Obagi Clenziderm M.D. System reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Obagi Clenziderm M.D. System
3.9/5 - 8 reviews
5 star
5 reviews
4 star
0 reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
1 review
1 star
1 review

Brand: Obagi

Write Your Review

Obagi Clenziderm M.D. System

Ingredients


Cleanser
Ingredients:
Water, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Arginine Cocoate, Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Cetyl Alcohol, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Glyceryl Stearate, Peg 100 Stearate, Ammonium Cocoyl Isethionate, Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract, Mentha Citrata (Bergamot) Leaf Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Citrus Medica Limonum (Lemon) Peel Extract, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben.

Lotion
Ingredients:
Benzyl Benzoate, BHT, Dicaprylyl Ether, Dimethyl Isosorbide, Disodium EDTA, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate / Sodium Acryloydimethyl Taurate, Phenoxyethanol, Polysorbate 60, Propylene Glycol, Squalane, Water (Aqua).

Moisturizer
Ingredients:
Acrylates / C10 30 Alkyl Acrylate Cross polymer, Allontoin, Butylparaben, Cetyl Dimethicone, Corn Starch Modified, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone / Vinyl Dimethicone Cross Polymer, Ethylparaben, Isobutyylparaben, Lauryl PEG / PPG 18 / 18 Methicone, Methylparaben, Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben, Triethanolamine, Water.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Obagi Clenziderm M.D. System

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Obagi Clenziderm M.D. System

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

miracle worker
Reviewed on February 1, 2015

I have suffered with acne for years!!!! I was on antibiotics and when that failed the doctors put me on Accutane for 8 months....it's been 5 years I've been off Accutane and have not had any issues with breaking out like I used to before. I occasionally have one to three minor blemishes once in a while and this product has done the job! this product is not sold in drugstores.....the doctor who has done two fraxel laser treatment for my acne scars his office carries this product. I know that this product is mainly sold at doctors offices....this product isn't cheap at all!!! It's usually around $100-115. I usually get mine at Amazon the cheapest I got it for was around $60. This products is so worth it! It's my go to when ever I feel a blemish coming.


Probably the best out there
Reviewed on January 18, 2015

Follow the directions, end acne I'm surprised this isn't as popular. Infections and tenderness at my facial hair follicles are gone, like Kmitch below I started getting acne in my 20's, I've tried all those pharmacy brands and other brands like Urth, Dermalogica, Neostrata, Proactive, Murad, PCA, Vi Derm.


This changed my life and ENDED my acne. PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW
Reviewed on December 31, 2014

I have never written a review anywhere on the internet before, but I felt compelled to join this website solely to write about this product in the hope that it will help someone out there end their misery. This time, exactly one year ago I was on this website, crying and desperately searching for the next 'miracle cure' after suffering from adult acne for over 6 years. As I write this review today my skin is completely clear and Obagi is the reason I look this way. PLEASE read all of my review, and please ignore the comments people have written in this forum about Obagi making their skin red and sore - it is MEANT to do that, it is part of the process, it is only temporary, and these people clearly have not been guided by an expert through the process.

This is my story -

I am now 38 years old, (female) and have had mild adult acne on and off since my mid twenties. In my 20's I was prescribed the Dianette contraceptive pill, which fixed my acne, and was great for 8 years - I had perfect skin and no problems. However once I came off the pill my old problems returned, my mother then passed away and my acne accelerated with stress, which became anxiety, and the vicious circle of self loathing and sadness began. For the next 6 years I struggled terribly with acne, I had endless antibiotics, creams, tried all the diets, detoxes, potions lotions.... the same desperate cycle I know so many people reading this are stuck in right now. Nothing worked, and it just never went away.

On January 2nd 2014, after searching the internet I snapped and decided to invest in serious professional treatment. I enrolled at the 'Absolute Aesthetics' clinic in Guildford (they also have a London clinic) who specialised in a clinical approach to acne treatment and scarring. At my first meeting they prescribed the Obagi Cleanziderm MD treatment as my first stage. They explained in detail what would happen to me when I started using the products THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT. The product comes in three stages, a face wash, a 'therapeutic lotion' and a 'therapeutic moisturizer', the 'therapeutic lotion' is the vital part that contains benzoyl peroxide.

WHAT HAPPENS - Basically you wash your face with the face wash, let your skin dry properly (5 mins) then you apply 1-2 tiny pumps of the 'therapeutic lotion' let it sink in, and then end with the moisturizer. What happens next hurts, but is bearable. For the next 2-3 weeks you will have a sore face, I'm being completely honest. You will look like you have sun burn, it is not painful, but your skin will be dry and at times sore. This is your skin getting used to the product, it is NORMAL, it does not damage your face in anyway at all, and is just part of the process. Grit your teeth, go through it, it is nothing in comparison to the reward of the results. Slowly after this period your skin gets used to the products and completely readjusts back to normal with no redness / sore at all, its just like using any other normal product. During the first few weeks I read lots of reviews online of people saying it stopped their acne in 2 weeks, a month etc, and I was forever hopeful it would happen to me, but of course it didn't. But my skin was slowly improving, not much, but a little at a time. The best thing I did was watch a youtube video of a poor girl who had horrific acne who used the Obagi system and it took 140 days, but it did finally stop her acne - so I understood it would take time, and it gave me the hope to carry on.

