Photo

Solutions To Adult Acne? Alternatives To Accutane? B5 & L-Carnitine? Light Therapy?

vitamin b vitamin b5 zinc

6 replies to this topic

#1 John457

John457

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 20 December 2012 - 05:27 PM

So here's my situation: I'm 24, out in the professional world, and having adult acne is nothing short of a nightmare. I have very sensitive skin, which often appears red and inflamed at the onset of any blemish. I get painful cystic bumps and my skin always looks and feels very oily and greasy.

I have been researching and considering Accutane for the past 6 months but presently deal with dry eyes - made drier from LASIK surgery one year ago - and so I have been hesitant to proceed.

In the meantime I have been considering similar but realistic solutions. Right now I'm currently on 115 mg of Solodyn, which helps with the cystic acne but by no means has been a cure. Along with that, I take Nicomide (an expensive prescription Vitamin B and Zinc supplement), which, so far in the course of a month, seems to have only provided minimal relief.

Finally, I've recently begun taking Pantethine (the active ingredient in Vitamin B5) (450 mg, twice daily) but my skin is still very oily. I've read about L-Carnitine and how it's suppose to enhance the effects of Pantethine and so I am considering that as well.

This is all very frustrating, very overwhelming, and I just want a solution - not researching and experimenting well into my late 20s. Anyway can anyone provide any insight? Has anything helped? Has anyone ever considered realistic alternatives to Accutane that have worked? Any help would be well appreciated.

I am a 24 year old male.

Edited by John457, 20 December 2012 - 05:29 PM.

Current Skincare Regimen

MORNING

Green Tea Cleanser from Dermatologist

CeraVe Facial Moisturizing Lotion

Murad Acne Treatment Concealer (Light) 

NIGHT

OTHER

Monthly Chemical Peels (Salicylic and Glycolic Based)

Current Supplements: Zinc, Vitamin D3.