Epiduo Adapalene (.1%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Epiduo Adapalene (.1%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel
3.7/5 - 500 reviews
5 star
193 reviews
4 star
147 reviews
3 star
51 reviews
2 star
42 reviews
1 star
67 reviews

Brand: Epiduo

Write Your Review

Epiduo Adapalene (.1%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel

Ingredients


Active Ingredients:
Adapalene (0.1%), Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%).

Inactive Ingredients:
Acrylamide/sodium acryloyldimethyltaurate copolymer, docusate sodium, edetate disodium, glycerin, isohexadecane, poloxamer 124, polysorbate 80, propylene glycol, purified water, and sorbitan oleate.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Epiduo Adapalene (.1%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Epiduo Adapalene (.1%) and Benzoyl Peroxide (2.5%) Gel

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Active ingredients seem to have already wore off by the time the medication is finished
Reviewed on April 11, 2017

I will try keep the medication in refrigerator and see if this helps

Always a new gel has better results from a month old .

I kept the medication under 25 celcius as advised ( room temp)


It has to get worse before it gets better, then you will thank it and can't imagine your life without it!!
Reviewed on April 5, 2017

I have been using Epiduo for about 6 months now and WOW, the results are so encouraging! The first 1-2 months of using this acne treatment was not easy; my face would get swollen because it still had to get used to the Adapalene and Benzoyl Peroxide, I was breaking out more than I ever have and my skin was so So sensitive. The burning sensations I felt were so painful I honestly just had to lay there and wait for it to pass.

I thought about stopping the treatment many times, but I have to say; I'm very grateful my dermatologist encouraged me to keep on track with it. I rarely get any pimples, before my pimples were mainly in my chin and forehead area. I will get the occasional one, maybe 1 every ⅔ weeks, but the Epiduo clears it up within 3 days.

When I was using Epiduo for the first 4 months, I would apply my face cream after 15 minutes, but now I have realised that putting on a face cream over the Epiduo didn't do me any justice. It only made things worse, and it wasn't the face cream. Now, I simply wash my face using a very gentle electrical face brush and the recommended Cetaphil acne wash and then apply one pump of Epiduo to my whole face.

Hopefully my skin will only get better than it is now! I also found it helpful to get the app that tracks your skin progress! The most important thing is to PERSEVERE and oh, STAY OUT OF THE SUN and LATHER ON THAT SPF 50!! I hope I've helped xxx


MUST use with Cetaphil Moisturising Lotion!
Reviewed on March 28, 2017

I am currently going through my second bout of adult acne at age 28, due to contraception changes. I couldn't remember what I was prescribed last time because I pretty much repressed the whole experience but I remembered that I had used Differin, which caused a massive purge and made my acne worse before it made it better. I wanted to avoid that this time so I said no to any topical treatments and started a course of Lymecycline.

6 weeks into my course, my skin had progressively got worse so I went back to my doctor who prescribed me Epiduo. I read the reviews about how painful it was so I was very worried; however, my first application did not hurt at all. My face was a bit red the next day but I saw an immediate improvement in my acne, as the inflammation had completely reduced. It was a bit tender when I applied my make up and removed it but I could handle it.

I applied it again that night and this time it was so painful, it felt like my face was burning. I waited 45 minutes and then applied my Simple moisturiser, which only made it worse. The next day my face was in pieces and it even hurt to wash my face so I could not apply anything but moisturiser to it. That was 3 days ago and I haven't used it since. My acne has massively improved just from those two applications; however, my face has been in agony ever since because it is so dry. It has felt as if it was made out of concrete and I have had areas crack and weep. I had no idea how I was going to remedy the dryness, let alone apply anymore Epiduo!

I have been out and bought Cetaphil today as recommended by other users; I've applied it only once and the soreness has lifted straight away! After 3 days of putting up with the pain and not being able to put anything but moisturiser on my face, I now feel like I have my face back! And the Epiduo has done wonders for my acne after only 2 applications!

