retin-a initial breakout dryness flaking purging red

3 replies to this topic

#1 ftw

ftw

• Members
  • Posts & Likes
About Me

Posted 03 February 2012 - 12:41 AM

Hi all. I've been reading this forum forever (thank god we have internet), but never the chance to post.

Male
23 years
Struggled with acne for 7 years

## Issues

Dry skin with severe whitemarks/ clogged pores filled with sebum.
Moderate acne to go along with it.
Appairs mostly on my cheeks and forehead.
Cysts on jawline.
Summer is bad. Winter is hell

## My past

Finacea Gel (Azelaic Acid)
Tetracycline (Anti biotic)
Oxytetracycline (Anti biotic)
Dalacin (Clindamycin)
Dan's Regimen

## What helps?

- A good cleanser
- Lie down for a nap whenever I feel face is starting to become aggrivated.
- Lots of sleep. 9+ hours everyday.
- Staying away from achohol. It dehydrates my skin to shit which leads to major breakout.

- Tan. Yes, TAN, and lots of it. I've been tanning atleast 2 times a week for about 5-6 years now. I know it damages the skin a whole lot, which is not good. However, in my case it keeps my face under control. I know what you are thinking, maybe this is the reasoning behind my acne? I put this to the test by not tanning for 6 months, and guess what. Major trainwreck. What do you guys think?

## Retin-A?

Doctor gave me Retin-A and I've been on it for one week. Now, besides from not being able to tan, my face has broke out horribly. First couple of days were okay, besides from the insane dryness and flaking. Now, one week later, I'm at the point where I am not leaving the house, period. My acne spots also seems a lot more red than it used to. Is this a good sign? Anyways, its depressing. It makes me want to close my eyes and never wake up again. Know the feeling?

## >