Epiduo Adapalene (.1%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Epiduo Adapalene (.1%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel
3.7/5 - 476 reviews
5 star
185 reviews
4 star
140 reviews
3 star
48 reviews
2 star
38 reviews
1 star
65 reviews

Brand: Epiduo

Write Your Review

Epiduo Adapalene (.1%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel

Ingredients


Active Ingredients:
Adapalene (0.1%), Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyltaurate copolymer, docusate sodium, edetate disodium, glycerin, isohexadecane, poloxamer 124, polysorbate 80, propylene glycol, purified water, and sorbitan oleate.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Epiduo Adapalene (.1%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Epiduo Adapalene (.1%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

So far, so good
Reviewed on June 7, 2016

I first started using Epiduo three and a half years ago, as part of a treatment prescribed by a dermatologist. At night I had to wash my face with Avene Cold Cream soap, then apply Epiduo or Differin (I had to alternate between them). I used Avene Clean AC moisturizer in the morning, after washing my face with the soap. He also prescribed me an antibiotic. That treatment took forever to work but eventually it did, and within four months (give or take) I had flawless skin.

However, after a couple of months I stopped going to the dermatologist because it was really far away and also because my skin was looking pretty good. Eventually I stopped taking the pills because I couldn't get them without a recipe and I stopped using Epiduo and stick to Differin because I thought it was the same. My acne gradually came back.

I've tried a lot of different things since then, including over the counter products such as Estee Lauder's Clear Difference and Avene's Triacneal, but none of them really worked for me. Only now, three years later, it occured to me that it was Epiduo the one doing the trick, and not Differin. So I decided to give it a try again. I started using it daily exactly two weeks ago (I also started taking the antibiotics) and it has completely cleared all my blackheads and those skin colored comedones that are so annoying. However I've been getting a lot of red, painful pimples. I'm not sure if that's my skin purging though, because I got my period recently and I've been also eating like sh*t.

Unfortunately it has made my skin really dry and itchy. The first couple of days it also burned for like an hour after I applied it, but not anymore. In my opinion, all of that is worth it as long as it works, you just have to use a really good moisturizer with SPF. Something else I noticed is that at least for me, it doesn't make pimples go away any faster. It is, however, supposed to prevent them.

It's still too early to say if it really works for me, but I will update this review in a couple of weeks! Wish me luck.

UPDATE 07/07/2016: I've been on Epiduo for a little over 6 weeks, and honestly my skin looks so good you wouldn't believe it! I still get pimples but they are small and go away fast. I also still have some blackheads on my nose but those will probably take a little longer, I'm confident they will eventually go away. My skin is the best it has been in months. I'm so happy I decided to give this another try. Most of the side effects have disappeared, but my skin still is really dry. Honestly if you're doubting whether to try this or not, do it now! You just have to stick with it and eventually your skin will get better, pinky promise!

UPDATE 07/26/2016: I'm officially acne free. I can't remember the last time I got a new pimple. I still have hyperpigmentation and some blackheads but I'm happy! My skin is 99% clear! However, it is also extremely dry. I have to apply moisturizer several times a day and it still isn't enough. I will try to use Epiduo every two or three days, to see if the dryness is reduced. I won't stop using it, though, because if I do my acne will gradually come back.


a light cream!
Reviewed on July 17, 2016

my derm gave me this and it works wonders!

after i apply it i can feel that my skin (where i applied it onto) gets a little heated, so i know that the cream is taking effect.

my pimples would be a little more dry when i wake up.

recommended!


Has worked great in combination with topical clindamycin
Reviewed on July 14, 2016

I'm 27 years old and have suffered with acne for what seems like forever. At 22, I decided to get on birth control to combat my skin problems. It worked, but I knew this was only a temporary solution. Last year in April, I decided I wanted to get off birth control because I knew it wasn't something I wanted to be in my system forever. By October, my skin was horrible again. I went to see my physician and he prescribed me epiduo. The first few months were hell! I had acne all over my chin, cheeks and an occasional huge zit or two on my neck and forehead. I regretted ever going to my physician. I sent him pictures of my skin and he immediately put me on an oral antibiotic. That seemed to help. My physician, however, didn't want me on an oral antibiotic for such a long period of time. He prescribed me a topical antibiotic, clindamycin, and together with epiduo my skin looks wonderful! I've been on both now for a good six months and looking back at pictures I couldn't believe how horrible my skin was less than a year ago. I say definitely give it a chance. I'm so glad I did. I also recommend getting the epiduo app to track your progress, that's the only way I can look back at what my skin looked like before.


