3 replies to this topic

#1 kacysaur

kacysaur

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Gallery Images: 2
About Me

Posted 15 September 2013 - 08:26 PM

Hi!  Ok so I just need to talk a little bit.  I've been going to the dermatologist for 5 years (I am currently a freshman in college).  I've tried Proactiv 3 times.  I've been on Murad, Clearasil, Skin ID, you name it.  I've tried Differin, Epiduo, and another medication of that type.  I've used countless drug store face washes and also prescribed face washes.  I've been on 4 types of antibiotics 5 different times.  Currently, I'm on Minocycline and I have been for about a year.  They always work when I'm on them, then stop working a week after I go off of them.  I've told my derm this.  I have tried SO many things and at this point, I feel like giving up.  Nothing works.  I even expressed my pain acne has caused me (both physically and mentally) and asked my derm about Accutane, and she said it can only be used as "last resort" option.  In my mind, I'm at my last resort.  I was going to go on Accutane my sophomore year, but my mom declined. My skin continues to scar from acne and I can't remember the last time my skin was fully clear.  Being a college student, most everyone has clear skin.  I feel so self conscious all the time.  I thought I would either grow out of it by now or at least find something that works, but neither of those have happened.  I am tired of hearing people say, "it's not /that/ bad" or telling me to try Proactiv or changing my pillow case.  I had dreams of becoming a Disney face character, but my skin is hindering me from accomplishing this.  I am going to be an elementary school teacher and the last thing I need is my kids to point it out or something.  I really just don't know what to do and I know people say it takes time, but I'm all out of hope.  At this point, I am ready to give up.  Sorry for ranting.

Edited by kacysaur, 16 September 2013 - 04:52 PM.

#2 CWR24

CWR24

• Veteran Members