Page 4 of Accutane (isotretinoin) reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Accutane (isotretinoin)
3.9/5 - 2061 reviews
5 star
803 reviews
4 star
696 reviews
3 star
290 reviews
2 star
145 reviews
1 star
127 reviews

Brand: Accutane

Write Your Review

Accutane (isotretinoin)


Active Ingredients:
Isotretinoin in 10-mg, 20-mg and 40-mg soft gelatin capsules.

Inactive Ingredients:
Beeswax, butylated hydroxyanisole, edetate disodium, hydrogenated Soybean oil">soybean oil flakes, hydrogenated vegetable oil, and Soybean oil">soybean oil. Gelatin capsules contain glycerin and parabens (methyl and propyl), with the following dye systems: 10 mg - iron oxide (red) and titanium dioxide; 20 mg - FD&C Red No. 3, FD&C Blue No. 1, and titanium dioxide; 40 mg - FD&C Yellow No. 6, D&C Yellow No. 10, and titanium dioxide.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Accutane (isotretinoin)

Where to buy is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Accutane (isotretinoin)

Did you find a problem with this item?

 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

The best there is
Reviewed on June 16, 2016

I went on Accutane about a year ago and I had moderate to severe acne before starting my treatment. I also had moderate acne on my back chest and shoulders. I took a generic isotretinoin capsule once a day of I think 400 mg (maybe I can't really remember) for 6 months. It was quite a pain to start, I'm female and my doctor required I take birth control during the entire course of treatment even though I was abstinent the entire time. I had to get a hormone implant called nexplanon a month before I could start the treatment and since I might have to have my wisdom teeth out while I was taking it I had to do that too before I could start. But after all that it did work really well, my acne was completely gone by the time I finished the 6 months. My skin was very dry and I did have a few side effects, I had dry skin, nose and eyes for almost the entire 6 months plus a few months after I stopped taking it. I did not have any severe side effects and had no complications.

Now almost a year after taking the drug, I still get pimples occationally but it's very mild, I still have some minimal scarring from before I took the drug but to my knowledge it was not supposed to fix that at all just prevent any further scarring. The acne on my shoulders, chest and back is completely gone and has not come back at all.

I would recommend this drug, even though it was a bit of a hassle to start and had some scary possible side effects, my acne is almost completely gone and I'm very happy with my skin. I wish you luck if you have acne!

by dou on 06/27/2016 13:18
I'm so scared to be acne is not severe but few pimples.i want To try for month if I see I can't handle it I will stop the medicine I will opt for so the moment I haven't got spots,I used an acid months ago on my skin which I had to stop because it had made my face burnt So I give a go and see. But when did u notice an improvement in your face?
Trip to Hell
Reviewed on June 15, 2016

I was so excited to try this after 30 years with acne. I've never had any side effect to any medication and never been on antidepressants or had mental health issues. From the reviews I read I got the impression most people were fine on it, that the main problem was that it might not work, and that a few people who had bad effects had caused it to be prescribed more carefully than was maybe helpful for acne sufferers. I was started on only 20mg and told that would be put up to 40 and 60. By about day 2 I noticed my thoughts were harder to stop than normal, eg I would find it hard to switch off at night, and I woke up from vivid dreams (thoughts still persistently going on in the background) and found it hard to get back to sleep. I had read about this from other reviews who just persisted with treatment so thought that was to be expected and carried on. After about a week I had hardly any dryness on that dose but could tell that my skin was becoming less acne prone - it just felt un-itchy and after suffering from acne for as long as I have I can generally feel when my skin is in a state where I'm liable to break out or not, and the isotretinoin was obviously doing its job, but I kept bursting into tears. By day 9, my skin was clear, but I was in hell. I could only see the bad things about my life, which were blown out of all proportion to a psychotic degree, I was constantly crying, there was no hope, I didn't see anything positive in life or feel the same about my family, and the back of my brain felt like it was coated with tar. I was missing sleep and had lost my appetite. The thought of raising the dose even higher and being on it for months more was unthinkable. There seemed to be no guarantees that this mental change would not be permanent to some degree (I could find studies that showed depression and brain changes after taking it, but none that showed the depression and brain changes as having then gone away after say a few months of stopping treatment, which I would have expected the drug companies might do if it was possible) and the two people I know who have taken accutane don't get spots but are miserable - one is constantly having headaches and is just generally unhealthy and the other is depressed. So I stopped and thankfully the stuff is out of my system (6 weeks ago). I guess we're all different and you can't tell what your response will be.

