acne whiteheads allergic adult acne whitehead

4 replies to this topic

#1 Amberama

Amberama

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 15 October 2011 - 01:13 PM

Hi all! This is my first time posting any of my acne concerns to the wide world of the internet, but after losing hope in dermatologists and estheticians, I'm hoping to garner some practical advice from people that actually are going through what I'm going through.

I'm 26 years old, and my first bout with acne was a mild case when I was 14 years old. After about a year of using a retinol creme, it disappeared and I had pretty flawless skin for the next 7-8 years or so. Occasionally, I would randomly get some patchiness/bumpiness that could usually be attributed to the weather changes, allergies, etc. All that time, my regimen was simple - cleanse (usually with Cetaphil) and moisturize.

About two years ago, I started to have some textural issues, especially on the sides of my face. Mainly just whitehead bumpiness, but with some patchy spots. This derm was a slightly over-the-top holistic doctor, and her first suspicion was that it was eczema and I just needed to change my diet. After some persistence, she finally decided to prescribe me a gel medicine called Solaraze, commonly prescribed to people with a certain kind of skin cancer (I know, I know, this sounds crazy), but was as she deemed it a "miracle medicine" for all sorts of skin ailments. I used that for about 3 months and got great results.

A year later, the same textural issues came back, this time more severely. Especially after I wash my face, if you rub your hand down the side of my face you'll feel no smoothness, just bumpiness. It's not horribly obvious in a lot of lights, but lately the bumps have been getting more pronounced and even a little itchy.