Photo

Cold weather causes acne??

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

#1 minny

minny

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 24 October 2002 - 01:53 PM

I live in MN and every October or so my acne gets much worse and then it clears up when it starts getting warmer outside....like April. My skin gets so dry that I can peel off layers almost. Does anyone have any experience with this...is it the dry air that causes my acne to flare up. I was thinking about going out and buying a humidifier? Any help would be appreciated.

My bio: I had really great skin up until I graduated from college, then it all started. I've tried various prescription medications.....Cleocin-T, Tazorac, etc. and actually started seeing very positive results from the above mentioned combination this summer. But no longer because of the cold weather. :D

#2 njacobs

njacobs

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 24 October 2002 - 02:41 PM

I live in the Chicago area. Cold weather is a physical stress to your skin. A light moisturizer might help protect exposed skin. If you don't have a humidifier, it is a good idea to get one. It will not only help your skin, it will help your respiratory tract. Proper indoor humidity will also eliminate much of the static electricity and shocks you get from walking across carpet. There are many types of humidifiers to choose from. I use a warm mist type. Look for one that requires very little maintenance. Cool mist models use wicking filters that need to be replaced quite often. It gets expensive. Spend a little more and get one that does not require changing filters and is maintenance free. Cheap humidity gauges can tell you how much humidity is in your house. Shoot for 35-45% humidity.

#3 minny

minny

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 31 October 2002 - 08:46 AM