I would recommend Epiduo to anyone; however, you MUST use Cetaphil alongside it straight away! I will be using the Epiduo again tonight now I have bought some Cetaphil :)

(Cetaphil is non-comedogenic and can be used on the face)


by Charraw on 04/20/2017 15:13
Quick update: It has been three weeks since I left this review and my skin has now got used to the Epiduo and my acne has crept its way back. Its still slightly better than it was before (less pustules) but I now don't believe that this is the miracle cure that I hoped it would be. I have now started taking Dianette, which I really did not want to have to start taking, but I am desperate for my skin to improve :(
Short term effects
Reviewed on March 12, 2017

Worked for a short while to clear mild/moderate acne then skin adjusted to it and it wasn't having any effect. Makes skin burn unlike anything I've ever experienced. Good in the short term but results don't last in my case. It works to treat pimples but doesn't do much to prevent. I was still breaking out while using this. Didn't anything for clogged pores or acne scars.


Epiduo saved my skin!
Reviewed on March 9, 2017

I am so grateful for this product. I suffered from moderate and cystic acne for around 2 years before seeing a dermatologist that presecribed me Epiduo in combination with antibiotics. My acne was completely gone 1 month later. After 2 months I got off the antibiotics but my skin is still clear - all thanks to Epiduo!

However, I should mention that the first week of Epiduo was hell. My skin was flaky, lots of irritation etc. My solution to this was to use a Cetaphil cleanser + moisturizer before applying Epiduo. This combination helped me a lot and my skin irritation stopped.

Nevertheless, I am now suffering from really oily skin due to my Epiduo treatment. This clearly bums me out but with the help of certain makeup and oil absorbing powders (transparent powder) I have managed to control this. It's an irritating side effect but with 100% clear skin - I can deal with a bit of oil.


WORKS WONDERS
Reviewed on March 8, 2017

I had moderate to severe acne and now six months later after starting epiduo ALL my spots are gone and I haven't had a breakout in a very long time. It has also helped clear my scarring and evened my skin texture. If you try epiduo my one piece of advice is you HAVE to stick with it. All the low reviews I have read are people who have not kept using it because they broke out more or it stung. It is an extremely strong gel that your skin will take some time to get used to (for me about a month). It does dry your skin out and make it very sensitive and scaly and flakey, but if you really want to get rid fo your acne those symptoms do not last a long time and soon they go taking your acne with them.

It is a very harsh experience because you are peeling away the outer layers of your skin so the treatment can work deeply and therefore promoting cell turnover and fresh skin (without scarring!).

Warning you do breakout very badly the first month but that is epiduos way of pushing ALL your spots out , that were forming, at once that would have just come out at different time intervals.


Not for me... Skin ruined after one application
Reviewed on March 5, 2017

I read all the reviews here before using Epiduo, feeling excited that it might just be my cure. I know my skin is a bit sensitive but I didn't expect this. After one application only, my face started burning the second day and got a lot worse on the third day. My skin is insanely red, burning, tight, slightly swollen, oozing pus or some sort of liquid. OMG if I didnt have the same experience six years ago (due to a different product, probably with BP too) , I'd be crying in horror right now. From what I have read, I think my reaction is more severe than just dryness, flaking, peeling etc. as described by most. I'm just glad I didnt put Epiduo on my whole face, but almost half of my face is currently ruined. I have stopped using it after thr first application and dont intend to ever go near it again.

Obviously it has been very effective for a lot of people, it's a real shame I react so badly to it. For people who want to try this, beware of the possibility of getting a major bad reaction and be prepared to deal with it. I hope it works for you!


by Jimbo913 on 03/07/2017 12:18
Sorry to hear. At the first sign of redness I washed it off and started the next night with 50/50 Epiduo and Cetaphil eczema moisturizer and I am doing great on Epiduo. You must use good moisturizer and only use Epiduo at night. Always apply good sunscreen if goong outside. Only use a sensitive skin soap like Cetaphil sensitve that Dan recommended
To early to tell but use this moisturizer
Reviewed on March 4, 2017

I have used BP and retin A .025% for years so I thought Epiduo would be easier on my skin but it turned it very red the first application even with the high end moisturizer the Derm gave me. It burned enough that I wouldn't be able to sleep so I washed it off after 30 mins and moisturized again.

