Dianette Oral Contraceptive reviews

3.6/5 - 371 reviews
5 star
96 reviews
4 star
121 reviews
3 star
80 reviews
2 star
45 reviews
1 star
29 reviews

Ingredients


Active Ingredients:
Cyproterone acetate 2 mg, ethinylestradiol 35 micrograms.

Inactive Ingredients:
Lactose, maize starch, povidone, talc, magnesium stearate, sucrose, polyethylene glycol 6000, calcium carbonate, glycerol, montan glycol wax, titanium dioxide (E171), and yellow iron oxide (E172).

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go toward Acne.org maintenance.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Worth trying
Reviewed on November 11, 2014

I took Dianette for 18 months for acne. I didn't have any bad side effects, although I was a bit achey the first month or so, this wore off. It didn't do wonders for my acne but it did calm it down quite a lot. I say it's worth trying (especially if you take a contraceptive pill anyway) as it did help, and others have had great success.

I have since come off Dianette and went onto Cilest, which I would highly recommend as it cleared my skin up within a month. (Unfortunately I got really bad water retention so now have to switch after 4 months, and I'm gutted to come off it, but others may not get this side effect :) )


Works but not a permanent fix
Reviewed on September 16, 2014

I was prescribed this from my GP at 17 yrs old after many failed topical treatments. I actually took this for about a year on and off (which is terrible I know) . Ill outline the pros and cons instead of writing an essay because Id rather just get to the point.

Pros:

Cleared my acne to an extent, this includes bacne/neck/chest (I still got the odd spot here and there while on this)

It will work if your acne is hormonal

No initial breakout (for me at least)

Bigger boobs (embarrassing because I already was quite big but my boyfriend at the time was happy;) lol)

Now on to the cons:

You cannot take this in the long run so it does give you false hope. Yeah its great while you're on it. You'll have beautiful skin and be ready to conquer the world but the second you come off this your skin will possibly break out again. It wont be as severe as the acne you had before but yeah you'll still break out. (This happened to me, it may not be the same for you)

Weight gain. I gained approx. two stone from taking this. For some reason this made me crave terrible food thus adding the pounds. :(

Random black hairs popped up in strange places while taking this

Pains in the lower leg region and bruising

God awful anxiety (not being able to leave the house)

High blood pressure

Terrible migraines

Paranoia (I was convinced I had a brain tumor -extreme I know)

Made me moody/emotional (I once cried when my sister sat on some oreos I had on a plate...physically sobbed so .. yeah:D)

Now I'm not going to totally bash Dianette/Diane because it does work wonders in the short term. I felt great while I was on this, so confident. Unfortunately the side effects I was having scared me to death..Would I consider ever trying it again?-NO. But I would recommend it. Everybody is different, just because I had those side effects doesn't mean you will. I also had a terrible doctor (I've changed doctors since) who didn't monitor me properly and I think just gave me this to shut me up. Also I cringe every time I think of me being 16/17 and being on a drug this powerful. It makes you think of all the toxic crap we put in our system to eradicate this disease. So give it a bash if you want but just be careful, read the side effects and monitor yourself on it, if you get adverse reactions speak to your doctor and come off it. Good luck:)


Effective in the short term.
Reviewed on September 15, 2014

I was prescribed this for 6 months at first and my acne disappeared in the second month and did not return until I came off the pill. My acne returned as bad as before in 2 months despite being prescribed microgynon. I was then advised to go back on dianette for 5 months and did so as I was desperate to get rid of my acne again. It went away in the second month but came back after I finished the 5 month course. I am now looking at going on accutane and have been prescribed yasmin.

Ultimately, this pill is highly effective at getting rid of acne in the short term but is not by any means a long term solution :(

My heart goes out to anyone suffering with acne, I know how hard it is! Good luck and I really hope you find something that works for you! I would recommend this if you are SICK of having acne and want to just have a break from it for a while. Maybe your doctor can prescribe a follow-on pill that would be effective at balancing out your hormones?

xxxxx


by sksk on 09/30/2014 16:20
Hey- when into the second month did your skin clear? Mines definitely improved however i'm still having 5 or so spots at all times. Currently finishing week 7, so about to start my second week break which will be week 8. However, i'm slightly concerned about what this 7 day break will do to my skin !
In progress
Reviewed on April 27, 2014

Currently on my third pack,can clearly see the improvment,it works slowly but surely!

Didn`t break me out more at the start,skin condition was pretty much the same,but when started pack 2 slowly could see improvment.

Only thing I noticed after first 2 weeks-skin got less oily.

I also had small break outs in my breast area and on my shoulders right before my period- that cleared up completely in 2 weeks as well,and it seems like I`m not breaking out there at all!

Only bad side effects I noticed on myself is being moody and easily annoyed,also mid headaches and constantly feeling like puking in the first month. After first month,side effects were gone.

As in for my period- didn`t see any changes,I think my period even got longer,but still get cramps.

