasn't a last minute request. Instead of acknowledging that I want to change my shipping frequency over the phone (that can be done so easily online), their trained response is, "what else can I do for you today?" My strong advice is to purchase from a kiosk/vending machine as I've done before & do NOT give them your payment information for automatic shipping. You will end up with a $60+ bill every month automatically deducted from your bank account/credit card.


Mixed feelings...
Reviewed on September 23, 2014

My GP put me on a four month waiting list to see a dermatologist when I was 14. In the meant time my aunt (who swears by this stuff) came home to Ireland for a holiday begging me to try it and seeing as I was desperate, I surrendered. I used the three step system right up until I stepped foot into the derms office so yeah I'm a believer in giving things time to work so I can come back here and give a decent review for you people:) Here goes...

I used this as recommended-twice per day. Id do the three steps in the morning and by mid day I would be completely oil slick like you could fry multiple eggs AND bacon on my face and there would still be oil left over. This however was "easily" solved with many, many tissues. Bear in mind also that I have an oily t zone only and this oil slick look would cover my face. My face also looked extremely red and sun-burnt at about the one month mark (which is probably attributed to the BP) and when your granny asks at a family reunion if you sat out in the sun too long you know it looks terrible. Lol! My nightly routine would have the same effect. Id do the regimen outlined and wake up to see my face "shine bright like a diamond";D I believe that this system did work for me but only to a degree. I still got a cyst a week when using this but it did look like it made some improvement.

When the time came for me to visit the derm he said "I wish I had seen your face before you started Proactiv". He also said that it looked like I was having a "good day". So I guess it did work but all in all, I didn't feel like looking red, scary and greasy 24/7 and yes the redness and oil would even poke through my makeup.

If you want to try it be my guest, you will never know unless you try it. We don't all have the same skin type. It may work better for you than it did for me:) I feel like this would work best on someone with light/mild acne and I would steer clear of it if you have oily skin. My theory is that the bp was so drying it stripped the moisture from the skin thus making the skin produce more oil to counteract the dryness. And we all know oil is a contributing factor to even more acne. Having said that I would recommend this for someone with less severe acne and a different skin type to me as I said above.

Thanks for reading. Remember to smile through your acne. It doesn't define you as a person. xxx


Irise
Reviewed on September 21, 2014

I subscribe to ProActiv, and it dosen't help me. At all. I have oily skin, too. So, I tried the Citrus Clear products and I didn't expect any results. After just one week of using Citrus Clear products, my skin has cleared up noticeably.


Nightmare!!
Reviewed on September 21, 2014

This is the worst treatment that I have ever used. I have mild acne and only few blackheads. I was convinced to use this product because of its promising advertisement. I didn't even bother to spend too much for this because I'm hoping for its result. But this is actually waste of time and money. I don't recommend this product.


Justin Bieber you lied
Reviewed on September 12, 2014

I thought my skin would be baby smooth like Justin Biebers :(

At first I think it helped for a week or so but then my skin started getting real bad and I had to stop. Skin became weird and only and developed a few painful cysts. There customer service is deplorable. They overcharged me and have yet to credit me back. Can't recommend this


Best for me, no contest
Reviewed on September 11, 2014

I've tried everything pharmacies have to offer and nothing works as well as the original Proactiv forumla. I tried switching to Proactiv+ a couple of weeks ago and started breaking out on my chin for the first time since I started using Proactiv in 2011. I'm eagerly awaiting my next shipment of the original formula to come in the mail and am never going to look back.


The NEW Proactive Plus is Much better!
Reviewed on September 10, 2014

Regular ProActive did not work very well on my son's face, but the new ProActive + works really great! Doesn't dry out his face or make it red.


It didnt do anything.
Reviewed on September 8, 2014

I have been seduced by those infomercials three different times. Each time I was left with the same amount of acne.


advertising propaganda!!!
Reviewed on September 5, 2014

its been my dream since I was in high school to have this to cure my mild acne. When i was already earning from my job, last year i've decided to drop my money and invest with this product. I taught this will solve that time i already had a mild-moderate acne and at last achieve a clear and healthy skin but it didn't happened. It got worsen, i got a lot of breakouts! Im still not on my half of using the product but im already convinced to return it back because anyway this has a money back guarantee options. Still i convinced myself to continue and believe everything that's on the advertisement and what it is promising. From the foam cleanser that has tiny beads which i think didn't help coz it makes my pimples pop out and spread the bacteria on my face while im washing. The toner, i cant even remember if it does something to help my skin until i run out of it. the last thing that's left from me was the mask and lotion. which at first helped my pimple to subside and flatten but i notice as i use it again and again, my face got immune with the treatment and maybe the dosage which later on didn't take effect anymore. With the mask, sometimes after i pop some zits i use it as a spot treatment to control the bleeding or clear water like thing coming out of my pimple. then sometimes i use it on my entire face it feels like a clay mask. I used to leave it on my face on the entire night hoping for some good results in the morning but after i wash it off, teneeennn.. a new pimple again! here and there.. my gosh! All i can say is this product is just full of advertising propaganda!!!


new to proactiv plus
Reviewed on September 4, 2014

As i am new to proactiv plus , its making my skin look very dry n its peeling..also i feel new pimples popping up...cud u plz suggest me whether its normal n also help me out with a gud moistrizer.

Thnkyu