Photo

New, And Slightly Worried, Young Roaccutane Patient

accutane teen girl mild acne hormonal probiotic

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
18 replies to this topic

#1 kirra98

kirra98

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 07 July 2012 - 04:40 AM

Hi everyone,

I am new to this message board so I shall tell you a little about myself. I'm a 14 year old girl that has had mild, inflamed and persistent acne. My skin easily scars, despite whether I pick at it or not, and is very oily. I believe my acne is due to hormonal issues, I'm dairy free most of the time and that has seemed to control it a little over the years. I have had acne since I was 11, started off on my chin, fled to my forehead and now I get it on my cheeks.

I recently started going to the dermatologist, I only started going to them around 6 months ago as my mum was very anti-drugs but she finally decided to support me recently, before that I tried to control my skin using natural methods etc. I have been on doxycycline and epiduo and minocycline and epiduo. The minocycline worked best for me but it only cleared up my blackheads and I still had lots of active pimples. Epiduo was never good for me, if I overdid it just a little it would leave me red and raw faced and I would have white circles around my eyes due to how red my skin was.

Until recently, I was prescribed roaccutane. I am on a 20mg, 3 times a week dose for 2 months and maybe he'll make it more often. I have high hopes for this drug. Many people I know have used it and achieved great results. I'm not worried about the blood test at all. I'm also planning on taking a probiotic regularly. I'm worried because I think going on Roaccutane will make my acne worse because it wasn't that bad to start with (loads worse than normal people), I'm just thinking it will have a reverse effect.