Definitely speak to your doctor,the pill might not work for everyone and side effects are different for each person,only thing if you really do get bad side effects and they don`t dissapear after a month,better talk to your doctor,you don`t have to suffer and he\she might find something different that will work for you,don`t give up :)


Helped
Reviewed on April 11, 2014

After failure with antibiotics and topical creams/liquids for 2 years, doctor finally prescribed me dianette. The first 3 times I took it, I was violently vomiting until the pill came back up but my body had already absorbed the estrogen (it is absorbed in 1.9 hours I think) so this was fine. Period came after 3 days of stopping for monthly rest so became regular but holy sh!t did I put on weight in the first two months. Weight gain not permenant, is all gone now:) Started to clear up on chest by month 2, breakouts became more sporadic on face on month 3 but still relevant. My skin (on month 4 now) has become slightly less oily and scars are beginning to heal a little because my breakouts have become concentrated on my jaw line, chin and one cheek (not sure why its only this cheek, think its because I sleep on this side). Have not used it long enough to be completely sure, but definitely worth a try ladies. I am not sure why my back is still awful and continuously breaking out, the acne there must be being aggrevated by something else. For reference I use epiduo nightly with oilatum natural repair face cream (amazing and gentle) on top and wash with cetaphil/nivea skin cleaner when wearing makeup.


by Catherine1983 on 05/08/2014 08:54
How much weight did you put on, if you don't mind me asking? I'm on my eighth day on Dianette and I feel sort of swollen already, despite exercising regularly. Does the weight gain start quite quickly?
Dianette 35
Reviewed on February 1, 2014

Month 1 - broke me out like a cray cray spotty disgusting person :( Do not even know how to describe it :( Anyway, it bought ALL the tiny bumpy closed comedones alll to whiteheads and a few very painful pustles. Absolutely horrendous.

Month 2 - smaller breakouts than last month. Still noticeable acne though plus some painful spots on cheek which I never get.

Month 3 - I now have muchhhhhh clearer skin where all the closed comedones USED to be. Don't get me wrong there is STILL a lot of hyperpigmention left after the world war 3 of zits but it is a lot SMOOTHER than before. STILL breaking out here and there though. Smaller zits than before as well. Still highly annoying.

Bottom line - I am 50/50 on this.

IF your acne IS definitely hormonal then this will be great for you. Nonetheless, I wouldn't recommend it your on artificial hormones and once you come off the pills acne is most likely going to come back. Also, a side note - in the beginning month 1/2 I was incredibly moody and stressed out at everyone. Defo the pills as I am a rather cheerful person.


Cleared up my acne
Reviewed on January 19, 2014

Dianette has cleared my hormonal acne beautifully. However this took about 3 months and in those 3 months I broke out terribly, losing hope it would work for me several times but it eventually did work. I haven't had a spot in over a month and I used to breakout daily!

Here in the UK you can only be prescribed it for a few months and will have to switch to a different BCP soon but I hope this won't make my acne come back.

If you are taking dianette, be patient. It does work but takes a while.


Dianette Result
Reviewed on January 3, 2014

Started Dianette March 2013 after spending months crying about the consistent sore spots on my chin... JUST ON MY CHIN! After I started it I found I was slightly moody but not much, by July my skin had cleared up enormously! My boobs got very big and I gained a few pounds on my thighs which I have lost now because I have toned up since, but one thing I have noticed which is unusual is that my boobs have decreased down to the same size they were and now I'm very annoyed that they aren't the same. I do not know the cause but it's frustrating as I have a very small cup size which basically sucks!! My skin is totally clear now with no spots in sight however I would recommend taking magnesium and vitamin d to aid the recovery result as I feel it helped me. If anyone else found the same shrinking boobs happens to them please comment as I am go smacked by this, other than that the medicine is a success!


Nightmare!
Reviewed on November 18, 2013

After struggling for acne for years I was prescribed dianette.. it worked pretty quickly and cleared up most of my acne. It completely cleared up the minor acne I had on my back, but I still had a few pimples on my cheeks and forehead. However, this pill completely changed my personality, I had terrible mood swings, I would cry every single day for hours, I ended up fighting with my boyfriend and throwing things (which is completely not in me to do, usually), I began self harming and making myself sick.. I had suicidal thoughts and most days I'd just lay in bed all day crying. I know it works differently for everyone, but if you think you may be susceptible to depression or it runs in your family, I would completely avoid Dianette. Even though it made my skin clearer and made my breasts go up three cup sizes, it's not worth it. My acne also came back full force when I stopped taking it, it was twice as bad as before and began spreading across my shoulders even.


Dissapointing
Reviewed on November 12, 2013

My doctor prescribed me dianette and the day after I started taking it I had the worst migraine I've ever had in my entire life, every time I stood up or sat down I felt like I was going to pass out and I had a constant thumping in my head. I didn't associate the migraines with dianette so I continued to take it for another couple of weeks. I then made an appointment with my doctor about the migraines, and we discovered that my blood pressure was extremely high due to the dianette. She told me to stop taking the tablets immediately and that I was never to take tablets containing estrogen ever again. I didn't see an improvement in my skin, but I wasn't taking the tablets for very long, they may have helped if I'd continued to take them but couldn't cope with the headaches!