Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone reviews

Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone
2.8/5 - 313 reviews
5 star
85 reviews
4 star
34 reviews
3 star
33 reviews
2 star
52 reviews
1 star
109 reviews

Brand: Acne.org

Write Your Review

Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone

Ingredients


Water, Simmondsia chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Methyl Gluceth-20, Squalane, Saccharide Isomerate, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Glycyrrhiza glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Panthenol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Sorbitan Olivate, Cetearyl Olivate, PEG-12 Glyceryl Distearate, PEG-23 Glyceryl Distearate, Carbomer, Triethanolamine, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylhexylglycerin.

Items marked with red have tested a 3 or above (out of 5) in comedogenic (pore-clogging) testing.

The list of ingredients above is provided for informational purposes only. Always check the actual product label in your possession for the most accurate ingredient information due to product changes or upgrades that may not yet be reflected on our web site.

Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone

Where to buy

8 oz. Moisturizer
updated: 01/01/1970 00:00 UTC
-
16 oz. Moisturizer
updated: 01/01/1970 00:00 UTC
-
3.4 oz. Moisturizer
updated: 01/01/1970 00:00 UTC
-
Acne.org Moisturizer with Licochalcone

Did you find a problem with this item?


 Mark product as discontinued

 Flag an error in this listing

Made face red and swollen
Reviewed on August 29, 2015

Have been using products for about a year with no problem. Then after i ordered a new updated version of this moisturizer my lips and under eye area became extremely swollen and itchy. I never dreamed it was the moisturizer that I had used for over a year. I went to the Dermatoligist then through a series of allergy test since the condition kept repeating. Finally in desperation I eliminated one by one all facial products. When I eliminated this moisturizer no more problems.

There are too many reviews such as mine. There is a problem here that needs to be addressed. This was not a minor irrational but eye shutting swelling .


Burned, doesn't moisturize enough
Reviewed on August 29, 2015

If you're on the Acne.org regime, which you probably are if you have this moisturizer, then you will need the moisture. This product is really this to some heavy creams for dry skin, which we should have with this routine. I was on the routine for about a year and just discontinued to start Retin-A. I started to get painfully dry and itchy around mouth area with RED tinted skin. I removed BP for about a week with no prevail; I was still as unusually dry. I can't believe I thought that the BP was making me worse, but actually it was the MOISTURIZER. Unbelievable that after a year I would get this reaction from the moisturizer. However, I have never broken out from this moisturizer, so that is a major plus. When I was really, really dry and chapped I used DML Fórte Cream. It is delightful! You can try getting it online or though a dermatologist -- it is doctor grade (good stuff). It will NOT break you out. It is worth a try because you may need extra hydration once in a while. DML makes extremely gentle products, you can even use them on baby skin. I have dry, sensitive skin if anyone is wondering. Thank you for taking the time to read my review.


Nope! Try the Glycolic acid
Reviewed on August 21, 2015

It stings awful and I thought it was normal, but it also doesn't really moisturize! I was happy with cleanser and peroxide but decided to try the Glycolic Acid moisturizer instead: day and night! It actually works. I decided to give this one another try since I had a whole bottle left - NOPE! Still stings like hell - threw it out!

Right now, I use acne cleanser, peroxide, Glycolic acid moisturizer (works great) + 2-4 capsules of 500mg of Panthothenic Acid. I still have occasional break outs BUT considering how bad it was, I consider this a miracle. All of my friends tactfully notice that my skin has gotten so much better, although I still have all the scars! I'm working on it now but at least there is some light at the end of the tunnel!

Good luck!


by Jessicamae27 on 08/28/2015 23:54
Hi, you should be careful using the Glycolic moisturizer in the daytime. It attracts the UV rays to your face, and then deactivates in the sunlight. It will only make your face get hyper-burned. I only used it at night three nights a week. Although, had to stop the whole regime lately...
Great for Accutane users
Reviewed on August 15, 2015

I've been on 40mg of Accutane for almost a month. I've had very little dryness, and I think that's because I've been using this moisturizer from the very beginning. I purchased the jojoba oil to add to it, if necessary, but I haven't had to do that yet. When I haven't moisturized I start to get itchy, but with with regular moisturizing, my skin stays very normal. This moisturizer has not changed the color of my skin at all. My skin looks matte after about 15 minutes of drying time.


The Truth Behind This Mositurizer
Reviewed on August 9, 2015

Other reviewers have posted negative reviews stating that this moisturizer dried out their skin. Let me explain this...

