Jump to content

Photo

New Topic Hover Preview Feature


This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic

#1 real maverick

real maverick

    Senior Member

  • Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Posts: 3,097
    Gallery Images: 9
    Blog Entries: 3
    Likes: 168
About Me
  • Joined: 30-March 05

Achievements

     

Posted 08 August 2012 - 07:41 AM

As some of you will know, it was possible to preview a topic by clicking the little down arrow that appeared when you hovered over a topic but the rest of you will have no idea what I'm talking about. That's because it wasn't entirely obvious or intuitive.

Being able to preview a topic, is a really useful feature that we didn't want you guys to miss, so we've implemented a better solution that you've most probably seen elsewhere. Topic hover preview, what this means is, you simply hover over the title of a thread and you'll be given a preview of the post.

It saves a lot of time clicking threads, only to find they're of no interest and having to click the back button. Now you can simply browse down the forum and checkout threads in seconds.

acne2.png

Feedback more than welcome.

Enjoy,

Paul

#2 ClearDreaming

ClearDreaming

    Member

  • Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Posts: 364
    Likes: 49
About Me
  • Joined: 11-March 12

Posted 08 August 2012 - 10:12 AM

This is an awesome idea. Nice one!

#3 AKL

AKL

    Retired Mod

  • Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Posts: 5,300
    Likes: 1,237
About Me
  • Joined: 01-July 08

Posted 08 August 2012 - 05:07 PM

Thanks, Paul! Nice feature! For me, the window could be a bit bigger, so there's room for more text, but that's nitpicking.

#4 real maverick

real maverick

    Senior Member

  • Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Posts: 3,097
    Gallery Images: 9
    Blog Entries: 3
    Likes: 168
About Me
  • Joined: 30-March 05

Achievements

     

Posted 08 August 2012 - 06:43 PM

Thanks guys. AKL, I'll see what I can do! :)

#5 Seva

Seva

    Acne.org developer

  • Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Posts: 29
    Gallery Images: 1
    Blog Entries: 1
    Likes: 11
About Me
  • Joined: 01-September 11

Achievements

     

Posted 09 August 2012 - 03:35 PM

Paul, is it possible to use both types previews?
It looks like the old "drop-down" version is not available anymore:

Screen shot 2012-08-09 at 2.35.44 PM.png

#6 real maverick

real maverick

    Senior Member

  • Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Posts: 3,097
    Gallery Images: 9
    Blog Entries: 3
    Likes: 168
About Me
  • Joined: 30-March 05

Achievements

     

Posted 13 August 2012 - 11:38 AM

Hi Seva, the old method is currently disabled. I personally don't think we need 2 functions for the same purpose. But it's something we can certainly discuss if I'm in the minority.

#7 AKL

AKL

    Retired Mod

  • Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Posts: 5,300
    Likes: 1,237
About Me
  • Joined: 01-July 08

Posted 13 August 2012 - 05:37 PM

If one method works, you don't need two, imo. Though from the pic Seva posted, it looks as if there's more room for text. And Paul/Seva, can we have this feature on the homepage as well? "Recent topics" section, and the last updated topics for all the forums?

#8 AKL

AKL

    Retired Mod

  • Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Posts: 5,300
    Likes: 1,237
About Me
  • Joined: 01-July 08

Posted 08 May 2013 - 05:21 PM

Is it just me or doesn't it work anymore?



#9 AyeAye

AyeAye

    Veteran Member

  • Moderators
  • Posts & Likes
    Posts: 1,690
    Gallery Images: 30
    Likes: 633
About Me
  • Joined: 08-September 11

Achievements

     

Posted 09 May 2013 - 02:27 AM

It's not working.



#10 real maverick

real maverick

    Senior Member

  • Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Posts: 3,097
    Gallery Images: 9
    Blog Entries: 3
    Likes: 168
About Me
  • Joined: 30-March 05

Achievements

     

Posted 09 May 2013 - 06:12 AM

It was actually a modification made for invision power board, but the author didn't keep it up to date and it doesn't work with the latest version of the message board software.

 

We have to keep the software up to date to keep it secure. I'll see if we can find an alternative. 



This is pretty much fixed, but there are still a few issues with it. Lets see how it goes. :)