Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone reviews

Read or post reviews on thousands of acne products & treatments.

Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone
2.8/5 - 356 reviews
5 star
94 reviews
4 star
39 reviews
3 star
38 reviews
2 star
58 reviews
1 star
127 reviews

Brand: Acne.org

Write Your Review

Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone

Ingredients


Water, Simmondsia chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Methyl Gluceth-20, Squalane, Saccharide Isomerate, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycyrrhiza glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Sorbitan Olivate, Cetearyl Olivate, PEG-12 Glyceryl Distearate, PEG-23 Glyceryl Distearate, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone

Where to buy

8 oz. Moisturizer
updated: 01/01/1970 00:00 UTC
-
16 oz. Moisturizer
updated: 01/01/1970 00:00 UTC
-
3.4 oz. Moisturizer
updated: 01/01/1970 00:00 UTC
-
Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Allergic to jojobaoil
Reviewed on April 21, 2017

I tried the acne.org moisturizer in the very beginning and my skin got red, itchy, swollen and burnt as hell! So I stopped and had tried the jojobaoil and exactly the same happened. So I did a little recherche and find out that a lot of people are allegic to jojobaoil. So I think it is not only the Butylene Glycol which makes problems to some peoples`skin, but also the jojobaoil. And there`s a lot of it in the moisturizer.


The only moisturizer I want to use on my face! Just had to reorder it.
Reviewed on April 14, 2017

Other moisturizers feel waxy, heavy, and leave a solid thick layer on top of my skin making my face feel hot in the summer. This one absorbs into the skin, feels light and cool. It's also calming and smells natural and not like chemicals. Love it! AND...it's the only moisturizer that doesn't make me break out. It's a little expensive for my taste but I did some calculating and it comes out to around $2.83/month including shipping. I think I can handle that. The 8 oz bottle lasted me 6 months so I bought the 16 oz bottle this time. Now I'm set for a year :) And the 8 oz bottle I bought Sept 2016 was set to expire in March 2018 so that's about a year and a half after I bought it. Good stuff. I only use the moisturizer now because I don't break out as much anymore. If I do I break out I just whip out my big tube of Acne.org's Benzoyl Peroxide Gel and put that all over my face before bed. Anyway, love this lotion. Please don't ever discontinue it! ***UPDATE*** 4-20-17 Shipping SUCKS! I placed my order 4/17/17 and paid $5.75 for shipping. I'm not going to get the order till 4/27/17. It's taking 10 DAYS to get to my house and that's with me paying almost $6 for shipping. So bad!!! I'm taking away 2 stars for bad shipping.


Mixed Reviws
Reviewed on April 6, 2017

I have an interesting relationship with the moisturizer. I feel as though sometimes it does its job, and other times it does not. When I had first started using the regimen it would not moisturize my skin (even with the addition of jojoba oil), it felt and looked greasy, and my skin would burn. The only thing I liked was the added tint to my skin, as it evened my skin tone and helped hide my blemishes. There was a period during my 1-2 month process where the skin around my eyes and mouth became very flaky and dry. During this period I would use the moisturizer only in areas where I wasn't sensitive/irritated and any areas where my skin was sensitive/irritated I would apply Aveeno baby moisturizer. I was so desperate at the time (and convinced it would work) that I stuck it through for 1-2 months and used the entire regimen twice daily. Over time my skin had begun to significantly clear up; it ended up adapting to and absorbing the moisturizer very well (without the addition of jojoba oil). Now, I have no problems with the moisturizer and am content with what it does for me. I like that it does not feel thick on my skin, I no longer look greasy, and I certainly do not feel irritated by it. I feel as though it could be slightly better, but it could also be worse. I have mixed reviews, as I think that much of it may have to do with skin type and how one's skin reacts to it.


Smooth skin luminous skin
Reviewed on March 31, 2017

I really enjoy this moisturizer. Every time I use this my skin looks naturally luminous and not oily. I like to layer this as an emulsion step prior to using a more moisturizing moisturizer when my skin is dry. On oily skin days I just apply two layers of this and proceed with my makeup. I have noticed that people are feeling that this stings and I have only experienced this when I have used to much of the benzoyl peroxide. When my skin gets dry and irritated from the treatment I take a break from it and moisturize with this + jojoba or this lotion + a more moisturizing cream and the irritation subsides. ** I can layer this with other moisturizers because my acne is under control , but I just wanted to say that any irritation was due to excessive drying from the acne treatment and all water based products sting when this happens. Versitile moisturizing lotion! I love it!


It burns my skin
Reviewed on March 28, 2017

I don't know what happens to this product, there are so many bad reviews.

I bought this product at the beginning of this year when I was in the US and I didn't see the reviews at that time, but I read about the soothing properties and went for it straight away as I have sensitive skin and it often gets irritated.

Well, I've used the moisturizer alone and sometimes with the AHA. My skin burnt and on the next day, my skin was even more sensitive, itchy and burning. That was really strange. Then I patch tested the product on my arm and neck, I had no bad reaction, so I assumed I have no allergies, but it kept burning my skin.

I was reading information about this product and I was astonished by the huge number of negative reviews here, so I figured out that it wasn't only me who was facing these kinds of issues.

So I tried out another moisturizer, a repair cream from Avene called Cicalfate, it really recovered my skin and I'm using it every day.