I continued to go back to my clinic every 5 weeks, and they photographed my face and told me the progress was good and to keep going. By month 3 there was a change, my acne was definitely reducing, and by month 4 I had patches, but it was the best it had been in the past few years. At month 5 my acne had stopped. At this point my face had some red marks and scarring so my clinic started using the 'edermastamp' method on my face, which is a process where the skin is lightly wounded all over with surgical needles (takes 30minutes) and then for the next 6 weeks, your skin floods with collagen and elastane (injury repair cells) and its boost cell growth to reduce scars. This was purely cosmetic, it does not fix acne, it is for scar repair and was my own choice. I had 5 treatments 6 weeks apart, and continued using the Obagi system alongside it.

It is now December 31st 2014, I have had a year of treatment and my skin is almost completely restored apart from a few tiny scars that can be covered with light make-up. In one year I have stopped my acne after years of struggling. I continue to use Obagi twice a day, it feels absolutely normal, it isn't strong on my skin, and I no longer have any spots. The Obagi system is £95 a box which is expensive, but it is something I was happy to pay to get my life back. When I first started using the system I tended to over use it, because I wanted fast results, I also used it on my back, so I would get through 1 box a month. Now I don't have acne, I use it much more sparingly and don't need to buy new products until around every 2.5 months, so it is much cheaper. You MUST buy the correct Obagi system for you, mine was the 'normal - to dry' system (there is an oily skin version), and you MUST enroll with a dermatologist, or clinic who will prescribe you the correct formula, and who will chart your progress and advise you / help you through this. The internet is full of fakes, or out of date Obagi products - which will obviously mean that the formula wont work for you. It is a prescription strength product - it's like buying medicine from ebay - something you would never do. It's such an issue that Obagi have posted a warning page about it on their website here - [link removed]

So that is my epic review, I hope this helps someone I really do. Remember this is long term treatment, it is not an overnight success, and it will be sore and make your skin red at first. But keep going, don't give up, and you will get results in the end. For the first time in years I have got some control back in my life, I wish doctors knew about this treatment instead of forcing pills down our necks, I'm amazed how few people are aware of this product, even dermatologists. So I wanted to write this to help get the word out. Good luck, I hope this helps someone I really do xx


Burning, red, painful, and didn't clear up acne
Reviewed on July 30, 2014

This was probably the worst thing I've tried on my long list of acne solutions! It was recommended by my dermatologist. It made my face so red, flaky, dry, and utterly painful. Horrible experience. I called my dermatologist to explain what was happening and she said that that was normal and to continue with the treatment. That is unacceptable to me.


by Kmitch on 12/31/2014 12:33
Please read the huge review I have just posted about this product above yours. Obagi changed my life and ended my acne. Your skin going red and sore is MEANT to happen, it is part of your body adjusting to the product. It only lasts around 3 weeks and then your skin completely stops reacting and goes back to normal. You have to go through this stage, everyone does. Obagi stopped my acne entirely and saved me from years of misery. I knew about the redness as my clinic explained it would happen, but this video also really inspired me - http://youtu.be/1D6cxA_WlDs . Its worth going through the process, trust me, I hope if you haven't already found a cure that your give it another try. best Wishes to you.
50:50
Reviewed on May 8, 2014

i've been using this since 2012 and i don't know if this helped clear my acne or the isotretinoin. first the first year, it's been perfect for me but now, it seems like my skin is getting used to it so maybe i just need some tweaking in my regimen. The foaming cleanser and toner have a really refreshing feeling and the therapeutical lotion stings like a bitch but it works!


Reviewed on April 2, 2013

Brilliant Bang For Your Buck

Full Review Of Both Normal To Dry and Normal To Oily Here [link removed]


member avatar
Anonymous, Missouri
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on May 21, 2012

My dermatologist recommended this because I wouldn't use oral medication anymore due to a bad allergic reaction to Solodyn. It took about 7 months for it to clear me up to the point where I only had two or three active pimples a month. It decreased the swelling immediately and changed the look of my face (in a good way). It is expensive but you don't need much for it to work. Now my skin is almost perfect except for the occasional breakout, which only consists of two to three pimples and when I began using the kit for oily skin I had on average 10-20 active pustules and cysts at a time.


member avatar
User1247, Los Angeles, CA
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on February 20, 2012

It is one of the strongest doses available without a prescription and it literally burns the skin while killing the acne causing bateria. It left my face so dry, harsh, and left blemish marks where the acne was so I stopped using it.