Page 2 of Dianette Oral Contraceptive reviews

Dianette Oral Contraceptive
3.5/5 - 379 reviews
5 star
98 reviews
4 star
122 reviews
3 star
80 reviews
2 star
48 reviews
1 star
31 reviews

Write Your Review

Dianette Oral Contraceptive

Ingredients


Active Ingredients:
Cyproterone acetate 2 mg, ethinylestradiol 35 micrograms.

Inactive Ingredients:
Lactose, maize starch, povidone, talc, magnesium stearate, sucrose, polyethylene glycol 6000, calcium carbonate, glycerol, montan glycol wax, titanium dioxide (E171), and yellow iron oxide (E172).

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Dianette Oral Contraceptive

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go to charity.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Dianette Oral Contraceptive

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Works but not a permanent fix
Reviewed on September 16, 2014

I was prescribed this from my GP at 17 yrs old after many failed topical treatments. I actually took this for about a year on and off (which is terrible I know) . Ill outline the pros and cons instead of writing an essay because Id rather just get to the point.

Pros:

Cleared my acne to an extent, this includes bacne/neck/chest (I still got the odd spot here and there while on this)

It will work if your acne is hormonal

No initial breakout (for me at least)

Bigger boobs (embarrassing because I already was quite big but my boyfriend at the time was happy;) lol)

Now on to the cons:

You cannot take this in the long run so it does give you false hope. Yeah its great while you're on it. You'll have beautiful skin and be ready to conquer the world but the second you come off this your skin will possibly break out again. It wont be as severe as the acne you had before but yeah you'll still break out. (This happened to me, it may not be the same for you)

Weight gain. I gained approx. two stone from taking this. For some reason this made me crave terrible food thus adding the pounds. :(

Random black hairs popped up in strange places while taking this

Pains in the lower leg region and bruising

God awful anxiety (not being able to leave the house)

High blood pressure

Terrible migraines

Paranoia (I was convinced I had a brain tumor -extreme I know)

Made me moody/emotional (I once cried when my sister sat on some oreos I had on a plate...physically sobbed so .. yeah:D)

Now I'm not going to totally bash Dianette/Diane because it does work wonders in the short term. I felt great while I was on this, so confident. Unfortunately the side effects I was having scared me to death..Would I consider ever trying it again?-NO. But I would recommend it. Everybody is different, just because I had those side effects doesn't mean you will. I also had a terrible doctor (I've changed doctors since) who didn't monitor me properly and I think just gave me this to shut me up. Also I cringe every time I think of me being 16/17 and being on a drug this powerful. It makes you think of all the toxic crap we put in our system to eradicate this disease. So give it a bash if you want but just be careful, read the side effects and monitor yourself on it, if you get adverse reactions speak to your doctor and come off it. Good luck:)


Effective in the short term.
Reviewed on September 15, 2014

I was prescribed this for 6 months at first and my acne disappeared in the second month and did not return until I came off the pill. My acne returned as bad as before in 2 months despite being prescribed microgynon. I was then advised to go back on dianette for 5 months and did so as I was desperate to get rid of my acne again. It went away in the second month but came back after I finished the 5 month course. I am now looking at going on accutane and have been prescribed yasmin.

Ultimately, this pill is highly effective at getting rid of acne in the short term but is not by any means a long term solution :(

My heart goes out to anyone suffering with acne, I know how hard it is! Good luck and I really hope you find something that works for you! I would recommend this if you are SICK of having acne and want to just have a break from it for a while. Maybe your doctor can prescribe a follow-on pill that would be effective at balancing out your hormones?

xxxxx


by clearskinjourney on 09/30/2014 16:20
Hey- when into the second month did your skin clear? Mines definitely improved however i'm still having 5 or so spots at all times. Currently finishing week 7, so about to start my second week break which will be week 8. However, i'm slightly concerned about what this 7 day break will do to my skin !
Helped
Reviewed on April 11, 2014

After failure with antibiotics and topical creams/liquids for 2 years, doctor finally prescribed me dianette. The first 3 times I took it, I was violently vomiting until the pill came back up but my body had already absorbed the estrogen (it is absorbed in 1.9 hours I think) so this was fine. Period came after 3 days of stopping for monthly rest so became regular but holy sh!t did I put on weight in the first two months. Weight gain not permenant, is all gone now:) Started to clear up on chest by month 2, breakouts became more sporadic on face on month 3 but still relevant. My skin (on month 4 now) has become slightly less oily and scars are beginning to heal a little because my breakouts have become concentrated on my jaw line, chin and one cheek (not sure why its only this cheek, think its because I sleep on this side). Have not used it long enough to be completely sure, but definitely worth a try ladies. I am not sure why my back is still awful and continuously breaking out, the acne there must be being aggrevated by something else. For reference I use epiduo nightly with oilatum natural repair face cream (amazing and gentle) on top and wash with cetaphil/nivea skin cleaner when wearing makeup.


by Catherine1983 on 05/08/2014 08:54
How much weight did you put on, if you don't mind me asking? I'm on my eighth day on Dianette and I feel sort of swollen already, despite exercising regularly. Does the weight gain start quite quickly?
Dianette 35
Reviewed on February 1, 2014

Month 1 - broke me out like a cray cray spotty disgusting person :( Do not even know how to describe it :( Anyway, it bought ALL the tiny bumpy closed comedones alll to whiteheads and a few very painful pustles. Absolutely horrendous.

