This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

I Got Rid Of My Cystic Acne!

2 posts in this topic

I've been fighting cystic acne for over 4 years now. I had tried everything OTC. I get horrible side effects with medicine so I tried to stay away from Accutane and such.

I HAVE to share this. After dozen of trial and error, I swear my face is 'clear'. I have blemishes and scarring but no cystic bumps AT ALL. was my saviour.

My regimen:

Wash face, toner, acne creams, sunblock, moisturizer, drink tea

- Wash: Hot water in sink. Place washcloth with epsom salt until the epsom salt dissolves (about 20-45 sec).

I use that washcloth to 'pat - wash' my face to rid of dirt. I do scrub now because I've seen better results (even though it's forbidden ha!)

- Wash: I use gel cleanser. I was using Aveda Botanical Kinetics Purifying Gel Cleanser. But I promise I've been using TriDerma Facial Redness Cleanser for two days and it's made a huggge difference. So, I will most likely toss the Aveda. TriDerma is non-comedogenic, medical strength, for sensitive skin, with "exclusive AP4 aloe"

- Toner: Apple cider vinegar as a toner. I don't dilute the vinegar because it worked best for me this way. Instead of splashing cold water after washing my face, I put ACV (with a cotton ball or just my fingers).

- Creams: During the day, I now use Acnevir which is working wonders. I was using Aczone and stopped because 1) no huge results, 2) dermatologist only gave me samples

At night, Tretinoin cream .05% (Retin-A)

- Sunblock: Scarzone. Although I'm not it's done much for me, I feel safer with at least some SPF (15). I will buy higher SPF once I run out of this

- Moisturizer: Aveeno Clear Complexion. I mix this with the sunblock. I put spots on my face and rub both at the same time.

(I just started using TriDerma Facial Redness Repair lotion - like it already)

Additional stuff:

- I drink 2-3 cups of green tea plus any other tea. I cannot go without tea now.

- Water.