Photo

Desperate For Help, If Anyone Has Any Other Suggestions For Me I'd Appreciate It

vitamin a zinc

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic

#1 Obii

Obii

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 01 April 2012 - 06:36 PM

Hey everyone,

Basically, the title says it all. I have an extremely long and sad story with acne, but most importantly the asinine amount of oil my face produces. I'll keep this as short as possible for attention span purposes. Basically, I'm a 23 year old male, and ever since I hit puberty I have had massive amounts of oil on my skin within 15 minutes of getting out of the shower, sometimes even in less time than that. People constantly ask why I'm sweating, and it absolutely tears my self-confidence to shreds. I have been attempting to remedy this since I was 17 years old, and I have been on literally every single treatment in the book. Doxycycline (did not work for acne or oil) , Minocycline (worked for acne but not oil), Duac, Proactiv, many Clearasil products, Neutrogena regimens, the ance.org regimen (I've lurked these forums for awhile), jojoba oil, and antibiotic creams, and until recently, putting urine on my face twice a day for 30 minutes. Finally, about a year ago, I decided to bite the bullet and take Accutane, and I was partly encouraged by the multitude of success stories I read on these forums. It was heaven for a good 5 weeks or so - I was not producing as much oil (still was producing some), my skin looked great, and I had tons of confidence and didn't have to fight with the mirror every morning. Unfortunately, it caused my brain to start swelling and I had to stop - It gave me post-concussion syndrome that lasted for a good 8 or 9 months and that I still occasionally feel the after-effects of. It was torture. After that, I tried Differin and Tazorac (both retinoid topicals), but both of them made me itchy to the point where I had a huge rash on my face afte