Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

aluxeruzzo

Problems With Tretinoin Cream

5 posts in this topic

So I got prescribed tretinoin cream .0375% and to wash my face with PanOxyl 10% morning and night, applying the cream at night. I've been doing this for 2 months and my skin has been peeling so badly ever since I started. It hurts and cracks when I smile, sometimes bleeding depending on how bad it is that day. I went in for a follow up appointment with my derm and told her about this issue and asked if there was another moisturizer I could use that would give my skin more moisture (currently using either cetaphil cream or cerave cream) and she said no and to stop using the cream for a day and then start up again. I did this and it did not improve at all. I was thinking that maybe washing with the PanOxyl in addition to the tretinoin cream is just too much for my skin because I'm really sensitive and maybe I should just use a gentle cleanser but my dermatologist also told me not to do this. Also, before I started using these treatments I had cystic acne as well as just red inflammed pimples, never white heads or black heads. Ever since I started using the tretinoin cream I've had tons and tons of white heads, I'm assuming this is from the "purging" phase but I was wondering when the initial breakouts stop because they are still continuing.

I personally would ditch the panoxyl, or if possible move down to panoxy 2% not 10%....try to find a milder BP wash

yes there is a purging period for sure, but drying is another matter all together- use a moisturizer, like cerave 15 to 20 min after the retin a

but the bigger issue is the wash, you really need to go milder

I thought ur not supposed to use any other drying products while using a rentin a

Try using purpose face wash instead . Panoxyl face wash by itself can be very drying. Stay away from salicylic an BP products . Ur going to end up burning ur face .