Reviewed on June 13, 2016

I hope my review will be helpful to anyone.

So I have been on 30 mg per day dose, which is the minimal dose for my weight, I am 58 kg, it makes about 0.5mg/kg.

I have stubborn acne on my jaw that would never leave no matter what I tried.

I have been on isotretinoin for 1 months- I have lots of break outs, since the begining of treatment, the whole month, it is very depressing.

I am trying to stay positive and patient, but I didnt have a break from increased zits since I started the drug.

If it is an IB, how long does it usually lasts?

by S33kingS0lution on 06/22/2016 06:08
My lasted 3months. Worst initial breakout. Worse than my acne before i started.
Does what it promise
Reviewed on April 30, 2016

I took it mainly for scarring though my facial acne was a little worse than mild-moderate with monthly cysts*can't really call mild when having cysts).Acne on back was extensive but again,no bad lesions.Just the average pustules and papules.Has been on accutane for over two months and seeing less acne as time goes by.My back is almost clear and my face and arms get little weekly zits.But the truth is the skin peeling due to the excessive drying made my scars worse.

Giving it a 4 stars now and will give it 5 once I get clear and continue to be that way.

Reviewed on June 8, 2016

Took it for 6months left with indented scarrings. I never get scars before accutane no matter how big my zit was wether i pop it or not, it never left a scar. But every pimple i got during my course left dents. I don't know if i'm gonna keep getting them but accutane is my biggest regret. I should've tried other options. If you're planning to go on accutane, pls don't risk it. You may or may not get the results you want. You can't be sure. I'm having a lot of gas and constipation as well.

by TinaSI on 07/15/2016 18:53
Have you been picking on your skin while on the drug? If you do ANYTHING to your face it will likely leave a scar.
Worked For Me!
Reviewed on June 2, 2016

There is a higher ratio of people leaving negative reviews on accutane than positive reviews because many people who reaped the benefits don't come back to write " it worked for me" , but here I am to say " IT WORKED".

My dermatologist had been encouraging me to take accutane for years now but I was scared from reading all the negative reviews ,so I resorted to natural methods ( which did not work to the magnitude I desired). After finally giving up, I gave it a shot and luckily for me I experienced the common side-effects which go away after discontinuing the drug.

I was 19 years old when I took the drug, female, 5'4, weighed around 120 ( for the people who care about stats). Did not take birth control because I didn't want any extra drugs circulating my system especially when accutane is a strong drug on its own. Avoiding pregnancy was not an issue for me so my doctor was lenient about this. I took Accutane - 30 mg for the first two month. Epuris- 40 mg for the other 4 months. I started in May 2015 and ended in November 2015.

The type of acne I had was related to unbalanced hormones, stress, poor diet- all factors which I had a hard time fixing due to being a full time university student. Stress and poor diet was unavoidable in my case no matter how hard I tried. Problematic areas for me were my cheeks and sometimes forehead, it was not flaming red acne all over my face. I was still able to cover it up with makeup but vanity was not my reason to take it. It was very painful, I would get cysts on my cheeks and back ( had been suffering from bacne for 6 years now).

During the first month, I felt the common side effects of dry lips, dry skin, aching back. The most problematic side effect for me was the back aches and the knees cracking so I asked my doctor to switch me to another brand Epuris which alleviated some of the back pain.

For the remainder of the treatment, the dryness was my pressing issue. No matter how much lip balm I used , they always felt chapped and dry. My skin was very dry so I constantly moisturized with Ponds. I also had a very dry scalp causing me to have dandruff but that quickly went away when I started using mustard oil before shampooing almost 3 times a week. The mustard oil REALLY HELPED keep the scalp dryness at bay. Most days I wouldnt have aches but few days I would experience bach aches. I was also very keen on applying sunscreen twice a day, your skin becomes very sensitive.