The doc told me to stop applying until my skin was no longer red but I really wanted to get my skin use to the meds and start working, so I bought cetaphil eczema moisturizing lotion. I mixed a pump into an equal amount of cetaphil and applied it. No burning, and I was able to leave it on all night. Woke up the next day and my face was pale compared to my pre epiduo complexion. So thrilled and this $18 Cetaphil blows away the Docs $70 AHA moisture serum.

Highly recommend the eczema moisturizer which is safe for babies on a daily bases! Only two days in so wish me luck.


Less oil but still loads of acne
Reviewed on March 3, 2017

I went to the dermatologist and got prescribed this for my cystic acne which started almost overnight about 6 months ago. I had really high hopes that it would work because all the OTC stuff that used to work on my non-cystic acne didn’t have any affect at all on this new development.

Long story short, I will give it 2 stars because it did manage to cut down oil production on my face which was really positive at first. I thought it would lead to less acne and less cysts. But the opposite happened. My skin got so dry and irritated at first. After 3 weeks, the dryness turned to just red and inflamed - like my entire face! It was itchy and painful to the touch. I talked to my dermatologist and they told me to soldier on. I did until I went to my primary care doctor (for something unrelated) and while I was there I just mentioned my face. I mean, it was obvious, kind of the elephant in the room. She said she could’t help me but recommended that I call a lady named Pamela at Ninja Skincare and that she could help me. That she had a lot of patients who used that product with a lot of luck.

So I called and sure enough this lady knew her stuff when it came to acne. I learned so much about skin, my skin and what I had been doing wrong. Firstly, I learned that I was likely sensitive to benzoyl which is pretty interesting since even when I talked to my dermatologist that never came up as a possibility. Then she told me about stress and how bad it was for acne prone skin (I am going through a divorce so this made so much sense) and gave me a few lifestyle things that I could work on to lower my breakouts. Oh and that epiduo didn’t work most likely because it has a bunch of oils in it that end up clogging the pores. And I got the Ninja product which within 1 week I could tell a difference and within 3 weeks, my acne was almost completely gone with the exception of one huge cyst that I had had for about a month. Now I am at about 5 weeks and couldn’t be happier. I was with epiduo for 6 weeks and saw almost no changes at all and now 5 weeks with Ninja and everything is completely healed.

I know a lot of people have had luck with Epiduo but at this point, I am not sure why or how it works for other people. I had much more luck with other products.


Still premature but noticing results right away
Reviewed on February 17, 2017

Hi, In a last attempt at doing something for my skin before taking the accutane plunge, I saw the doc and asked for the Epiduo (tactuopump here in Canada) cause I had heard on YouTube from a few people it cleared their skin up surprisingly well- they all appeared to have accutane like results so I thought what the heck. Tane is scary and even though I'm in no hurry to take it the possibility is fast approaching. My skin was under control up until about 4 months ago with Neostrata glycol if line, then I had an ingenious idea to try oil cleansing which SCREWED UP MY SKIN. Ugh I ended up with so many under the skin bumps that have taken over two months to surface and I am in a point of cystic acne that is moderately covering my entire lower half of my face. Absolutely horrific compared to the progress I had been seeing before. Anyhow, Epiduo has dried the hell out of my skin, it's tight, it hurts, not ideal BUT it had cleared about 85 percent of my active acne within my first week of use. I understand I may purge but I am quite surprised at the fast progress. The dryness pain is worth it I just want the bumps gone. If this works and I don't have to go on accutane it'll be a blessing. Will update soon