Hibiclens Antimicrobial and Antiseptic Skin Cleanser reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Hibiclens Antimicrobial and Antiseptic Skin Cleanser
4.3/5 - 48 reviews
5 star
28 reviews
4 star
13 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
3 reviews

Brand: Hibiclens

Write Your Review

Hibiclens Antimicrobial and Antiseptic Skin Cleanser

Ingredients


Active Ingredients:
Chlorhexidine Gluconate Solution (4%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Fragrance, Isopropyl Alcohol (4% W/V), Purified Water, Red 40.

Other Ingredients:
Nonalkaline Base.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Hibiclens Antimicrobial and Antiseptic Skin Cleanser

Where to buy

Hibiclens 16oz Liquid Antimicrobial Antiseptic Skin Cleanser Has a Mild, Sudsing Base Adjusted to Ph 5.0 - 6.5 for Optimal Activity and Stability As Well As Compatibility with the Normal Ph of the Skin
updated: 07/01/2016 00:06 UTC
-

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Hibiclens Antimicrobial and Antiseptic Skin Cleanser

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

wonderful!!
Reviewed on May 25, 2016

After 10 years of dealing with breakouts I finally found a product that ended it all. Been using twice daily for 4 months. Skin hasnt broken out once. Cleared up clogging too. Wash first with regular cleanser then put a thin layer of hibiclens on face and let sit for a couple mins. Then rinse and go about my day. Changed my life.


by adinachku on 06/15/2016 14:40
can it be used as a face wash?
I've used hibiclens long-term with the regimen, happy with the results
Reviewed on May 25, 2016

I've been using this with Dan's regimen for about 7 years (applying for 2 minutes then using Dan's cleanser). The regimen alone didn't keep my skin clear (though it helped), but this addition largely does. It's never lessened in efficacy for me, and I've had no side effects.


This was a LIFE changer!
Reviewed on February 21, 2016

Knowing what a life changer this product turned to be for me, it breaks my heart to see cases where it didn't work for certain people. I have struggled with bad acne since I was a teenager. I'm now forty and up until recently I continued with my struggle. I noticed that I would always get really bad DEEP skin festering breakouts around my lips and chin a day or two after shaving. I got rid of all my razors and went to a rotating electric shaver. That made a big difference.

A little over a year ago, I was scheduled for a minor surgical procedure that required I wash my entire body with an iodine based antibacterial soap for the two days prior to my surgery. During this time I had some nasty deep skin zits along the back of my neck and on my back and shoulders. You know the kind. They feel like they are the size of golf balls and you're SURE they jump out for all to see like a beacons in the night. I immediately noticed that the inflammation drastically reduced about a day or two following my iodine baths. They continued to shrivel up during the next few days. This gave me the idea that this horrible acne problem just MIGHT be bacterial and something simple and topical might just help improve it a bit. I jumped on google and found out about how some people had been successfully using hibiclense. I immediately went out and bought some. I applied it on my face like a mask avoiding the softer skin tissue around my eye sockets and avoiding my lips. (It's also important to NOT get it into your ear canals or inside your nostrils). I would always apply it about three or four minutes before I jumped in the shower to let it sit on my face for a bit. As soon as I jumped in the shower, I immediately rinsed my face and any body areas I had treated with hibiclense and then proceed to shower as normal. You do this to avoid it running into the more sensetive areas or into your eyes and mouth while you shower. I used it every day for about 2 weeks noticing an immediate improvement. Now a year later I only apply it as needed (whenever I start to develop any sign of a breakout). This turns out to be maybe once or twice a week but usually as little as once every TWO weeks. I feel SO bad when I see younger people with bad acne. I want to tell them SO badly about what worked for me. I wish there was a way to tell them without offending. I SURE wish someone had told me about it before. I'm sure I could go back to using razors but I just never did. I would recommend that anything that exfoliates or abrades the skin be done BEFORE the hibiclense application to maximize results. Hibiclense has certainly shown residual effects for me. I got ride of ALL of my acne (body & face). The last hurdle I over came was a condition called chicken skin on my triceps and butt cheeks. The solution to this (called AmLactin lotion) I found just 2 weeks ago and it works like a charm. I can honestly finally say that I have the skin I have always wanted to have and envied everyone else for.


