Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

non-wheat breads

14 posts in this topic

what kind of breads does everyone here eat, if any? i've been eating spelt bread on and off for a couple of years. what else is available in health food stores or wherever? i've heard that grains like quinoa and amaranth are good alternatives, but are these available as breads?

what kind of breads does everyone here eat, if any? i've been eating spelt bread on and off for a couple of years. what else is available in health food stores or wherever? i've heard that grains like quinoa and amaranth are good alternatives, but are these available as breads?

"Humor is the great thing, the saving thing. The minute it crops up, all our irritations and resentments slip away and a sunny spirit takes their place."

Mark Twain

Hey,

I personally have never tried amaranth or quinoa breads however you can get breads made of the following ingredients:

Seed Flours - Hemp, Flax, etc

Nut Flours - Almond, Pecan, etc

Bean & Lentil Flours

Gluten-Free Grain Flours - Millet, Buckwheat, Rice, Corn, Teff (Oats if not contaminated)

Grain-like Flours - Amaranth & Quinoa

Potato Flour/Starch

Rice Flour/Starch

Corn Flour/Starch/Meal

Arrowroot Flour

Tapioca Flour (what is this anyway?)

Of the Gluten Free Varieties, I've found that the best tasting ones are those that you make yourself or from are mix are best as they are fresh & hot. Depending on the type of flour used, when reheating the breads you'll have to add a few drops of water to bring back that moist softness (rice flours). If you don't care about Dairy and/or Trans Fats the two companies I would recommend are:

http://www.kinnikinnick.com (they do have some dairy free versions)

http://www.charlottesbakery.com/ (they have trans fat free breads)