Photo

A Lot Of Organic Food Contains Soy. Does This Aggravate Male Acne?

6 replies to this topic

#1 John457

John457

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 30 September 2013 - 01:17 PM

Damned if you eat normally, damned if you don't. I've noticed that a lot of organic foods contain soy and/or gluten. Isn't this just as bad as consuming processed foods?

#2 AmandaSA

AmandaSA

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me
  • Interests:I'm a YA writer and book lover.

Posted 30 September 2013 - 05:31 PM

Damned if you eat normally, damned if you don't. I've noticed that a lot of organic foods contain soy and/or gluten. Isn't this just as bad as consuming processed foods?

Um, yeah, that's exactly how I've been feeling lately. As soon as I get used to having cut something from my diet and think, Hey, I can do this, then I hear about something else I shouldn't eat. I'm a very disciplined person but at some point it's going to drive me mad! Anyway, I've heard so many conflicting things about soy, but many seem to believe it will affect your hormones, which COULD mean it would affect yours in a way that would increase sebum and lead to more clogged pores. You could always try it for a while, then stop, and see how doing both those things affects your acne. I think in the end everyone's different, so what makes one person's acne worse might not bother yours at all. Personally, I've cut out soy because I'm paranoid, but to each their own.

As for gluten, I've cut that out too, but then, even gluten-free products are allowed to have SOME gluten. I cut it mainly for digestional health, but I've read that if you have digestion issues with it, then it could aggravate your acne. But if you have no problems digesting it, I wouldn't worry about it. Again, you could always go gluten-free for a while and see how it affects you. (Though, I'd cut soy and gluten separately so you can gauge what each does to your acne.)