Proactiv Solution Advanced Daily Oil Control reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Proactiv Solution Advanced Daily Oil Control
3.5/5 - 35 reviews
5 star
7 reviews
4 star
15 reviews
3 star
5 reviews
2 star
6 reviews
1 star
2 reviews

Brand: Proactiv Solution

Write Your Review

Proactiv Solution Advanced Daily Oil Control

Ingredients


Active Ingredient:
Salicylic Acid (0.5%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Water, Denatured Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Nylon-12, Cyclohexasiloxane, PVM/MA Decadiene Crosspolymer, Decylene Glycol, Sodium Hydroxide, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Disodium EDTA, Sarcosine, Pentylene Glycol, Xanthan Gum, 10-Hydroxydecanoic Acid,Sebacic Acid, 1,10-Decanediol, Phenoxyethanol, Fragrance.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Proactiv Solution Advanced Daily Oil Control

Where to buy

Proactiv Proactiv Advanced Daily Oil Control, 1.7 Ounce (60 Day)
updated: 12/09/2016 01:57 UTC
-

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Proactiv Solution Advanced Daily Oil Control

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Not strong enough
Reviewed on November 2, 2016

I don’t have a lot of COMPLAINTS per se about this product. Other than I don’t particularly like the company after having spent some time dealing with them. but that is another review, I guess.

I got this because even though I was using some of their other products, I still found that I had extremely oily skin and my face was not clearing up like I wanted it to. Someone told me that if I added salicylic acid on during the day, that would add some extra zip to my treatment program. So I found this on their website and I followed their instructions to the T - even tried to apply it more than once a day but the oil didn’t lessen at all. In fact, I found zero changes in my skin at all after nearly 30 days of using it, good or bad. With that, no need to be throwing more money down the drain! I figured maybe salicylic acid just didn’t work on my skin and I should stick to benzoyl peroxide or other treatments.

After this, I went to Retin A after my derm recommended it. OMG. What a mistake - I went out in the sun on a family vacation and my skin got absolutely fried. I have never been burnt like that in my life. So back to the drawing board with what products would actually help my skin and not hurt it.

Finally, I when I was a girls weekend, one of my girlfriends was raving (again) about salicylic acid and how much it has helped her. I told her my story with Proactiv. She is a pretty experienced acne treatment shopper and basically just told me that it had to do with the brand, not the ingredient not being effective. All the other stuff that most companies add to their products makes the ingredients less effective. I tried her brand, Ninja, which she had been using for about a year with amazing results and I have to say, I am hooked now too. Salicylic acid can be extremely effective, it turns out, on my skin, when it isn’t diluted with a bunch of other stuff. And ANOTHER thing that Proactiv never told me is that I should have been wearing sunscreen over any medication I use during the day. Agh. Sure wish their customer service was as informative as what I use now - could have saved me a LOT of grief over the years.


MAKES FACE SO SMOOTH!
Reviewed on February 6, 2016

I was expecting this product to dry out my face after putting it on, but it has actually smoothed out my skin. I don't have acne scarring but I do have pretty visible pores on my cheeks which have become less noticeable. The best part, and the reason why I love this product and know it is significantly reducing the oil production on my face, is the way my skin feels around my chin area under my bottom lip. Normally it's bumpy from oil accumulation and no matter how often I would exofliate that area, I felt like it was a place where I would have permanent blackheads, now it's never been smoother! -and stays that way all day! I will admit, at the end of the day my face is still "oily" but my skin is in much better condition, can't overstate that it's way smoother and definitely producing less pore clogging oil. LOVE IT.


Proactiv Daily Oil control works perfectly for me
Reviewed on May 31, 2013

Proactiv Daily Oil control works perfectly for me.it stays on all day long,even in hot and humid conditions of mumbai!

It works great on it's own or even under my foundation. I have been using this product for about

3.5 years and am extremely happy with the results.Thanks proactiv, for keeping me fresh even during these hot summers.


member avatar
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on February 9, 2012

good at oil control

great when paired with rice paper/powder sheets for oil absorption


by Duang on 05/31/2013 12:06
it is pricey. I think also that diet is very very very important and lviing a vegan lifestyle is the one thing that cured me. I used a holistic sulfur treatment for my skin. No need for the $$$ if you manage your life better and avoid things that disrupt your skin - it's an organ!
Reviewed on October 12, 2011

It works if you have oily face like mine or shiny and if you don't have skin like that then is pointless using it. for me I mean it works it keeps your skin nice but after a while you kind of have to add more but it is pricey.But bottom line it does what it suppose to do.


member avatar
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on October 9, 2011

I have very oily skin, one that leaves residue if rubbed against hands. My skin is extremely oily when i wake up and find that skin feels clogged throughout the day. I work full time and need to reapply make up twice a day properly and need to powder t zone about 4 times a day.


Reviewed on July 6, 2011

I used this for 4 months, along with the rest of the proactive products and this was the only thing in my kit that i actually liked. I have combination skin, but in my t-zone area my face is VERY oily. I used this and my face was not oily at all. Even when i put makeup over it and wore it for a whole day it did not stop working.


Reviewed on April 3, 2011

I used this product along with the entire Proactiv system for several years. I have extremely oily skin, in fact, I've never seen anyone with skin oilier than mine. It's unbelievable. Sometimes, I drip oil.

Okay, now with that in mind, I used this product to try to control my shine during the day. For the first month or two, it worked miraculously. It kept my face virtually shine-free for about 8 hours or so. But after a while, it just stopped working. So I stopped using it for several months, and then started up again hoping that my face was no longer "used to it." From that point on, I just used it on special occasions, when I was getting dressed up and wearing make-up. It works well. Just doesn't work forever.


member avatar
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on December 17, 2010

I have VERY oily skin, so it only helps with oiliness a little bit. I still get oil, but not as much. It'l take a few hours for my skin to oil up instead of right away. And I LOVE how it makes my skin so soft and smooth! I highly recommend this product for light to moderate oiliness, but even if you have heavy oil, like I do, this product can help to minimize it.


Reviewed on August 27, 2010

I apply it before i put makeup and it keeps my face with less oil production. But after a few hours I can feel the oil on my face and my foundation rubs off.