Photo

What Are The Alternatives To Doxycycline?

6 replies to this topic

#1 andrjor

andrjor

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 21 July 2012 - 02:02 PM

hello, i have been using doxycycline for over 3 months now, but it doesnt seem like working very well.

What are my alternatives? are there other antibitotics i can change to? If i do change antibiotics, do i have to wait about 2-3 months before i can see some change or will it maybe work very soon since i have already been on antibiotics for 3 months ++.?

#2 Murph89

Murph89

Veteran Member

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me
  • Interests:Music, MMA, photography, fishing.

Achievements

Posted 21 July 2012 - 02:08 PM

How many mgs of doxy are you on? And what form?

#3 Green Gables

Green Gables

RETIRED

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 21 July 2012 - 02:27 PM

hello, i have been using doxycycline for over 3 months now, but it doesnt seem like working very well.

What are my alternatives? are there other antibitotics i can change to? If i do change antibiotics, do i have to wait about 2-3 months before i can see some change or will it maybe work very soon since i have already been on antibiotics for 3 months ++.?

There are many alternatives....Clindamyacin (topical and oral), Tetracycline, Z-Pac, Amoxycillin, Cephalexil, Minocycline. I have actually been on all of those. Never saw any long-term results, but the ones that cleared me the fastest were Z-Pac (don't remember dose) and Tetracycline (500mg)

#4 andrjor

andrjor

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 21 July 2012 - 02:44 PM

I am on 200mg/day, i am taking tablets if that is what you meant :) I think this is the highest dose, at least that what the doctor said.