Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

0.025% Tretinoin Cream; need encouragement or harsh truth

24 posts in this topic

Hello,

At the beginning of October, I saw a dermatologist for the first time about my acne. I've been using the Dan Kern Regimen for more than 2 years, but wanted to go to the next level of clear. At that point I had at any given time probably one, infrequently two, pimples that I wished would disappear. Not that I didn't have more that could be seen at a reasonable distance, but I mean ones that I felt really detracted from my appearance (and sense of self-worth).

I was prescribed 75 mg minocycline, to take twice daily, and .025% tretinoin. The mino was for my back, which is now as clear as it was before it became a problem out of nowhere ~6 months ago (for a year i was dating a girl and had no bacne whatsoever, either as a coincidence or because i was probably less stressed out and had 'happier' hormones in me than i do now as a 23 year old single working guy).

After a week or so of struggle and indecision about giving up BP, on October 11th I decided to stick to a strict tretinoin regime (which i should have done in the first place anyway, after all I paid a doctor right?) . I currently wash morning and night with Basis soap, in the morning I moisturize with AHA SPF-15 Neutrogena Healthy Skin face lotion, and in the evening I apply a pea-and-a-half sized amount of tret. Careful as always, just like with BP, though it's a little different as this is a cream instead of a gel.