I switched away from this to a few different CeraVe moisturizers, because I did not like the shine this put on my face. Using CeraVe for the first week was great, until my face had a thick, waxy layer I could not wash off. My face then started producing the same shine with CeraVe, along with a few breakouts.

The reason behind this is because I have an oily nose, chin, and forehead (combination skin). CeraVe is great for those with dry or normal skin, but it will over-hydrate oily skin, leading to more breakouts. This moisturizer was formulated to help prevent that. People with oily skin have more of an acne problem than people with dry or normal skin.

If you have dry skin, you should definitely try a CeraVe moisturizer. Although, if you have oily skin (which many acne sufferers do), this is your best option at avoiding over-hydrated skin. Simply, this moisturizer hardly moisturizers enough to compensate the moisture loss from the benzoyl peroxide.

PS: The licochalcone in this moisturizer is what gives it it's yellow color. This can be very beneficial for people who are still adjusting to the regimen, or in cold climates, as licochalcone is calming to the skin. I like it because it makes my face look tan and healthy, which cancels the whitening effect of the benzoyl peroxide (preventing a pale face). Make sure not to get it on any white fabrics, as it will stain yellow.


Finally something with licorice root extract!
Reviewed on July 16, 2015

Not to mention the great price for so much product, I finally found something with licorice root! I learned that licorice root helps break down the melanin in your hyperpigmentation so I'm glad that Dan has products with it. Currently testing the scar fading abilities though. The moisturizing properties itself probably isn't the best for dry skin peeps. But I think of this product as almost a treatment than a moisturizer. I usually pair it with another product or sunscreen etc. It doesn't break me out at all and absorbs nicely, and I don't find my skin becoming oily at all anymore which is an amazing sign, since I also use sunscreen everyday and somehow that's absorbed too! I can't wait to see if my hyperpigmentation does fade, but for now it is a harmless product that will do it's job.


Horrible
Reviewed on June 25, 2015

This moisturizer did the complete opposite than it's supposed to do. My skin somehow became an oil slick, but flaky, itchy and irritated at the same time!! The regimen is amazing but honestly this moisturizer needs to be fixed. And the smell is just... A no.


Great moisturizer
Reviewed on June 12, 2015

This is my daily moisturizer and has been for years.

This product absorbs very quickly. It leaves my skin with a matte finish when it absorbs and dries. It is not heavy and yet it does a good job of hydrating your basic day to day skin. It does not clog pores. It does not feel oily. It can color a white shirt if you are not careful which is just about the only negative I can come up with. Sometimes in the dead of winter when my skin is extra dry I supplement with a heavier duty moisturizer (philosophy's hope in a jar). However, this moisturizer can keep up even in some of the colder drier times of the year. I love this product.


is it suitable for oily skin?
Reviewed on June 12, 2015

I have oily skin but I don't have many acne just 1 or 2 small only once in a while. I've been using this moisturizer for 2 days, and it seems that my T-zone is still oily and some part of my face look greasy. What I want to ask is whether this moisturizer can dry out my oily face or not or it's too oily for me. Can somebody answer my question please? Thanks in advance.


by Bleached Shirts on 08/09/2015 19:43
Since your skin is oily like mine, this moisturizer is the best option. It does make your face a little shiny, though. The only moisturizer I have found to not make my face shiny is the CeraVe line. For people with oily skin, the CeraVe line will over hydrate the skin, leading to a thick waxy layer followed by an increased shine and breakouts. CeraVe is best only for dry skin. This should not dry out your face, and it is not too oily for you.
by Bleached Shirts on 08/09/2015 19:43
Since your skin is oily like mine, this moisturizer is the best option. It does make your face a little shiny, though. The only moisturizer I have found to not make my face shiny is the CeraVe line. For people with oily skin, the CeraVe line will over hydrate the skin, leading to a thick waxy layer followed by an increased shine and breakouts. CeraVe is best only for dry skin. This should not dry out your face, and it is not too oily for you.
Moisturizer should Replenish the moisture and nutrients of the skin...not to make it dry, red, flaky, and itchy :(
Reviewed on June 5, 2015

I've been using the regimen for 4 weeks now. For 2 weeks my face is at worst. Red, flaky, and itchy. On the 3rd week i expected that the peeling, redness will be gone but nope...didn't happen :( my acne cleared up a bit though so i know that the regimen is working. I went back to the website to read reviews and see if there is something wrong about the regimen or good advices to do to improve my skin condition. I read reviews about how bad the moisturizer is so for 3 days, I decided not to use the moisturizer and find an alternative moisturizer. My red flaky, itchy skin got better and my acne is getting better. No more new breakouts. My advice... Use the cleanser and the BP and ditch the moisturizer. It's just bad :(