Photo

My Epiduo + Lymecycline Log

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
53 replies to this topic

#1 gecko333

gecko333

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
    Gallery Images: 3
About Me

Achievements

Posted 04 November 2011 - 07:23 AM

Long story short, after a year of keeping me somewhat clear, the acne.org regimen has stopped working for me, my skin got so bad, back to the doctors I went who referred me to a dermatologist who's put me on a new regimen:

Morning
Wash with Simple Moisturising Foam Cleanser
Take 400mg Lymecycline (Tetralysal) Oral Antibiotic
Aquamol Moisturiser for occasional use on extremely dry patches

Evening
Wash with Simple Moisturising Foam Cleanser
Epiduo (2.5% BP + 0.1% Adapalene (Differin))

I've never tried a retinoid before, so we'll see how it goes. I'm back in three months for a review. My goal? I leave to work in Paris in 6 weeks, I'd love to have 'somewhat' clear skin by then....

Day 4

Skin has stayed the same, as I expected, the Epiduo I find really isn't as drying as PanOxyl or Duac like I've used before, I've only had to use a moisturiser once on an area about as big as a 5 pence piece. One thing I am noticing though is my face is now Itchy, not when I apply it, but in the afternoon/evening a good 18 hours after I first applied it. Also my current spots are 'crusting/peeling' around the edge of them which is odd, never had that before.

As for the antibiotics, keep getting niggly little headaches, but I can live with them.

Oh, also,my skin feels SO soft! On my clear areas (nose, chin, upper cheeks) my skin has never felt so soft, hard to believe I'm not even using a moisturiser.

I'm fully expecting an initial worsening in kick in anytime between day 14-21, I just hope it's not too bad.

Posted Image

#2 gecko333

gecko333

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Achievements

Posted 07 November 2011 - 11:43 AM

Day 7.