Hibiclens Antimicrobial and Antiseptic Skin Cleanser reviews

4.3/5 - 44 reviews
5 star
25 reviews
4 star
13 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
2 reviews

Brand: Hibiclens

Ingredients


Active Ingredients:
Chlorhexidine Gluconate Solution 4.0 %

Inactive Ingredients:
Fragrance, Isopropyl Alcohol (4% W/V), Purified Water, Red 40.

Other Ingredients:
Nonalkaline Base.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Where to buy

Hibiclens 16oz Liquid Antimicrobial Antiseptic Skin Cleanser Has a Mild, Sudsing Base Adjusted to Ph 5.0 - 6.5 for Optimal Activity and Stability As Well As Compatibility with the Normal Ph of the Skin
updated: 09/22/2014 14:49 UTC
$11.99

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go toward Acne.org maintenance.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Dye free
Reviewed on June 14, 2014

CVS/Pharmacy has there store brand cleanser with the same ingredients as hibiclens but without dye, and its a few bucks cheaper. Hope this helps.


Hibiclens ALWAYS delivers. THE BEST. :)
Reviewed on August 2, 2013

If you have mild acne, mainly little papules that like to have parties on your forehead, DEFINITELY TRY THIS.

I have used Hibiclens for years. I used it every once in a while as a young teen to battle occasional breakouts, but now that I'm 20 and breaking out I LIVE by it. My mild acne is primarily little pink/nude colored papules on my forehead/nose/cheeks. This dries them right up and makes my skin glow. I still haven't found out if this sudden breakout I'm experiencing this summer is bacterial/staph/simply clogged pores, but either way, this is GREAT.

Be warned: it dries your skin out. But for me, it's non-irritating. Except when it gets in your eye; be super careful about that.


member avatar
Reviewed on January 4, 2013

Not all products work for everyone. I have used many otc products, proactiv, and DKs regimen (3 years). Ive stopped using DKs regimen for five months and hopefully this pans out.


member avatar
Reviewed on September 19, 2012

I had very high hopes for Hibiclens, but after using it consistently for 2-3 weeks, it has managed to make my acne worse. I have cystic acne on my lower cheeks and it didn't improve it at all. But now I have break outs all over my forehead (previously clear), chin, upper cheeks, and neck.

You know those zits that pop up right at your lip line and hurt and look hideous for weeks? Hibiclens totally got rid of a budding zit I had there. In the future I won't use Hibiclens as an all-over facial cleanser, but if I get a zit on my lipline again I know exactly how to get rid of it: Hibiclens.


member avatar
Reviewed on August 28, 2012

I actually started using Hibiclens because I was in microbiology and learned about how bacteria is killed. Long story short.. I am almost 100% positive I did not have acne vulagaris living in my skin. Using an antimicrobial was the best answer for me. I never had acne and when I first got it I was using BareMinerals when I was 21. I had no idea about popping zits or anything and I was honestly very unhygenic..it was disturbing. I picked my skin A LOT and I just kept spreading the bacteria. Plus, I NEVER washed my makeup brushes..gross I know! It was awful! So, years later..I got better, cleaned my makeup brushes and was not messing with my face but I would still break out...It felt like it lived in my cheeks..

So, I was in microbiology and was like...hmm...wonder if this is Staph or some other type of bacteria.. looked this up and started to use it..within a week the nasty gross cystic acne was a thing of the past. It's been a good 4 months now and I use this on my cheeks and my problem areas..leave it on like 3 minutes and rinse. Viola! I also make sure I exfoliate with my clarasonic, chem peels, and some Vitamin A I got from the UK (.05 LOW) Love this stuff. I can't say enough good things about it because it has honestly been amazing and does exactly what it is intended to do..act as an antimicrobial and KILL!


member avatar
Reviewed on August 25, 2012

For me, it's been a miracle option to treat rosacea since I am allergic to Metogel and my skin is highly sensitive and reactive. Hibiclens doesn't irritate my skin and keeps inflamation down.


member avatar
Reviewed on February 5, 2012

I had sever cysts and acne it was hard to even go out of the house some weeks its was so bad. I been to 5 dermatologist and 2 endocrinologists for my sever cysts and acne. I have tried literally every product off the shelf and by prescription including prescription pills gels masks you name it and I have probably tried it. I have even done home remedies vitamin supplements dietary changes ex. Nothing worked!!!This is the only thing that has worked for me in my struggle with cysts and acne. I have never been clear for this long in my entire struggle with acne. This is a miracle for me I was so embarrassed to even walk out of the house. Now I have so much confidence I love my skin for the first time in many many years.


member avatar
Reviewed on January 18, 2012

I needed a quick fix for my sudden t-zone acne that sprouted up with the coming of winter. I went off my hormone meds for two weeks which was a stupid mistake. I started breaking out on my forehead, nose, and inner cheek area. The Hibiclens, when used twice a day, has cleared all of this up within 3 days. No joke! It is really powerful stuff as evidenced by the dry skin I am having to deal with now, but that will subside. I would recommend cleansing and leaving this on your face for up to 5 minutes. Rinse off thoroughly and leave it at that! I know it might be tempting to put on moisturizer right afterwards, but that will cause the cleanser to lose its effectiveness.

By the way, Walgreens has a generic product just like this with the same ingredients and is about 4 dollars cheaper.


member avatar
Reviewed on December 31, 2011

I started using this after my friend recommended it. I used it consistently for a few weeks. It stopped the break outs and gradually reduced the current break out appearance. It dries out your skin and makes it flaky so using a good moisturizer would be a good idea. In my opinion its too harsh to use on mild acne on a daily basis. If you are someone who has really severe or cystic acne this is a great product because it really does kill bacteria. Around finals my skin went from tolerable to unbearable over night. It was red and painful. After a couple days of using this it helped reduce it tremendously. If you have mild to moderate acne this would be to treat break outs on those bad days for sure as a go to wash. But if your acne is severe i recommend it for frequent use.