Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone reviews

Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone
2.8/5 - 325 reviews
5 star
87 reviews
4 star
37 reviews
3 star
35 reviews
2 star
52 reviews
1 star
114 reviews

Brand: Acne.org

Write Your Review

Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone

Ingredients


Water, Simmondsia chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Methyl Gluceth-20, Squalane, Saccharide Isomerate, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycyrrhiza glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Sorbitan Olivate, Cetearyl Olivate, PEG-12 Glyceryl Distearate, PEG-23 Glyceryl Distearate, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone

Where to buy

8 oz. Moisturizer
updated: 01/01/1970 00:00 UTC
-
16 oz. Moisturizer
updated: 01/01/1970 00:00 UTC
-
3.4 oz. Moisturizer
updated: 01/01/1970 00:00 UTC
-
Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

ITCHY, RASHY, BREAKING OUT - FAIL
Reviewed on January 30, 2016

I was really looking forward to using Dan's products but unfortunately my skin hasn't taken very well to the moisturiser. Immediately after putting it on i felt a tingle and slight itchiness but didn't want to think much of it to give up on it straight away. So i decided to try it again the next morning and again the same reaction, but worse. It got to the point where i just decided to wash it completely off my face because it was so itchy. I also noticed the morning after using this moisturiser i broke out for the first time in a while with little whiteheads. NO GOOD, i will not be using this again and sadly it will be going straight into the rubbish.

Prior to using this moisturiser i was using Cetaphil moisturising cream with no problems and i have gone back to that immediately in hopes of soothing some of the irritation Dan's moisturiser seems to have caused. ARGH!


Cosmetic Elegance – at a Price
Reviewed on December 26, 2015

This moisturizer feels amazing going on. It's easy to smooth across the skin, and it doesn't leave an after-feel. It absorbs perfectly, even over On-the-Spot, which usually "clumps up" with moisturizers. Blends well with Clear Face Liquid Lotion Sunscreen Broad Spectrum SPF 30, a sunscreen-product recommended by Dan. Also mixes nicely with jojoba oil and with his AHA.

However, it doesn't moisturize well, even with the suggested 2 pumps. But it does contain beneficial ingredients which aren't found in most lotions.


Bad allergic reaction to Glyceryl Stearate
Reviewed on December 17, 2015

After some trial & error and research, I've concluded that I'm allergic to one of the ingredients: Glyceryl Monostearate/Glyceryl Stearate. Less than 1% of people have this reaction, but based on my personal experience I have to give this 1 star. I'll explain a little... I had been using this with Acne.org's AHA and BP with much success for about 6 months with no reaction. So, when my eyes swelled and got scaly, red, & sore patches around them along with dry, cracking and bleeding skin in the corners of my mouth, I didn't think these products were the culprit. Eventually, I did change everything... No bp, no aha, changed make-up, changed everything. My skin started to heal.

Because I had been using my products for a long time before this reaction, the culprit became difficult to pinpoint. I always remember my mom having sensitive skin. I discussed my new issues with her, and she revealed that she didn't have any skin sensitivity issues until sometime in her 30's, which was when I started to have problems. So, it would seem possible to develop an allergy and become sensitive to something that never caused issue before.

Over the next few years, I developed a completely new regime that wasn't as effective as the Acne.org's BP/AHA/moisture but also didn't freak my face out. My initial thought was that it had to be the bp or aha causing sensitivity. AHA is notorious for being intolerable to some. When I would get a break out, I'd spot treat with acne.org's AHA and BP, and I'd start to feel the inklings of a reaction- patches under my eyes, itching, watery eyes... Then, I started just spot treating with the BP; that was ok. Eventually, I worked back up to using it all over every night. Other than normal BP dryness, I experienced no allergic action.

I came to the (false) conclusion that it was AHA causing harm; however, I still longed for the BP/AHA results I had before my skin went crazy. I did some research on AHA's and found that people could better tolerate them when a blend of AHA's were used. I started on the (ridiculously expensive) Drunk Elephant Glycolic (AHA) serum. I've used that for months, until my first bottle was gone. Things were going well. No reactions.

And now, we come back around to the Acne.org moisturizer. After months of being on the same regime (BP/Drunk Elephant AHA/same cosmetics, etc), I decided to revisit Acne.org's moisturizer. Last night, I used the moisturizer, and I woke up with swollen, watery eyes and itchy skin- all the same reactions I had years before and with Acne.org's AHA. I compared the ingredient list of both harm causing products (Acne.org's AHA and Moisturizer), and found 3 common ingredients: Butylene Glycol, Licochalcone, and Glyceryl Stearate. Butylene Glycol was also present in Drunk Elephant's AHA; I ruled that ingredient out. I researched Licochalcone and found no evidence of it as an allergen. Additionally, it's a great product for soothing sensitive skin reactions. When I researched Butylene Glycol, I found that some people can have terrible reactions. It is rare, but if you find yourself reacting to Acne.org's AHA and/or Moisturizer. This very likely could be the culprit.


Skin swollen, red, and in pain!
Reviewed on December 8, 2015

My skin has had the worst reaction!

I have owned this product before and I figured it would work the same way so I ordered again&& it just made my skin soo red.

This is just my second use!

Needs to be addressed asap


Good moisturizer with hypoallergenic ingredients
Reviewed on December 4, 2015

This is a great formulation for acne-prone skin. My only issue is that it's a bit heavy to use under make up. One other thing I noticed is that when I received my shipment, the pump was already broken in and some of the moisturizer had spilled out. This made me a bit paranoid about contamination. Still, it's a great moisturizer if you are looking for something affordable that won't break you out.


Moisturizer problem complain
Reviewed on November 30, 2015

First I've use this product for four day and I feel like wow my skin got better but somehow it constantly feel itchy and a bit allergic. I think I have to stop using this moisturizer and try another product instead. I have read so many review about this product and found that it's great quality in the past. But now seem everyone have the same problem as mine.


LOVE
Reviewed on November 16, 2015

I've never been a fan of moisturizing my face but LOVE this moisturizer so

much!!


Now I love it
Reviewed on November 16, 2015

At first I hated this. It seemed to sit on my skin. However, if you GENTLY rub it in for 60 seconds, all the dry flakes will come off and the moisturizer will sink right in! Also, it's NORMAL for it to sting after using BP. Stop complaining, guys. Any moisturizer will sting when combined with BP. It will eventually dissipate. If you wait the 15 minutes it helps and also if you apply a few drops of jojoba prior to the BP it lessens the stinging.


Itchy ............????????
Reviewed on October 20, 2015

I started to use Acne.org products and love them..... But the moisturizer makes my skin feel itchy...... I do not know if that is normal............. and I do not feel moisturized enough...


Really good
Reviewed on October 18, 2015

Not sure why no one likes this stuff. Maybe my skin is weird, but this is the best moisturizer I've ever used. It sinks right in and actually moisturizes. I use the rest of the regimen as well but was never really clear until I added this moisturizer. I almost didn't buy it because it reviewed badly, so I'm really glad I tried it. My skin is between normal oiliness and slightly oily, acne prone, and very sensitive, for reference.