Photo

Desperate For Help

cystic acne diet health vitamin a gluten red mark depression

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic

#1 bpeyton3

bpeyton3

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 06 August 2012 - 05:44 PM

Hi everyone!

So I've been lurking acne.org for about two years now and this is my first time posting. I'm very desperate to find a solution to my chronic moderate cystic acne issue. Sorry this is so long but I really would love some advice!

Ok so here it goes:
I'm currently almost 20 years old and throughout my teenage years I suffered from a little bit of acne that healed very quickly and it started to get better as I got older. Never ever washed my face. But silly me before college decided I wanted to have "perfect skin" so I went to a dermatologist and got some type of retinoid cream (I can't remember but I think it may have been tazorac?). Anywho, that completely destroyed my skin and left me with red marks, dry/peeling skin, red face, and worsened acne no matter how little I applied.

*Also note that I have extremely sensitive skin and have dealt with moderate allergies and digestive issues all my life. I also went through a few years of anorexia.

So of course I continued to go back trying different creams like Differin, Proactiv, etc... and yes I did use them for about 12 weeks each. And then I probably made the worst mistake of my life by going on antibiotics for several months, which did nothing if not made it worse. I also went on birth control for 3-4 months but couldn't handle the side effects. After I learned about this site, I discovered that I didn't have to destroy my face and that I could find a natural approach but man have I had a difficult time!