Photo

Immune Response

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
46 replies to this topic

#1 sim

sim

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 28 April 2008 - 02:38 PM

Hi people.

this has been bothering me for a while. i have a degree in microbiology but i still don't understand why this happens. when bacteria such as p. acne grows in a blocked follicle it causes a spot.

the bodies immune system will quickly detect these microbes and begin to attacked using white cells on many types (mainly macrophages) this causes inflamtion dues to chemicles released by the white cells. as time goes by puss occurs signalling death of the bacteria then healing and repair phase.

once we have been exposed once shouldn't our immune system destroy any p .acnes in the follicle before a spot forms? this would be true for any microbe that invades our body. antibodies would still linger in the body, macrophages would be more effective against the bacteria and memory cells would be made. so why are we still prone to them?

Edited by SweetJade1980, 04 May 2008 - 09:10 PM.
Added topic description

#2 bug

bug

• Veteran Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 29 April 2008 - 11:46 AM

you're the microbio major, so you'd know better than me. but all i can think is that either 1. cuz the follicle is blocked in the 1st place, so all that dead crap buildz up or 2. (which maybe makes more sense) it's bacteria that invadez from the external environment (like touching your face or shaving). not like, creating Abs for something already in your blood. i'm probably way off...

#3 Shadeonyx

Shadeonyx

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 02 May 2008 - 03:49 PM