Photo

What Are The Alternatives To Doxycycline?

6 replies to this topic

#1 andrjor

andrjor

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 21 July 2012 - 02:02 PM

hello, i have been using doxycycline for over 3 months now, but it doesnt seem like working very well.

What are my alternatives? are there other antibitotics i can change to? If i do change antibiotics, do i have to wait about 2-3 months before i can see some change or will it maybe work very soon since i have already been on antibiotics for 3 months ++.?

#2 Murph89

Murph89

Veteran Member

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me
  • Interests:Music, MMA, photography, fishing.

Achievements

Posted 21 July 2012 - 02:08 PM

How many mgs of doxy are you on? And what form?

#3 Green Gables

Green Gables

RETIRED

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 21 July 2012 - 02:27 PM

hello, i have been using doxycycline for over 3 months now, but it doesnt seem like working very well.

What are my alternatives? are there other antibitotics i can change to? If i do change antibiotics, do i have to wait about 2-3 months before i can see some change or will it maybe work very soon since i have already been on antibiotics for 3 months ++.?

There are many alternatives....Clindamyacin (topical and oral), Tetracycline, Z-Pac, Amoxycillin, Cephalexil, Minocycline. I have actually been on all of those. Never saw any long-term results, but the ones that cleared me the fastest were Z-Pac (don't remember dose) and Tetracycline (500mg)

photo-152109.gif?_r=1345837784?__rand=0.

I don't get notified of your response to my post unless you QUOTE my post.

Please only quote a small portion of the post so it doesn't clutter up the thread. 

How to Treat Hormonal Acne

Good and Bad Birth Control Pills and Implants for Acne

How to take Spironolactone

List of Doctors Who Prescribe Spironolactone

Topicals for Hormonal Acne

HOW I STAY 100% CLEAR:

Spironolactone (anti-androgen drug)

Betaine HCL with each meal