Miracle product
Reviewed on July 6, 2016

I have a long on and off relation with my acne..last year I finally decided to go to a dermatologist...he prescribed me clindamycin with phosphate in the day time and deriva-BPO(very similar to epiduo...but it contains adapalene as microsphere)...I followed the regime but didn't know that this is going to make my skin very sensitive to sun....so I ended up getting really red cheeks...and it looked almost like I have burned them...I felt itchy all the time though my pimples where gone but this thing was worse than acne... so I finally left it and decided never to use it again.... after some months I again started breaking out with small zits...all over my cheeks...and I decided to try castor oil to cure it....worst decision it didn't work..and of course got worse...I went all natural and tried treating my acne with vicco turmeric cream...it actually was helpful I reducing my acne...but of course u know natural process and products got to take their own sweet time...I suddenly realized that I had deriva-BPO and I can actually remove my acne if I use it properly...so very reluctantly I decided to give it a try...I use to do my basic CTM at night..and then apply a really hydrating mask from aroma magic... since I didn't wanted to use any moisture during the treatment...and take a really small amount..and spread it across the acne prone area...and the next day I was soo surprised with the results that I couldn't believe my eyes...that I am going to have clear skin finally... within two days guys most of my acne where gone.... believe you me....if you have moderate to mild acne just go for it...and remember during this treatment period... sunscreen must be ur best friend otherwise u r for sure going to burn ur face


Didn't do anything for me
Reviewed on June 18, 2016

I used this for about 6 months with Aczone. I saw no changes one way or the other. I might as well have used nothing because there was honestly no change at all. I didn't even get an initial flare.


It's a no for me :(
Reviewed on March 15, 2016

I've already posted a review around my 2nd and 3rd month on Epiduo. As I said before, it didn't really do much at the time. I have extremely sensitive skin and it made me curious how I never experienced any sort of redness, pain, or irritation. I'm around my 4th to 5th month (still the same mild acne, maybe 5 pimples on each cheek and forehead) and I have still seen no progress at all. I recently just popped my entire face (oops...) because of the many pimples I have. I am afraid to stop the regimen due to the possibility of it causing me to break out. Maybe the regimen did work for me in a way that it reduced my acne, but didn't completely take it away. In my opinion it's a great product but it simply just didn't fit my skin, hope it works for anyone about to start and glad it worked for many people.

As of now I am starting to take 10,000 IU of Vitamin A daily while on the Epiduo regimen at night. Would anyone tell me if this is safe or a good idea? Thank you. The fight goes on...


by Lover of life on 04/10/2016 18:53
How is your skin now? I stuck out epiduo for the full 3 months, i literally didn't see any improvement until 2 months and 3 weeks in lol. My skin was breaking out like crazy and burned all the time. But now after 3 months i can happily say my skin has cleared drastically. stick it out :)
Slather it on!
Reviewed on June 7, 2016

This stuff is great - if you use 3x the recommended dose. It comes in a little pump now and I use 2 or 3 pumps twice a day, and it clears up my skin in 4 days tops. It's really drying, just like any BP product, but the results are worth it. I also love how the cream isn't grainy like many BP products are. It doesn't seem to prevent my acne quite as well as it cleared up the existing ones, which is why I decided to give Dan's regimen a try. If the regimen doesn't work better than this stuff, I will most certainly come back to it!


it works!
Reviewed on May 25, 2016

I got this from my dermatologist, LOVE IT! Gets rid of all of my acne without being too drying!


This stuff work!!!!
Reviewed on May 21, 2016

About a year ago my skin was probably the worst shape It has ever been, It was all red and blemishy it had black heads and white heads, large amount of pimples and even pimples underneath my skin, they basically covered my face. Putting foundation and concealer on my face to try and cover it up made it worse, since I was blocking up my pores. I finally decided to see a derm since it was getting pretty bad. She recommended me epiduo, at first I was afraid since many people did say that this product didn't work and that it made your skin all flaky and dry, and it made your skin worse. The first few weeks I used it was pretty awful I broke out more, and my skin was all dry and red, and I was using this daily. Suddenly after like a month went by it started to work, my acne was gone. I had no more acne but I had scars from acne I was trying to get rid of before using epiduo. If you have skin that is just like mine then I would totally recommend this product. Epiduo can make a huge change in your skin.


Works great
Reviewed on May 16, 2016

Ive been using Epiduo for about 6 months...

For the first few weeks it was really irritating to the skin, dried it out and gave it a odd texture. ( Mind you i have very sensitive skin)

After the first month that went away and my acne significantly improved. I was having large pustules, pimples and lots of black heads.

Now 6 months into use I havnt had a pimple in what seems like forever or the pustules on rare occasions. I still have black heads but those are reduced by at home masks and etc, but not to much of a bother. That first few weeks filled me with doubt honestly on how it seemed to just be causing more issues, but after that month everything settled out and is good now.

My advice is to NOT use to much to soon, it will make the skin very dry... even now i lightly... very lightly cover my skin in it before bed and once a day, even now if i use way to much i need to make up with moisturizer because it can still dry you out.

I am so thankful i decided to test run it !!