Acne Coverage Tutorial

makeup coverage concealer foundation

13 replies to this topic

#1 Lily87

Lily87

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me
  • Interests:Ex pro makeup artist, always looking for acne cures!

Posted 16 March 2013 - 04:27 PM

Hi all,

I just wrote a tutorial on my blog for covering acne- with pictures and a step by step guide. Feel free to check it out. I used to be a professional makeup artist and also have acne- its actually not too bad at the moment but has been severe in the past.

Whilst I'm having a flare up I thought it would be a good time to create a picture tutorial:

www.4loveofmakeup.wordpress.com

Here are some product recommendations- i swear by these!

• Laura Mercier Secret Camoflage concealer
  • Lancome Teint Miracle foundation
  • Lancome loose translucent powder

:-)

#2 LewisS

LewisS

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 17 March 2013 - 10:26 AM

Wow, that coverage is amazing. I'm a guy and even I'm considering using it! :P

#3 Lily87

Lily87

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 18 March 2013 - 06:29 AM

Thanks Lewis! To be fair, I think guys have a hard time of it with acne because it's not so easy to use makeup and get away with it- but there's no reason why you can't use a bit of cover-up, just make sure its well applied.

For guys, I would say just go with a bit of concealer and loose powder. Even if you just use a tiny amount to tone down redness or tackle your worst areas.

The key is to get a concealer which is a great match for your skin tone, and use the loose powder to set it- as described in my blog. A loose powder is better than the type of pressed powder which comes in a compact palette, as it is of a finer consistency and is easier to work into your skin with less visibility.

I'd say go ahead and give it a go! Just make sure to double check how it looks in natural light (i.e apply it whilst standing by a window). :-)

#4 LewisS

LewisS

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me