Month 2 - smaller breakouts than last month. Still noticeable acne though plus some painful spots on cheek which I never get.

Month 3 - I now have muchhhhhh clearer skin where all the closed comedones USED to be. Don't get me wrong there is STILL a lot of hyperpigmention left after the world war 3 of zits but it is a lot SMOOTHER than before. STILL breaking out here and there though. Smaller zits than before as well. Still highly annoying.

Bottom line - I am 50/50 on this.

IF your acne IS definitely hormonal then this will be great for you. Nonetheless, I wouldn't recommend it your on artificial hormones and once you come off the pills acne is most likely going to come back. Also, a side note - in the beginning month 1/2 I was incredibly moody and stressed out at everyone. Defo the pills as I am a rather cheerful person.


Cleared up my acne
Reviewed on January 19, 2014

Dianette has cleared my hormonal acne beautifully. However this took about 3 months and in those 3 months I broke out terribly, losing hope it would work for me several times but it eventually did work. I haven't had a spot in over a month and I used to breakout daily!

Here in the UK you can only be prescribed it for a few months and will have to switch to a different BCP soon but I hope this won't make my acne come back.

If you are taking dianette, be patient. It does work but takes a while.


Dianette Result
Reviewed on January 3, 2014

Started Dianette March 2013 after spending months crying about the consistent sore spots on my chin... JUST ON MY CHIN! After I started it I found I was slightly moody but not much, by July my skin had cleared up enormously! My boobs got very big and I gained a few pounds on my thighs which I have lost now because I have toned up since, but one thing I have noticed which is unusual is that my boobs have decreased down to the same size they were and now I'm very annoyed that they aren't the same. I do not know the cause but it's frustrating as I have a very small cup size which basically sucks!! My skin is totally clear now with no spots in sight however I would recommend taking magnesium and vitamin d to aid the recovery result as I feel it helped me. If anyone else found the same shrinking boobs happens to them please comment as I am go smacked by this, other than that the medicine is a success!


Nightmare!
Reviewed on November 18, 2013

After struggling for acne for years I was prescribed dianette.. it worked pretty quickly and cleared up most of my acne. It completely cleared up the minor acne I had on my back, but I still had a few pimples on my cheeks and forehead. However, this pill completely changed my personality, I had terrible mood swings, I would cry every single day for hours, I ended up fighting with my boyfriend and throwing things (which is completely not in me to do, usually), I began self harming and making myself sick.. I had suicidal thoughts and most days I'd just lay in bed all day crying. I know it works differently for everyone, but if you think you may be susceptible to depression or it runs in your family, I would completely avoid Dianette. Even though it made my skin clearer and made my breasts go up three cup sizes, it's not worth it. My acne also came back full force when I stopped taking it, it was twice as bad as before and began spreading across my shoulders even.


Dissapointing
Reviewed on November 12, 2013

My doctor prescribed me dianette and the day after I started taking it I had the worst migraine I've ever had in my entire life, every time I stood up or sat down I felt like I was going to pass out and I had a constant thumping in my head. I didn't associate the migraines with dianette so I continued to take it for another couple of weeks. I then made an appointment with my doctor about the migraines, and we discovered that my blood pressure was extremely high due to the dianette. She told me to stop taking the tablets immediately and that I was never to take tablets containing estrogen ever again. I didn't see an improvement in my skin, but I wasn't taking the tablets for very long, they may have helped if I'd continued to take them but couldn't cope with the headaches!


Great first time, not so great second time
Reviewed on October 24, 2013

I first started this years ago and it cleared me up and gave me amazingly flawless skin. Unfortunately I had to come off it for 2 years, when I started again it didn't make any difference to my acne.


I don't even want to give it 1 star!
Reviewed on October 16, 2013

I started suffering from acne when i was about 13 years old. After a couple of years of 'dealing' with it my mum took me to the dr's to see what could be done. He put me on Dianette straight away and i stayed on it for the next 14 years!! It cleared my acne up within about 3 months and i thought it was the best thing ever. My boobs got huuuge and i put on a bit weight which i could handle at the time. 10 years later i met my now current boyfriend who, after a few months of being with him made a few comments about my mood swings, not so high sex drive and general unhappiness. I'd never noticed it before, i guess because i'd been on it for such a long time and from a very young age. I ignored his comments for a while but after 3 years he told me he couldn't handle it anymore and either i come off Dianette or try a different one or the relationship is over. I stopped taking the pill in December 2012....after about a month my hair got super greasy and started to fall out in clumps. My spots returned with a vengeance, massive cysts along my jawline and neck, small bumps covering my forehead. I must have cried for about 2weeks solid. This continued for about 6 months but i persevered. i probably lost about half of my hair within the 6 months...it was devastating! However back in August something changed...it felt like a huge weight has been lifted, i'm so happy for no reason whatsoever! My hair has stopped falling out and i have a lot of regrowth coming through. I still get a couple of spots but i'm happy to accept them! My sex drive is crazy, i'm happy and positive about life and i honestly cannot remember ever feeling like this. It makes me angry as i can't help but think i have wasted alot of years being unhappy and negative whereas if i never went on Dianette in the first place could my life have been different??

For anybody contemplating going on this pill i would strongly recommend you try everything else possible first


by weetillie on 08/15/2014 17:58
Coming off Dianette is a nightmare. My skin is just as bad if not worse and my hair is falling out, what are you taking for your skin now ?