Page 2 of Proactiv Solution Acne Treatment System reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Proactiv Solution Acne Treatment System
2.6/5 - 4549 reviews
5 star
384 reviews
4 star
847 reviews
3 star
1010 reviews
2 star
993 reviews
1 star
1315 reviews

Brand: Proactiv Solution

Write Your Review

Proactiv Solution Acne Treatment System

Ingredients


RENEWING CLEANSER
Active Ingredient:
Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Water (aqua), magnesium aluminum silicate, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, sorbitol, dimethyl isosorbide, disodium PEG-12 dimethicone sulfosuccinate, tridecyl stearate, neopentyl glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, polyethylene, cetyl esters, anthemis nobilis flower extract, sodium hyaluronate, sodium PCA, xanthan gum, tridecyl trimellitate, propylene glycol, Imidazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum).

REVITALIZING TONER
Ingredients:
Water (aqua), glycolic acid, hamamelis virginiana (witch hazel) extract, anthemis nobilis flower extract, rosa canina fruit extract, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, sodium PCA, panthenol, glycerin, propylene glycol, allantoin, polysorbate 20, hydroxyethylcellulose, sodium hydroxide, benzophenone-4, tetrasodium EDTA, imidazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum), blue 1 (CI 42090), yellow 5 (CI 19140).

REPAIRING TREATMENT
Active Ingredient:
Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Water (aqua), ethoxydiglycol, cyclotetrasiloxane, cyclopentasiloxane, cetearyl alcohol, propylene glycol, dimethicone, glyceryl stearate, PEG-100 stearate, panthenol, allantoin, xanthan gum, ceteareth-20, carbomer, triethanolamine, diazolidinyl urea, methylparaben, propylparaben, fragrance (parfum).

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Proactiv Solution Acne Treatment System

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Proactiv Solution Acne Treatment System

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Teenage Cystic Acne Finally Subdued!!!
Reviewed on February 23, 2017

I’ve had awful acne since the fourth grade, and I mean constant severe cystic acne due to natural hormones and stress. I’ve tried everything, from the drugstore to multiple prescriptions from the doctor, you name it, I’ve used it. Nothing seemed to really get rid of the acne. Then I tried Proactiv. It lessened my acne and redness significantly in just a few weeks. It was sadly the last thing I tried since I was skeptical from all the gimmicky infomercials. Don’t let that deter you. It does make my skin very dry, (even the moisturizer has Benzoyl Peroxide), so I don't even use it as directed. Instead of twice a day, I use it before bed along with my rosewater witch hazel toner and then I just use the witch hazel toner in the morning. I look like a completely different person from pictures last year. I love this stuff. Thank you, Proactiv!!!

P.S. If this is drying your skin out, go to using it ONCE a day and BUY A MOISTURIZER. I use Neutrogena's face lotion for sensitive skin. The Proactive moisturizer is great but it's meant to reduce oil and kill bacteria too, so it can really dry out sensitive skin. Just use the system, and then after everything dries, slap a squirt and a half of the Neutrogena on your face and bam. I use the Neutrogena along with my Thayer's rosewater witch hazel toner which actually tones and moisturizes. If it's drying you out, don't send it back before trying this! I've been using Proactiv for almost two years.


Great for Teens and Early Acne Prone
Reviewed on February 1, 2017

I think this is a great kit for a teen or early acne-prone individual. It works fairly well but more importantly teaches the basics of a skin care regimen. It is easy to use and creates a method for those to start adapting good skin care habits for long term.

Not so sure on the use of the toner except to remove any dirt that wasn't removed [link edited out] the first product. If a product were removed from this I would say the toner could be.

This could also be a good start for an adult who was developing acne at a later age and who had not had it early on. Good basic regimen to begin with.

Also white sheet and towel alert - it bleaches so use light or white sheets and towels.


It works
Reviewed on January 19, 2017

I been having acne sense middle school my grandmother use to buy me a lot of products for my face nothing had worked. She had order me Proactiv in 8th grade I had used it next morning I worked up my face was very red as if I had sunburn , face was kind of puffy , very tight. She sented it back the next day!! Still was having acne problems . Then when I turned 18 I was very tired of it I order it again and I put small amount on it same problem happen but my acne was going away so I just put up with it stayed in the house for a about 2 weeks took off work on paid leave until my face heeled and I had cleared skin I was very happy!!!! Everybody skin is different and reacts to certain chemicals differently if u can't take off work like I did and have the same problem my suggestion is start on 1 part of your face. For example put it on your forehead if its ance there and once it clears up put it on the other side. And continue around the other part of your face .