In terms of grooming, I stopped waxing my face, eyebrows, stopped laser and electrolysis treatments for a year total. Threading was the best way to go. If you opt for this, please let your person know so they can be slow and careful with your skin.

My acne started disappearing right away when I started taking away with a flare up during the 4 month. It wasn't a severe flare up , a few pimple on the lower right side of my cheek but at that point it felt like alot because I had gotten used to my new skin. The flare up cleared in a week and a half. Ever since I have been clear and only get a few small pimples here and there, those are usually related to poor skin care, like leaving my makeup on overnight.

After discontinuing the treatment, my dryness subsided in about 2 months. 2 months post-accutane my lips were back to normal. My skin and scalp were not too dry but wasn't oily either, I'd like to say normal. The back aches still occurred after stopping the treatments but completely stopped after about 6 months. I am clear and pain-free now.

For me it worked really well with side effects that were tolerable and went away after stopping the treatment. I would do it again if I had to ( hopefully I don't have to). If you are able to stick through the side effects, then it will be worth it. At the same time, I want everyone to understand your body chemistry will be different than mine so the severity and types of side effects may be different. I had a positive experience which is why I wanted to share mine with you accutane hopefuls out there. Good luck !

Don't risk it
Reviewed on May 2, 2016

I was on accutane 10mg for 3 weeks. (I'm female, 5'3 and around 126 pounds) Then got moved up to 20mg which I have been taking for a month. My dermatologist appointment is tomorrow,and I'm telling her I'm not taking this medication anymore.

I know this is a very low dose to be on, but my side effects show just how harsh this drug is. I have SEVERE abdominal pain 3-4 times a day with back pain and nausea. I'm so worried, I have no idea what it is but I've never ever had stomach problems before and it's a coincidence how this comes up when I get on accutane..

I have researched this side effect and it's supposedly rare,which doesn't make me feel any better. No amount of clear skin is worth the pain I'm in at the moment. It's a shame because my skin was starting to look like it was improving, but I can't spend every morning dreading the day ahead of me knowing I'll be in agonising pain.

I know what it's like to read the bad reviews on accutane and just think of the clear skin you'll have so you use the whole "it won't happen to me" but honestly, if I could go back a couple of months and someone told me this is what was going to happen, no way would I of taken it. I know accutane has helped so many people clear their skin but many of those same people get health issues years and years later.

This drug should be banned, I wish I never considered it.

Update: I told my dermatologist and she didn't seem shocked at all. She suggested moving me back down to 10mg but didn't seem concerned about the worrying side effects I'm having. I've stopped the medication and I'm going to my family doctor to hopefully get some tests done to put my mind at ease, or potentially find out what's gone wrong. Biggest regret of my life.

Last update: I've had 3 doctors and 2 surgeons examine my stomach. I've had blood tests, and even an ultrasound, but nothing is showing up. I've been off of accutane for almost a month and the pain is still awful. My dermatologist still insists it was not the drug that caused this, but doctors think otherwise. My digestive system has also been effected horribly by this drug, as well as the back pain and nausea continuing..

by danluna97 on 05/31/2016 01:17
I ended up with the same fate. Went to Doctors over and over again in till i got a endoscopy done. I would recommend getting one. Got on antacids back in 2011 and to this day I still have to take them sometimes. Still experience stomach pain sometimes. I know this dosent happened to everyone but I would just be careful you can potentially ruin your stomach. Worst decision I ever made in my life.
by M1997 on 06/26/2016 20:53
I hadn't seen anyone else on here experiencing the same side effect so I assumed I was a very rare case, it was honestly the most pain I've ever been in in my life,and that's on one of the lowest doses! My digestive system seems to have improved but I'm the same where I still get stomach pains and bad back pain every now and again, and I've been off of the drug for almost 2 months. It has helped so many people but in my opinion it's just not worth it, I've been eating dairy free since coming off of accutane and my skin has cleared up like 90% already, I'd recommend giving that a try to anyone before considering going on accutane!!
by dou on 06/27/2016 13:27
How's ur acne after a month?
by hatetane on 07/03/2016 10:28
Very common story. thanks for sharing.
by M1997 on 08/11/2016 10:26
Hi Dou, My acne has prettymuch gone now all I'm dealing with is scarring and the odd spot every now and then (I'm still in my teens). I really recommend everyone to try switching to "LUSH" skincare (or other natural products) and eliminating dairy from their diet for a few months to see if it makes a difference to their skin, the combination of the two has made my skin the best it's been in years. I think people under estimate how bad dairy is for us, the hormones and pus in milk is going to break us out because it's meant for baby cows not the human body!! Just remember to check the ingredients on EVERYTHING because milk can even be found in some brands of crisps ect. Good luck:)
Accutane has changed my life- for the better! <3
Reviewed on May 18, 2016