DO NOT TRY if you have severe acne!
Reviewed on May 22, 2015

I've had severe acne since I was 16 (I'm 28 now,) and I happened to read all of the great reviews on this site about using Hibiclens to wash my face with. Let me tell you, that is the worst mistake I ever made! I started using it in May 2014. Within 3 weeks my face broke out in these huge, puss-filled, boil-like pimples the size of nickels! Not only that, but it chased the bacteria away from my face and all over my arms, so for the first time in my life my arms were covered in acne. I stopped using it immediately and it took about 6 months for the boils to go away.

Here I am a year later, and I've just now gotten rid of the acne on my arms. I use a combination of Proactiv and Apricot Scrub (I mix it together in my palm,) and then scrub my face and arms with it. My face is way clearer now, and my arms are back to being acne-free.

If you have severe acne, please don't waste your time with this crap!


by OmniRoyal426 on 04/24/2016 17:41
Not a chance that Hibiclens "chased the bacteria away from your face to your arms", you obviously have the bacteria in your body. Hibiclens does not work that way. You sound like a political ad for Proactive.
Dye free
Reviewed on June 14, 2014

CVS/Pharmacy has there store brand cleanser with the same ingredients as hibiclens but without dye, and its a few bucks cheaper. Hope this helps.


Hibiclens ALWAYS delivers. THE BEST. :)
Reviewed on August 2, 2013

If you have mild acne, mainly little papules that like to have parties on your forehead, DEFINITELY TRY THIS.

I have used Hibiclens for years. I used it every once in a while as a young teen to battle occasional breakouts, but now that I'm 20 and breaking out I LIVE by it. My mild acne is primarily little pink/nude colored papules on my forehead/nose/cheeks. This dries them right up and makes my skin glow. I still haven't found out if this sudden breakout I'm experiencing this summer is bacterial/staph/simply clogged pores, but either way, this is GREAT.

Be warned: it dries your skin out. But for me, it's non-irritating. Except when it gets in your eye; be super careful about that.


member avatar
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on January 4, 2013

Not all products work for everyone. I have used many otc products, proactiv, and DKs regimen (3 years). Ive stopped using DKs regimen for five months and hopefully this pans out.


member avatar
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on September 19, 2012

I had very high hopes for Hibiclens, but after using it consistently for 2-3 weeks, it has managed to make my acne worse. I have cystic acne on my lower cheeks and it didn't improve it at all. But now I have break outs all over my forehead (previously clear), chin, upper cheeks, and neck.

You know those zits that pop up right at your lip line and hurt and look hideous for weeks? Hibiclens totally got rid of a budding zit I had there. In the future I won't use Hibiclens as an all-over facial cleanser, but if I get a zit on my lipline again I know exactly how to get rid of it: Hibiclens.


member avatar
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on August 28, 2012

I actually started using Hibiclens because I was in microbiology and learned about how bacteria is killed. Long story short.. I am almost 100% positive I did not have acne vulagaris living in my skin. Using an antimicrobial was the best answer for me. I never had acne and when I first got it I was using BareMinerals when I was 21. I had no idea about popping zits or anything and I was honestly very unhygenic..it was disturbing. I picked my skin A LOT and I just kept spreading the bacteria. Plus, I NEVER washed my makeup brushes..gross I know! It was awful! So, years later..I got better, cleaned my makeup brushes and was not messing with my face but I would still break out...It felt like it lived in my cheeks..

So, I was in microbiology and was like...hmm...wonder if this is Staph or some other type of bacteria.. looked this up and started to use it..within a week the nasty gross cystic acne was a thing of the past. It's been a good 4 months now and I use this on my cheeks and my problem areas..leave it on like 3 minutes and rinse. Viola! I also make sure I exfoliate with my clarasonic, chem peels, and some Vitamin A I got from the UK (.05 LOW) Love this stuff. I can't say enough good things about it because it has honestly been amazing and does exactly what it is intended to do..act as an antimicrobial and KILL!


by adinachku on 06/15/2016 14:39
Is it used as a face wash?
member avatar
This member joined prior to 2007 and is not clickable.
Reviewed on August 25, 2012

For me, it's been a miracle option to treat rosacea since I am allergic to Metogel and my skin is highly sensitive and reactive. Hibiclens doesn't irritate my skin and keeps inflamation down.