In summary, it said that this product is gentle and suitable for sensitive skin with acne, but it has worsened my situation. I think they should take a look at the formula because there are almost more negative comments than positive ones about this product.


Huge WARNING!
Reviewed on March 4, 2017

I started the regimen about five weeks ago, and after the first week my skin started acting out really badly (itchiness, redness, swollen skin, burning). I was desperate to get rid of my acne so I didn't want to quit the regimen too quickly, but I needed to find out what was causing my skin to suffer.

I stopped using the products for a few days to let my skin heal, and then for a few days I used only the cleanser. My skin was fine so I knew that it wasn't the cleanser causing the reaction.

I slowly started using the BP as well, but only once a day and in very small amounts. My skin, apart from being a bit dry (which is normal) was fine.

So I started using the moisturizer again, and yes, my skin was getting red and itchy just like the first time, so I imediately stopped using it and just kept to the cleanser and PB.

But then about two weeks later my skin was doing the same thing again, mostly around my eyes, and I couldn't figure out why. I read a lot of reviews all over the forum and someone mentioned that the moisturizer has Butylene Glycol in it and that some people had a reaction to it. I checked the ingredients in all the products I was using on my face (there were only about 4), and one of them did have Butylene Glycol in it. It was my new makeup romover that I was using to take my eye makeup off. It all made sense. So now I know that I am allergic to Butylene Glycol.

So basically, I'm just trying to warn you, that if you start using the acne.org regimen, and your skin starts getting itchy, red, swollen, sore, and burns, it might not be because of the BP (like I thought it was at first), but because of the moisturizer. If this does happen just stop using it for a little while and see if you skin gets better.

Also, can anyone recommend a good moisturizer to replace the acne.org one?


by Emma Yahn on 03/15/2017 14:35
Butylene Glycol is in every single one of the Acne.org system products except for the pure jojoba oil. I'm suddenly having a bad reaction to the system and am trying to find out the cause.
So disappointed
Reviewed on January 28, 2017

I bought the regimen several years ago, and it worked like a charm. My favorite product by far was the Acne.org moisturizing lotion. Even though I loved the product, the cost and cost of shipping, at the time, were cost-prohibitive for me. Since I am more able to afford it now and Acne.org is finally offering free shipping, I ordered the moisturizer in the large pump size. I've been using it for about and month and am so disappointed in it. It feels like it has been completely reformulated. It is runny, and like other reviewers, it really doesn't soak into my skin until it's been on for several hours. Again, like other reviewers, it legitimately burns upon application. The older formulation NEVER did this. And again, like other reviewers, I believe this caused me to breakout and usually as long as I'm consistent with the acne medication, I have little to no breakouts. This moisturizer just hasn't cut it like it did when I first purchased it. I have discontinued its use even though I have the whole bottle left and went back to using Curel Daily Moisture Original Lotion on my face and my breakouts have slowly begun to heal after a week of not using the Acne.org product. I'm so sad this doesn't work anymore because it used to be the superior product. :(


Not Great
Reviewed on December 26, 2016

I'm glad I got the travel size of this to start out with, as this moisturizer left me with horrible alligator skin and a terrible burning sensation when applied after the BP. (To put this in perspective, not even the AHA burns my skin when it's applied after the BP.) It never seemed to fully absorb and instead seemed to sit on top of my skin, leaving a somewhat greasy feeling yet not combating the flakiness, and adding a couple drops of jojoba oil to it only left me greasier. I did not have issues with it turning my skin yellow as other people have talked about, but I didn't use it that long due to the other side effects. Honestly, this stuff left me wanting to rip the skin off and it seemed to cause more acne for me... Neither this nor the jojoba oil will go anywhere near my face again.


works okay
Reviewed on September 29, 2016

this moisturizer was good to me at first it hydrated well and it it's job but over time with the regime it doesn't work well it leaves me with half dry skin and i flake because of it, it didn't break me out but didn't moisturize well with BP but it might work for other people or if i'm not using BP but it leaves me feeling dry and flaky


Not for Me
Reviewed on September 21, 2016

I read the other reviews on this moisturizer after about a couple weeks on the regimen and most of them are pretty close to what I was experiencing. During the first week (while my face was still producing oil LOL) the moisturizer was great, but as I increased my BP and my face started getting dryer, the moisturizer was not moisturizing my face at all even with the jojoba oil. My face would look dark and oily and after the moisturizer absorbed, my face would feel so dry after only an hour. It's hard to wear make-up while using this moisturizer and I feel like I need to because it makes my skin look way worse than it is. On top of that it makes my skin burn really bad. I ditched this moisturizer and now I use St. Ives Timeless Collagen Skin Moisturizer and it works so much better. I add jojoba oil to that too. My skin still burns a little after the BP but at least now my skin feels better than it did before. It's still dry since that's what the BP does but my face doesn't feel like there's a nasty residue on it, it only burns for like 15 minutes after I apply, and my face doesn't look and dark and gross anymore. It also does't look like my skin is dry when I wear foundation and my acne has also been clearing up faster. So my advice, try the moisturizer out if you want to but if you don't like it, ditch it. It barely moisturizes and there are better cheaper ones out there you can get!


by t-dawg on 09/29/2016 21:02
i had the same thing it worked fine at first but started becoming useless because it didn't moisturize completely! i'm gonna try ponds dry skin cream it says it doesn't clog pores which is good i'll let you know how it goes :)