Agree, this is BS!!
Reviewed on January 18, 2017

This is not a review on the product, but on the billing system. Make sure you keep tract of when you receive your products and when you pay for each of them. They will come back 9, 10 months later and bill you again or request payment on shipments you never received. No way to prove you didn't receive a shipment they are saying you owe for that far back. I made several phone calls trying to clear this up and they do not budge. And if not paid (for shipments you never received) they will send you to collections. Will never use them again or recommend them ever


This is BS!
Reviewed on January 8, 2017

Ok, to start this off, this is not a review on the product itself, but a review on the online ordering for their xout product and the hassal I have gone through for the past 4 months. I ordered 2 bottles of xout for my daughter's in September 2016. The product was on sale for $10 per bottle which was great! So I placed my order, paid IN FULL and was done. Easy peezy! So I was shocked to see not even a month later my bank account was charged almost $50. So I called and was told that I was signed up for a recurring monthly order that I myself did not sign up for! I just wanted the 2 bottles I ordered. They informed me that more products had already been shipped but that since I did not want to receive monthly packages, they would cancel the order, cancel the monthly products and refund my money and I would owe them nothing as long as I sent the product back when it arrived, which I gladly did and my account was refunded. So all is well and everyone is happy right? Nope! Now I am receiving a bill for $17 and some change for my original order back in September for shipping and handling! I was just told in October that I did not owe them any money and everything was good to go. This is insane! I paid for that product and the shipping and handling in full at the time of purchase. I am extremely unhappy with this company and how every time I turn around I'm either being signed up for something without my knowledge or I am being charged for services that I already paid for. I will never order online from this company again and I would suggest to others to be very careful while ordering and to be prepared to be on the phone a lot trying to figure it all out.


by Karma123 on 02/04/2017 03:23
Ok, your buying a system which is not made aware at the online purchase, very shady. After the initial purchase is received you will be billed three more times in one month increments. I caught this on my statement on the second billing. When I called the friendly Indian dialect person that was,talking so fast as to sway me from what was going on, I caught the word august? By the way this started in january. Mind you she is reading her speak very fast! And reveals that she is so sorry that LM not happy and she will put my account on hold till August with some other random vocabulary nothing to do with what is really happening. I had to emphasize and make very clear I wanted to cancel. That's not what there plan is. Karma, here I come!!
A whole lot of eh.
Reviewed on January 8, 2017

I used this years ago when I first tried to to my acne under control. It worked at first, but stopped a couple of months in.

It also made my skin SO dry and SO agitated. For the large amount of money you have to pay, it really isn't worth it. I feel like they approach skin care in a one "cure" helps all way, which is just not true.


Worst product I ever bought!!!
Reviewed on January 4, 2017

This product is just waste of money. It's not working at all and gave me more problem.

So first time when I order it I pay $19.95 + shipping. I thought if it works good like what they said then I got such a good deal!! NO!!! I regret putting that stuff on my face. First time I used it I felt like my face was on fire. It was so hot and it hurt so bad. My face turned red. So I stop using it for couple days and used it again still same and it even got worse. My face start itching really bad and it start bleeding. So I had to go get medical treatment. I couldn't put make up for a month. It was so bad!!!

I called Proactive and told them what happened. This is what he told me. "Okay. I understand you are frustrated. But proactive works great and that's how it works. You will feel burn on your face because it's fighting with your acne. Itch8ng and bleeding is all the bad stuff coming out from your skin." I told them I don't think so and I ask him for a refund and he suggested me use it for one more month. I said no. However next month I got charged $38. I called them again and ask them why they send it and she told me I have to use it for at least 2months to get a result. I told them give my money back they never did. At least she cancelled. But I will not suggest to anyone.


by Karma123 on 02/04/2017 03:32
Very bad business practices with a slide of hand concept. Pay very close attention to what your buying. How many months supply you will receive and at what cost. And if you decide to cancel, make sure you get confirmation and check your statement on billing date for up to a year or maybe forever? I cancelled in February 2017 and in the fastest talker I've ever talked to! Said, oh, so sorry. We will help you and put your acct. On hold till august? Wth! Yes if you don't confirm cancellation they will start your program over for you later. How about that B.S. Here comes karma
by Dreamymoon on 06/12/2017 03:17
This company sounds so shady...glad I never tried it
Big Mistake
Reviewed on January 3, 2017

This review is long overdue for me. And very long. I apologize in advance but am hopeful that it will help anyone who is considering using this product.

I started using this brand way back when it came out, over 10 years ago. This is when I was in my late teens and had what I now know to be mild acne. But you are so vain in your teens, you think your life is going to end. My mother got it for me after some celebrity on TV told her to and it worked. It did. But again, my acne was like a random pimple once ever 2-3 weeks. Nothing.

Fast forward 10+ years, I have my first baby, my skin goes absolutely bonkers and I go from having beautiful clear skin that I took for granted to this face that I wanted to hide from everyone. It was a pretty desperate time for me. I have this new baby, I am stuck at home and I feel absolutely miserable and sorry for myself the majority of the days. My very first reaction was to go back to Proactive, because my memory of it was that it worked. I call and they tell me that what I used before wasn’t available any longer and that I should try this suite of products. Sure, whatever, they are the experts right?