Well where can I start? I had acne since I was about 14 and it lasted me all through high school (fun). I am now 20. I was so embarrassed because it was getting so bad it got to the point where I started getting some cystic pimples!. Finally, I visited my dermatologist in 2014, who helped clear my acne with topicals but the acne returned, and she immediately suggested Accutane because she knew how long I struggled and how much the antibiotics and topicals weren't working. All I can say is that 6 months on Accutane was soo worth it because my skin was soooooo clear I got so many compliments and people were asking me what I been using!. I could eat what I wanted and not worry about getting terrible pimples. I did have to stop after one month because my liver couldn't take the drug I guess it was too strong at first, but after going on a healthy high-fat diet of eating salmon, avocado, etc. My liver was fine and I got back on Accutane. Also, I did notice my hair was falling out a lot more and got thinner :( but having clear skin is totally worth it Lol. These were the only bad side effects I experienced tbh. 2 years later and my skin is stillll clear and going strong! I am so happy! I have this confidence now that I never had before tbh. I realized that I shouldn't care what people think even if my acne does return. Now I only get like tiny pimples once a month if I eat too unhealthy or because of my period, which I don't mind. If you are scared of going on Accutane and are reading through reviews and watching videos before you take the plunge please take my advice and go for it!! I survived and so will you!. You have nothing to lose even if it does not work for you. THANK YOU ACCUTANE, I LOVE YOU! <3 LOL

Btw, I was on 40mg once a day for 6 months

Very strong drug, but does the job!!!
Reviewed on May 18, 2016

I have just finished my first month on accutane. The symptoms I have had include: fatigue (like seriously exhausted ALL the time!!), some nausea, a little grouchy (due to fatigue I think), dry lips, dry nose, dry skin, random rashes that pop up and go away overnight after moisturising, sensitivity to the sun, dry scalp, little head aches here and there, a bit of an achy body and if I don't drink enough water my chest hurts due to dehydration. But all of these effects are so small. I travelled to London from Australia on this drug and got a blood nose, not sure if from the plane or the drug, probably the drug lol. But my skin is amazing!!!!!!!! I had an initial break out that was 2 giant pimples and after that my skin just got clearer and clearer. I've only been on the drug a month and I've gone from 30 pimples to 2. I still have redness and scarring but I am feeling positive in time they will go also. If you are unsure whether or not to go on this drug, just do it! I didn't want to take it because I was scared off from everyone's negativity towards it, but really the positives outweigh the negatives. It is a very strong drug-yes, but you are only on it for 3-6 months and then you are free from acne!! 3-6 months of dry skin and feeling weird with an end result of clear skin is much better then never ending depression because of acne. Take the risk, take accutane, but listen to your body, if the drug is too strong for you-stop. but give it a go I'm telling you it works! xxxxxxxxxxxxx

Accutane two months in
Reviewed on May 15, 2016

Hi, I've just started on Accutane in April I started my first month on 20mg and now I've got up too 40mg not really seen much of a difference if anything my skin has more spots and bumps under my skin :( and I'm suffering from dry lips and inside of my nose is dry too. I hope I see an improvement in my skin after these 6 months and the spots that have came out now will they stay till the end because I can't take any more bumps on my skin? I've been using clinque anti blemish moisturiser it's brill for the dry patches and cetaphil cleanser as its gentle on my face and so my skin doesn't flake too much and blistex for my lips it really does help.. If there is anymore tips to help me along this Accutane journey please let me know. And another question I take my tablets at ten clock every night but sometimes I'm ten or 15 minutes late taking them but I read you have to take them on time will it affect my treatment if I'm late by 15 minutes. Many thanks Melissa