Page 3 of Baking Soda reviews

4.3/5 - 898 reviews
5 star
498 reviews
4 star
260 reviews
3 star
61 reviews
2 star
49 reviews
1 star
30 reviews

Ingredients




The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Where to buy

Acne.org is not associated with this product. All proceeds from links go toward Acne.org maintenance.

[The prices listed above may change at any time and in some cases do not include shipping.]

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

DO NOT USE BAKING SODA ON YOUR FACE! FAR TOO ALKALINE!
Reviewed on January 25, 2014

I am horrified to see the amount of people who actually use this on their face.

Your skin has a natural acid mantle which helps it fight breakouts and using an alkaline substance like baking soda will completely destroy that by throwing the PH right off.

No competent skin care professional would ever recommend putting this on your face, but if you are going to anyway, make sure you lower the PH of your skin with an acidic toner after like ACV.


by sarahi123 on 04/30/2014 04:08
exactly my thoughts
by Lisa H on 05/13/2014 18:50
That's weird, because my dermatologist recommends it as a mild micro-dermabrasion substitute when mixed with Cetaphil. Another well-known dermatologist, Paula Begoun, also recommends it. So, I would have to disagree.
by Lilyap on 06/05/2014 18:44
I often find that traditional soaps (lye based and therefore basic) do a better job of keeping my skin clear than pH balanced ones with surfactants. I have a theory that the bacteria on my skin causing breakouts are sensitive to the drastic change in pH (from skin's natural pH of ~5-6.5 to the soap's pH of maybe 10) and that it kills them off, but that's just a guess. I know my skin problems have to do a lot with something in the water supply though, because I always have glowing clear skin in NYC or California but I have nothing but problems in western NY. Everyone's biological and environmental circumstances are different, so what negatively impacts one person may be magic for another.
by Lilyap on 06/05/2014 18:54
Also, your skin will regenerate the acid mantle through normal sebum secretion..... So, while I generally would advise an acidic toner, you can definitely do without it. If your acid mantle is too depleted, your skin will overproduce oil to replenish it; if your skin is getting super oily in the hours after using a basic treatment, then your body is telling you that it needs help balancing itself (so use an acidic toner: diluted aloe, acv, honey, etc).
by SlickNewFace on 08/12/2014 08:06
First, Paula Begoun is an esthetician, not a dermatologist. And I hate her skin care products (FULL of parabens and not enough effective ingredients). That said, she's right about using baking soda. Estheticians use it all the time as a desincrustation solution. It's also used post chemical peels to neutralize them.
love it
Reviewed on January 7, 2014

I use it as a scrub, just mix it with a bit of water. I have tried to do a mask but it makes my skin burn. However, the burning is gone after I wash it off and it doesn't make my face red or anything. Aside from a bit of stinging, all I have noticed are great results. My face feels so smooth after I use it, and the blackheads that were all over my nose are disappearing. Yay! :-)


Very helpful
Reviewed on December 30, 2013

I personally don't have anything with sensitive skin but the best part about this is you can find it in most homes as don't have to ask your parents for money. Use it as a spot treatment as wear it over night. It decreases pimple size significantly!


Works well
Reviewed on December 29, 2013

I used lemon and baking soda since I have a mix of everything and scars, for the first 5 min I had it on it was fine then it started to feel like cement was on my face so I washed it off and put olive oil on it, I kept doing this 2 times a week and in three weeks all the scars and whiteheads are gone.


amazing results
Reviewed on December 29, 2013

I have sensitive skin and every product I was using seemed to irritate and cause more inflammation and breakouts. Due to the nature of my job I wear beauty products daily. Got to the point my acne was impacting my confidence, everything.. One use of baking soda, deep ones started to dry up, open acne healed quickly and it pulled out too. I can use it daily and as a spot treatment, with just water as a thin paste.. Burning sensation and redness after use but this goes away quickly. Results got better with each day. I also used apple cider vinegar to bring up deep acne the exfoliated it away with b soda. When my skin gets dry, i use coconut oil as a facial and cleanse it off with b soda. got rid of all unnatural products on my face. even clean my make up brushes with it.. Love the results.


Not an every day mask, but works great!
Reviewed on October 29, 2013

I have SUPER sensitive, oily skin. I also have moderate acne. I cannot use anything on my face without it breaking out, Cetaphil, Clean&Clear, Neutrogena, expensive acne kits, etc. The first time I used baking soda (1 tbs of baking soda mixed with a little witch hazel and water) as I was rubbing it on, my skin was on fire! I could not get the baking soda mix off fast enough! It immediately turned my whole face bright red. However, as I was examining my face for damage, it was like the baking soda has loosened up every blackhead on my face, especially my nose! I went over my skin with some witch hazel afterwards to soothe it and literally the next day I could see an improvement in my skin. My giant, oily pores were much smaller and looked great! My skin also looked better too!

I wouldn't recommend it for everyday use, it is an intense detox. I have used it once a week now for the past 5 weeks and my skin looks and feels waaay better than it did. It also no longer burns my skin when I use it, which I think is because I no longer have huge pores. Most importantly skin looks and feels healthy! I still have acne, but it doesn't hurt and throb like it use to. My face is also not a constant shade of red.


i really notice a difference
Reviewed on October 20, 2013

I used it only once overnight. And I noticed a dramatic difference in pimple swelling and redness. I used a mixture of lemon juice and baking soda because I learned that the acidity in lemons help fight Bacteria and also help lighten the skin. So I applied the baking soda lemon juice mixture as a mask overnight and my skin is alot smoother and more radiant. And the pimple size went down. I'm definitely using this again ^_^


So far so Good!
Reviewed on August 22, 2013

I started using Baking Soda as a Face Mask in hopes to find something inexpensive to help eliminate my breakouts and blackheads. I first put a warm cloth over my face to open the pores. If I am short on time I wet a wash cloth with warm water and dab my face. Then I pour baking soda into the palm of my hand and add warm water. Scoop up the paste and apply it in a circular motion all around my face and nose area especially around the hairline. I leave on for 10 minutes and rinse off in the shower or sink again wiping my face gently in a circular motion. When the mask is on for ten minutes I do feel a slight burn like when you apply astringent but its nothing painful or nothing that results in my face being irritated or red. The pimples that I did have started to dry up and clear away. My face does feel softer and feels clean. So far so good! I also used it in the shower for my body and my skin feels great!


This product may ruin your skin's ability to retain moisture!
Reviewed on August 19, 2013

Baking soda has a very high pH compared to your skin, so using it can compromise the lipid layer of your skin that absorbs moisture! Anything citrus-y should be avoided for this reason as well.

Go on youtube and search "Skin, pH and the moisture barrier (and why it's important)." It's super helpful.


A very gentle exfoliator
Reviewed on July 6, 2013

I keep a small tub of dry baking soda next to my shower. Near the end of my shower, I scoop some up, mix it with a little water, gently rub on, then rinse. I use it daily, in combination with drugstore cleanser.

Exfoliation is very important to clear excess dead skin. Baking soda is also helpful when you have something like sweat, sunscreen, or food grease on your face. Just make sure to follow every exfoliation with moisturizer, or your skin could become too dry.