I get it. And I get on their godforsaken re-occuring billing plan. At first, I didn’t really have any emotions about the product. I do remember initially feeling that the new cleanser formulation was not very nice, I didn’t like the residue it left on my face, it didn’t lather as well… overall I just didn’t like it as much as I remember liking it before. And my acne didn’t get worse but it really didn’t improve either so I was kind of like “meh” on it.

After about 2 weeks, my skin started getting extremely dry. Like cracking. Cracking skin on your face is not desirable if you ask me. Cracked, chapped, peeling and bleeding lips. The skin right under my eyes was turning scaley. I had to start using eyedrops for my eyes - they were so dry that I had trouble keeping them open for prolonged periods of time. At the urging of my husband, I finally went to the dermatologist because I never in a million years thought that it was due to the products I was using. In retrospect, that is silly that it wasn’t obvious but it wasn’t. The dermatologist recommended that I cease using all products for a week and see what would happen.

Guys, I can tell you that within 1-2 days of not using Proactive nearly all of my symptoms went away. My skin just hated that stuff. I immediately called the company and explained what had happened and asked for a refund for the products I had been using, at least the most recent order and I cancelled my re-occuring billing. Or I thought I did. The person that I spoke with on the phone was so not helpful, I had to ask for a supervisor and then explain it to them all over again. The supervisor basically told me it was my fault for ordering the wrong product, that they would not return my money but they would cancel my billing. They were, hands down, the most anti-customer experience I have ever had with any company. Before I hung up, I told them that they could expect very bad reviews from me and there was little to no reaction.

Lo and behold, the reoccurring billing was NOT cancelled, I had to call them AGAIN and tell them what happened. They told me I never cancelled it in the first place and if I wanted my money back from this latest shipment, I would have to ship it back to them at my own cost. WHAT?!! Only after me having a near breakdown on the phone did someone finally agree to just take it back without me having any out of pocket but I would still have to go through the hassle of shipping it back.

Man - this is long. Sorry but it does get better. :) After that, I was bound an determined to bad mouth this company to anyone I could. I was so pissed! I remembered seeing reviews and came here. But after about 5 mins, I got side tracked and started looking for some product to help my still bad skin. There were lots of recommendations throughout but the one that stood out to me was one I had never heard of, called Ninja. What stood out to me was everyone kept talking about how awesome their customer service was. Given my latest experience, that is what I was looking for. So I called them and I am so so so happy I did. The reviews were not wrong - it is hands down the best customer service I have ever experienced and the products are killer. Within 2-3 weeks, my acne from the last 3 years was all but gone and they actually called me randomly to make sure that it was all going according to plan. What the what?! I had never expected that, I was stoked and had all but forgotten about Proactive.

Until yesterday when my neighbor told me randomly that she had bought Proactive for her daughter. I was floored and realized that I never had posted that review of them and here you go - more people are getting sucked into their web. So Proactive - I told you I would tell people how you treated me and likely treat loads of other people from the looks of it. And here I am doing it! Don’t use this product!! There are better ones out there!=


no
Reviewed on December 31, 2016

They take my money and I am a kid and i don't have much they put you on a 90 day kit where you have to pay each month around 30$ they took all my money and refused to give me a refund they took all my birthday money thank you proactiv for making a kid lose money how would i have known they would charge you its in small imprint and who reads those very very few.


by Karma123 on 02/04/2017 03:36
Very sad that they manipulate the public into a scheme that they wouldn't think the would see from a what we thought was a reputable company? Slide of hand, magic show. Report this to your creditor. Cancel your card and have a new one issued and you will never have to deal with them again or worry about checking your acct. Karma, here's your sign!
HORRIBLE!!!
Reviewed on August 27, 2012

DO NOT BUY PROACTIVE!!! These money suckers hire INSANE people who will blow out your ear drums whenever you come across any problem with their product.

People, the medicine they use WILL make your face red and dry but that's not the point. The point is doing a regimen that WORKS. Who the hell do these people think they are? Their company sucks, their employees suck, and they have more "Consumer Reports" and "Scams" (Google it) than any other TV advertisement I have seen or care to read up on. Do some research on the company and THEN review it when you get off the product.

I bought their product and tried to cancel two weeks later when I found out what these people do for a living, but it was too late because they ALREADY sent out the second package for TWICE as much! We tried canceling the order but they refused to leave our bank account alone. We closed our bank account next month JUST to get these people off our ass but they CALLED OUR BANK demanding us to pay for the second AND third month!!! ARE YOU F***ING SERIOUS?!

We ended up pouring everything the sent us down the drain. The regimen takes way too much time, makes your skin smell and feel like ass when you get off it, and their customer service literally harasses you AND your bank/credit card company making sure that you make payments you never authorized on. RESEARCH the company people!!! RESEARCH!!! Screw these people for taking several hundred dollars away from us and for wasting our time.